We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW....What ah hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Raleigh, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“WOW....What ah hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is only one and a half years old and it is funky !!! Very modern in design (maybe too much so for some) but very nicely done. It is connected to the Marriott Residence Inn and is very well located.
The facilities are very comprehensive with a particularly fine gym.
I thought the service was excellent, particularly the gentleman who checked us in. This is what hotel service should be like.
Well done Marriott/Renaissance. I hope to be back to enjoy your lovely hotel and attentive service,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We appreciate your business and your review regarding your experience at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We are delighted that our service and hotel amenities met with your expectations and we welcome your repeat business the next time you're back in Crystal City. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    103
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
79
54
24
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Service was impeccable, beds delightful, gorgeous view, and amenities galore. We stayed one night on Christmas eve, choosing this location because of its proximity to the airport and a planned visit to Arlington National Cemetery. Cant wait to come back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We will be delighted to see you again! Thank you for the review you submitted to
TripAdvisor and thank you for pointing out the convenience of our hotel's location to area attractions and to DCA airport. That's what makes us the gem of Crystal City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a great experience. I was able to see a lot of history of the area while wrapped in modern comforts. The exc. Sou Chef was excellent and very talented as was the whole Food and Beverage team. The service offered by this hotel is top notch. I can't say this much but the taxi/ limo service in the area is the best I've seen. Great experience all around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review about the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and for highlighting some of the unique features about our hotel and location that sets us apart from the competition. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I hosted a Christmas gathering here at the Renaissance Capital View. The dining room staff was extremely accommodating, allowing us to meet in the private dining room for a quiet round-table brunch. David, at the front desk, answered many travel logistic questions and was personable and professional. The rooms here are mid-sized, yet elegant. Quite, too. An update. A new chef at the helm! He added his grandmother's handmade meatball recipe to the menu. They are great! A good location if you do not want to be in the heart of Washington, DC and are looking for modern elegance. They do have shuttle service which is helpful.

Room Tip: If a member of the Marriott Rewards Program, ask for the top floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to have your holiday gathering. We're delighted that your festivities were enjoyed by you and your guests. Please keep us in mind for any future gatherings and please suggest us to friends and family looking to host a party. That's what we do best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Well this is long over due. I stayed at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel in September for my daughter's 5th Birthday. I have to say this hotel is amazing!!!! The decor and exquisite furnishings make this hotel a sight to see. I heard about this wonderful place from my co-workers in the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). When I called to inquire about rooms for my daughter's Barbie Dream Birthday party/sleepover. I spoke with the delightful Heather in reservations. She was so informative and helped me choose the presidential suite for our party.  When I finally had time to actually come and look at the room Heather had moved on to a new position and she turned me over to Ashleigh. Ashleigh showed us around the hotel and even gave us some of the ideas for the party.  When we showed up to the hotel on the day of the party. The front desk was so nice and the bellman helped us to the room with all of our decorations and bags. When we walked in to the suite there was a nice envelope with my daughter's name and gift bag waiting. When Sommer opened the envelope it was a card signed from the staff at the hotel wishing Sommer a happy Birthday. In the gift bag was a beautiful Barbie doll. Sommer was extremely happy and I was in shock and the personal detail and touches that Ashleigh and the staff at the Renaissance. We were extremely happy and are planning to come back to your hotel very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are so glad you chose to have your daughter's birthday party with us and thank you for mentioning some of our superstar associates who looked forward to the party almost as much as your daughter. It was the talk of the office for several days. What a great opportunity for us to create long lasting memories for her and for her friends and family. Best wishes to all of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas CIty, MO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a very nice Marriott property with a very modern, artistic feel. The location is excellent for shopping and easy access to the metro. It is very close to the airport and shuttle service is provided, so there is no need to rent a car. The staff is very friendly and helpful for finding places to eat or arranging a tour. We took a bus tour at night and saw a great deal of the mall in just a few hours. The bus picked us up at the front door and dropped us back at the door. Very convenient. The fitness center has excellent equipment and weights for an overall workout. There are trails nearby as well if a long run is what you want.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the airport side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your stay and we would be honored if you would come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A boutique hotel, the Renaissance Arlington Capital View has extensive conference facilities with a sophisticated decor. It's the kind of place where you want to be photographed checking your watch, or swishing your hair while nodding at something really witty that your attractive friends just said over a business meeting or $16 cocktail. This is because the cocktails are actually that expensive. I'm not even kidding. Not that I'm whining, I mean when you're trapped there during a hurricane and you've had three cocktails already, you hardly remember how much they are and whether you can finance your drink tab with a second mortgage.

But let's talk about the rooms. If you can, request a corner room. Windows on two sides of the room... spacious and awesome. This was a hotel room I could die in. Sorry, did I say die? I meant dine. Room service was so fast... I staggered into my room at like 10pm and by 10:15 I had room service up there with my hot wings.

Parking is $24 a day or something. If you think that's expensive, remember it's not much more than an entree in the restaurant. But hey, it's the capital, baby. So this is a trendy upscale hotel that's clean, spotless, and full of staff ready to do anything you need with a smile.

One more thing: They care about the guests having a good time- they threw a hurricane party that included discounted drinks and a live DJ. Fun times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review. I must say, we thoroughly enjoyed reading your descriptive comments and it proved to be the highlight of our day. I hope it won't take another hurricane to bring you back to us to have a little more fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.