We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, at a very good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, at a very good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a very desirable area of Crystal City (Arlington, VA) about 6 miles outside of downtown DC. The hotel is a great deal as it gives you access to downtown DC and all the area attractions at a fraction of the cost of downtown DC hotels. The rooms are pretty spacious and the bathrooms are very nice, updated, tile floor, glass stand-up showers, mini-fridge in the rooms, etc. I've stayed here twice and will probably be back again soon. There is access to the Metro with a couple stations about .5 mile away, which is about a $4 cab ride. If you are driving to the hotel please be aware parking is kind of high at $22/night for self-parking and $27/night for valet parking. A little high for the area, but if you can pick the perfect time you can get street parking on S. Potomac street. I tried both days, but all the spaces were gone. Not a big deal as I knew the parking costs before arriving, so I wasn't too mad! Stay here when you go to DC or crystal city for business!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
As a repeat guest, thank you for your business. We truly appreciate it very much. It would seem that you have already discovered the gem in the heart of Crystal City when you discovered the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    120
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
87
70
29
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Quirky, modernistic lobby with special touches throughout. Oversized chess and checker sets there are BIG hits with the guests.

Nicely set on a small little side street. Fresh, bright, clean. Check out the view from the work out areas. And the patios are fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Well said! Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. And our patios are fabulous, aren't they? We might be the new kids on the block, but you'll feel right at home when you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic staff, friendliest people I have met in a hotel for a long time, Room was very clean and comfortable

Food at the restaurant was top class, listen to the recommendations of the servers they really know what the best dishes are.

Front office staff are the most efficient I have met for some time

Coffee shop is 1st class

Bar is very classy and great bartender

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for coming. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Ranaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for only (sigh) one night. Modern yet comfortable vibe with top notch room and lobby decor and ambiance. Lobby restaurant very good as well. Recommended hotel when staying in the Arlington/DC Metro area. Front Desk manager Parker went out of his way to ensure a great experience.

Room Tip: Request room with an airport view if you enjoy seeing take offs and landings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We will share your comments with our team members and with Parker. No need to sigh...just come back and spend more time with us. We'll be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were originally looking for offsite parking for our vacation out of DCA airport and saw an option via an online airport parking website for valet parking at $8/day at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We were also considering finding a Park, Sleep & Fly package so we wouldn't start out the day tired from the 2.5 hr drive from Delaware. We called the hotel and inquired about such a package since we didn't find anything on their website, and were quoted $129 before taxes for staying over 1 night and parking for 7. That was well worth it for us to start the day only minutes from the airport.

On arrival, the valet parking didn't really know what to do with us and had to check with the front desk. We were a bit uncomfortable for a while as we felt that between the valet and the front desk they were very unclear about whether we should self-park or valet, and what our extra rate was for the 2 additional days we were away beyond the 1 week. It turned out to be $22/day additional, which we knew ahead of time, but is really excessive since you can otherwise park at this hotel for $8/day, and I had read some reviews from others that weren't charged extra if it was just a couple of days. After we arrived home, we found some scratches on the car rear bumper, as if the car was parked too close to a concrete wall, but that was our mistake that we didn't go over the vehicle on arrival and then departure with the valets.

Once parked and settled in, the hotel is very nice. It seems more suited as a business hotel, but we were comfortable, and enjoyed pre-vacation drinks and meal at Socci, the bar/restaurant off the lobby. Prices for drinks and food were high for an equivalent restaurant, pretty standard for hotel restaurants, and service, drinks, and food were excellent. My husband asked the server if they could add buttershots to his Appletini (it makes it into a Caramel Appletini!), and after the drink was brought to us, the bartender came over to see if it was to his satisfaction, and to ask about the recipe - a very friendly yet professional conversation.

We heard some noise in the room from the airport and train tracks, but then again we picked the hotel for the close proximity!

The hotel lobby and rooms are very well-appointed, elegant yet comfortable. The shuttle to and from the airport was very convenient and ran every 20 minutes. The shuttle stops at several Arlington hotels, and there are north and south loops, so make sure you get on the right shuttle at the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for selecting us for your stay and for submitting a review of your experience. The feedback you have given will enable us to know what areas need attention to detail as we want all of our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed, not awkward. I apologize for the confusion caused by our valet team when you arrived at the hotel. We will use your feedback to instill further training with them so that they understand the procedures associated with the Park and Fly packages. We appreciate your business and hope that when your travels bring you back to Crystal City, you will think of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in October. The room was very nice. Comfy bed and clean. Shuttles from Reagan airport and to the metro come about every 20 minutes. Nice extensive exercise room. I didnt eat there, but this hotel is within walking distance to some very nice food choices near the Crystal city Mall.

Room Tip: Ask to have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel which were work related. The rooms were clean and spacious although it was annoying to have very few HD channels. I did not eat at the hotel b/c the breakfast was $18 which I found a bit pricey) and the food they provided for our conference left much to be desired *but I don't know if that was the hotels fault or just what the conference requested. The bed was comfy and the navigator was helpful once I could get in touch with him; I sat on hold for 5+ minutes.

My room was only stocked with decaf coffee so I had to call the front desk to bring regular up and it took about 30 minutes rather than the 15 they told me. I also had a dirty towel in my room and food in the fridge that had not been cleaned from the previous desk (old kiwi, pears and half a cheesburger were not a great smell!).

There are no restaurants really close so after a full day of walking it was a bit annoying. don't be misled by the name, the only view you have from here is the airport, train and Metro right outside your window.

The pool was only lukewarm and there was very little information the rooms about the surrounding area. They did not post they ahd a shuttle service, did not give you a list of nearby restaurants and there was no direct line to call the navigator other than going through the front desk.

On the upside, they do provide a shuttle service to the airport and to the Metro stop; each runs about every 20 minutes. The beds were comfy as well. The meeting rooms were nice and I did like the terrace to go outside but it was locked the day I was there (I assume b/c it was raining). The hotel has some upside but I have had better experiences at lesser priced hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the train side of the hotel (East I think?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that there was more than one occasion where we failed to deliver guest satisfaction. We have taken your comments and will be sharing them with all of our departments in order to take the necessary steps to ensure that issues you encountered are not repeated with other guests. We will continue to work towards perfecting the guest experience at our hotel. Should you wish to speak with me about your stay, I would be more than happy to take the time to listen. Your business means alot to us and I would love an opportunity to rebuild a relationship with you so that you would consider us for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.