We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare luxury hotel near airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
479 reviews 479 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Rare luxury hotel near airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Travelling on business this hotel was selected for me by an assistant. She will get a raise! I was very impressed from the shuttle ride to the hotel, beautiful lobby, excellent location in Crystal City, extremely comfortable room, and friendly service. This is not the typical airport hotel. Beautiful and quiet. I am very glad I was put in this fine hotel. The club lounge on 14 is a very nice touch. A shuttle will get one to and from the airport or the Crystal City Metro. Tiffany Tipton is a friendly employee who went out of her way to make my visit pleasant. Only gripe--charging for Internet when paying a premium room price

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    127
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
87
73
29
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Shore, MA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I recently spent three pleasant nights at the very new and very modern Renaissance Capitol View while attending a conference at the hotel.

My room was of good size with a king bed (terrific firm mattress!) with nightstands on each side, lounge chair, tiny end table, desk, desk chair (very comfortable), small refrigerator (not a mini-bar type), and large-screen TV. There were good reading lights on each side of the bed and good lighting throughout the room. Electrical outlets were plentiful and easy to reach. The decor was trendy, but not especially warm or welcoming by my taste. WiFi, included with conference registration, worked well in both my room and the conference facilities.

The bathroom was clean with fixtures in good working order. Counter space was more than adequate. There was no tub, but the large, glass-enclosed shower was fantastic with a flower showerhead, plenty of hot water, and great water pressure. Another trendy, but hard to fathom, feature was the bathroom door itself! It was an opaque glass sliding door (like a pocket-door, but without the pocket; it slid along the hall wall). There was more than enough room for a regular hinged door and the glass didn’t really allow any natural light into the bathroom so I don’t know what the point was except to wow (it didn’t).

My 5th floor room faced Washington, but my only view was of National Airport. I didn’t hear planes, however, but I sometimes heard trains roaring by on the tracks near the hotel. I could also hear people talking in the hallway though this never disturbed my sleep.

The lobby set-up was unusual with only a tiny registration desk--apparently another part of the “modern” approach. It was a little hard to know where to go / whom to ask, but staff seemed to be roaming the lobby and someone always came over to help me and did so with a smile.

The hotel shares shuttles to the airport and to the Crystal City Metro stop with other nearby Marriott properties. I used the airport shuttle, which was very handy. I had no time to use the Metro, but from prior stays in the area, I know a 15-minute walk is a good alternative to using the shuttle on a nice day.

With a location among office buildings and other hotels, the area surrounding the hotel is a bit sterile. However, there are many restaurants and some shops, including a CVS Pharmacy, within a 15 to 20 minute walk. A new Residence Inn is attached to this hotel (apparently some facilities such as the fitness center are shared though I didn’t visit any) and a Marriott Courtyard and a Hyatt are almost next door; for a conference at one hotel, a sleeping room in any of the others will be convenient.

Though I said above that the room had good lighting, I do have one minor complaint about it. Most of the fixtures used slow-to-brighten CFL bulbs, which is terrific for the environment and fine for the lights in the room itself but not so good in the entry hallway. Upon entering the room and flipping the switch, the hall lighting remained pretty dim for a while (minutes, not seconds) making it difficult to find another switch in the room. This was less of a problem once I learned where the switches were located (in my room at least, there was a switch in the coffee machine alcove just beyond the hall closet), but I really dislike entering a dark room.

In sum, this is a fine hotel. I chuckled at its trendy features, but they did not detract from the very functional, comfortable rooms and excellent service--they just made me feel not so hip and so very old!

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My family stayed here for two nights recently. The hotel is very nice. It has a very hip, modern feel. A wide mix of individuals and families were staying here. The shuttle is a very convenient way to get to the Metro. Our room was fabulous - nice city view where we could watch the airplanes take off and land from Ronald Reagan airport. The staff is nice as well. We reserved the Cherry Blossom package - a great deal including Internet and Breakfast. We had to remind the staff of these promised features as no one explained how to access the internet or what we needed to do for breakfast. Overall, a nice stay! I would stay here again. No noise issues.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Easily accessible to DC and conveniently located near Ronald Reagan airport in Crystal City, the hotel has a sleek, modern feel. The lobby has a variety of newspapers available and computers to access boarding passes. The lobby bar is nice - prosecco, yum! The building is LEED gold certified - leaving one feeling virtuous for staying at an environmentally friendly location. Nonetheless, nothing felt as if it was skimping on energy - for example, even though many hotels have taken away in-room refrigerators, this hotel still has them. Bathrooms come equipped with only a shower -- no tub -- but all the better for the glass doors (no swaying shower curtains) and large size. Comfortable beds with all-white duvets and lots of pillows. Large windows in the rooms to allow ambient light to dominate.

The outdoor, rooftop seating (second floor?) was great. After an evening gala, my group retired to some of the outdoor seating and enjoyed a comfortable chat under the stars. The indoor pool is heated and smallish.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Brought the family, 4 of us. Room wasn't available when we showed after 2pm. Bell hop stated our luggage would be placed in our room while we toured the area. Upon return (8pm) we checked in giving the Bell our ticket #. Luggage was not together and not in the room. Took many attempts to locate our belongings as they were removed from the luggage cart they were put upon. Requested & received 2 beds, only two bath towels were in the room, had to request more for four people. Would have to rethink about staying again with the family.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great hotel especially if getting on a deal and breakfast and internet is included! Clean, retro, post-modern - new hotel feel with a great lobby and a super, complimentary breakfast in the ground level restaurant/bar. The omelets were superb and the staff extremely friendly and hospitable. Children friendly .. where the pool was quite crowded .. but it was the Easter weekend. Comfortable proximity to DC downtown.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room facing DC with a view of the capital. After all that is the name of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I flew into Reagan National, was picked up by the Marriott van service and within minutes was at the door of the Renaissance. The staff was freindly and professional. My room on the 15th floor was quiet. No airport of city noise. The bruch had a nice variety of foods and the service was attentive. The main lobby is a work of art. Modern wood scuplture and large lights make the hotel go beyond a "W" Hotel expereince. The location was great since you were within a short distanct to the heart of Washington DC without the hub-bud of staying in a city known for gridlock. There is a Metro Station near by on the Blue Line to move about Metro and Central DC.

Room Tip: Room with a view faces the river. 15th floor is close to the Executive Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.