We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Conference went well here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Business Conference went well here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Earlier this month, I traveled with several business associates to the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel in Arlington. It was a very upscale looking spot and very close to Reagan National Airport. Free shuttle bus service both ways from the airport went very well. Room was nicely done, but fairly small. As I was there for a conference, I didn't spend much time in the room itself. It rained while I was there and I was unable to get out much to explore the surrounding area. There aren't a lot of food choices there in the hotel, but the conference set-up was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Perhaps the next time you stay with us you'll be able to discover more of what our hotel and our city has to offer. And don't let the weather dampen your mood. Just hop on our free shuttle and take a ride down Crystal Drive or to the Metro where you can see for yourself just how much there is to see and do. Stop by our reception desk and chat with our Navigator. No matter if you have only an hour or a whole day, he'll be able to suggest ways to make the most of your stay. Come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    97
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
77
53
22
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Was given the wrong kind of room when first checked in. They changed my room right away. Just as others have said, the train is loud, you can hear others through the ventilation system sometimes, and the restaurant food isn't that good. Kind of an expensive place to stay in the area. very nice staff though. A nice walking distance to shops and restaurants. My bed was a little soft, but I do prefer a firm mattress for my back. Clean amenities too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the train tracks and airport, if you don't want to hear that noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is our goal to have every guest stay be as comfortable as possible and from the feedback you have given, we failed to achieve this goal with you during your stay with us. I sincerely apologize. Your tag line read "Just Fine Place". Any hotel can be fine. However, we are not aiming for "fine". We are aiming for extraordinary! The feedback you shared will be used to get us there. It is my hope that you will someday consider us for another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Great place, nice staff, food is ok, rooms are very nice and modern. Would stay here again for sure! Be careful of Internet charges as one person promised them for free and the front office staff didn't know about it. Never got charged but just be aware.

Overall the hotel has a very modern and comfortable feel to it and is ultra convenient to Reagan Airport.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your response. Not only is the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel a great place to stay if your traveling on business, but it's also wonderful for leisure stays as well. Perhaps you will come back to stay when you have a chance to really explore our hotel and the local area. Crystal City has so much to offer and so do we! How about it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was terrible! With 2 major league baseball teams in the area you would think you would be able to watch the games - wrong! You could watch them online - if you want to pay $12.95 per day for internet. Internet is free at the Best Western, BW3, McDonalds, and everywhere else. If you go anywhere in the evening, don't expect to park in their garage! Apparently even though you are paying them for parking & your room doesn't mean you have a spot to park. This hotel was so far from a 5 star hotel! When I think 5 star I think of the Galt House, not this joke! Stay somewhere else! The front desk staff was very friendly, but that's the only nice thing I have to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I appreciate and thank you for the feedback from a recent stay at our hotel. I understand your disappointment when you were unable to watch the games on TV at the hotel. Also, you ventured out to explore the city only to return to the hotel and discover that our parking garage capacity was severely limited due to the hotel's high occupancy. You are right to expect a space when you have paid for it. I apologize that these circumstances affected your overall experience in such a negative way. We are currently handling our parking garage in a more efficient way in order to accomodate our guests during peak times. I want you to know that your comments have been taken seriously and we really do care. I sincerely hope that you will reconsider and choose us for another stay in the future. It is our hotel's vision to become a landmark hotel in DC and we will continue on this path until this vision is realized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel and my stay was great! Starting with the registration...so helpful and staff genuinely made you feel welcomed. I was here on business and everything from the artistic lobby, espresso shop, dining, to the conference center is really top notch. Rooms are lovely, very clean and super comfortable. Ate dinner in their restaurant and loved the short ribs! Lots of great restaurants and shops to visit nearby. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Washington DC.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I am thrilled that you used the term "VIP" because that's the feeling we strive to give every guest who stays at our hotel. And, I have to agree with you, the short ribs at our SOCCi restaurant are awesome! We would be honored if you would recommend us to friends and family. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Renaissance earlier this week. Having stayed in a number of hotels in Crystal City, I have to say that this one is by far the best. My room was spacious and had everything I needed. The gym was phenomenal! When I have to go to Arlington again, I will definitely stay at this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are delighted that you chose the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Crystal City! Thank you for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was very happy with this choice that our company made to have a conference at this location. The check in made me feel like a VIP. I inspected the room to find nothing out of place and no cleanliness issues. The conference staff catered to our every need. I would go back just for pleasure... the view of the river and the Capital is the cherry on top.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
At the Renaissance Arlington Capital View, we strive to make all of our guests feel like VIP's. I think coming back as a guest of leisure is a fantastic idea! You can take the time to just sit back and relax and drink it all in, beginning with a delicious dinner at our hotel's SOCCi restaurant. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.