We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Quiet, Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Modern, Quiet, Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I flew into Reagan National, was picked up by the Marriott van service and within minutes was at the door of the Renaissance. The staff was freindly and professional. My room on the 15th floor was quiet. No airport of city noise. The bruch had a nice variety of foods and the service was attentive. The main lobby is a work of art. Modern wood scuplture and large lights make the hotel go beyond a "W" Hotel expereince. The location was great since you were within a short distanct to the heart of Washington DC without the hub-bud of staying in a city known for gridlock. There is a Metro Station near by on the Blue Line to move about Metro and Central DC.

Room Tip: Room with a view faces the river. 15th floor is close to the Executive Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    107
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
83
60
26
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting DC. WOW - for the the money ($109 per night) this place is gorgeous and the free hot breakfast buffet - delicious. The night prior we stayed at the Fairfield Inn which is located right near the BWI airport. Both hotels are Marriott, both have extremely comfortable beds and the most wonderful pillows (so much so I stripped off the pillowcase and cover to read the tag so I could buy some. The Fairfield Inn = homey and down to earth. This one a bit more upscale, yet somewhat cold in terms of decorating.

This hotel does have a free shuttle that will drop off and pick up at the Chrystal Station Metro stop - shuttle runs about every 20 minutes. But there is no free shuttle to the BWI airport.

Best part of our stay was running into the sous chef, Adam Williams, while walking along the sidewalk coming home from dinner. My brother-in-law mentioned to him that he thought Marriott's offered free cookies at night. Right there Adam asked my nieces and nephew what kind of cookies they liked and about a half an hour later - a FREE tray of cookies AND little bottles of chocolate milk arrived at our door. WOW - that is above and beyond!

Two small drawbacks - the shower door opens from the back of the shower, hence you half to walk in the shower to turn it on & then freeze - because you can't get out of the way of the water. Second, for some reason we could hear voices from other room (next door, across hall??) though the vent system.

This hotel is pretty, new, in a great location for getting around DC, and a wonderful value.
Try it out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here last night. It comes across as clean, crisp and efficient. Breakfast was wonderful. It seems it would appeal to young professionals although we saw mostly familiies this weekend.

Room Tip: Request a view of the river as it is a great way to watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is amazing. Really. But not five stars. It's not a five-star hotel. There are certainly parts of it that are five stars, but there are also parts of it that really could be one star.

First, the rooms were clean. Period blood on one sheet, not a big deal. Hallways are a bit small but nice. Public areas are HUGE, there are terraces on 2nd and 3rd floors that wrap around the hotel. There's no view unless you enjoy watching the employee exit at the Hyatt. Pool is puny, fitness area is small but not used. Internet is ludicrous, but free in lobby and Socci and also free if there is a conference going on there, which is whenever. The iMacs in the lobby are free sometimes, othertimes there are five year olds going on Club Penguin.

Service is one star. There is no concierge, and front desk is unhelpful. It's almost easier to raid the unlocked supply closets rather than ask for towels and wait until the next morning when the housekeeping staff is on duty. Parking is pricey but fine. Crystal city is nice.

All in all, great hotel. Service sucks. But yea, it isn't a five star hotel and your expecations shouldn't be too high.

Room Tip: The views are all crap. Higher floors are nicer though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Poorly structured we heard people cough in the next room over. We heard noise from upstairs everything in the halls. During our our stay we were awakened by people having sex, vomiting, fighting, running down the halls. We booked club level and yet enjoyed zero amenities connected with it. Never received our bathrobes or coffee that was requested. Requested a feather free room (terribly allergic) we had to remove the pillows etc ourselves. Here is a kicker that kind of sums up the property...they had not even changed the time on the clocks in the room. Not well managed.

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We chose this hotel to be in close proximity to friends who were helping with our disability needs. Close to DCA airport. Crystal City is more of a business area but this hotel is new, clean, fun and a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a DC area hotel without the high DC prices.

The lobby was hopping when we arrived by cab but the staff was welcoming and friendly and quick check in. The lobby reminded me of a hotel on South Beach. It was chic, modern, clean and convenient. Lots of neat seating areas and several iMacs in the lobby to use for internet. There is also a small travel kiosk for checking in, etc. It totally fits our style. Our room and bath was very clean and the furnishings are modern and hip. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great.

There are many restaurants in the area as well as a Starbucks. However, I found the coffee in the lobby and the hotel restaurant great. We had a nice buffet breakfast with excellent omlets, etc. Remember, this is more of a business district so restaurants were closed at 10PM when we arrived. We did find a Buffalo Wild Wings in the area that open late. We also ordered room service and our Club sandwich was stacked with turkey and the homemade potato chips with onion dip were great! Service staff was very friendly, helpful and made every effort to make my husband who is disabled feel welcome. We would definitely stay here again. We did not use it but I know there is a metro stop a short distance from the hotel. Check out was fast and efficient too.

We encountered a problem obtaining a handicap cab as there are weird rules in VA regarding pick up and drop off of cab companies. The staff helped us call a cab company only to find out there was an hour to two hour wait for a pick up. This put a crimp in our day of sightseeing. Who knew in our nation's capital that accessibility would be such an issue. However, the front desk staff went out of their way to help us with the issue! Kudos to them.

NOW, the rest of my review will deal with our accessible room/issues and might not apply to most readers of this review.
My husband suffers from MS and has terrible balance. Most "accessible" rooms in hotels have their good and bad points and none of this is a reflection on the hotel itself as we find the same issues at any hotel or chain we stay in. (Perhaps our comments can be used by management to discuss with corporate when designing new hotels)

Although there were handicap bars in the bathroom there could alway be a few more and perhaps around the room too. Looks wise not the most appealing but those bars are a lifeline to people with no balance.

Why do hotels put slick tile in bathrooms? People with mobility issues need a surface that is not slippery in any way shape or form. Also, the fold down seat in the shower was great however the shower curtains never come to the floor. With a roll in shower water goes EVERYWHERE and this is a hazard. I had to mop up quite a bit of water with towels. Perhaps disposable cups are a better choice in the bathroom than glass glasses. My husband has terrible grip and dropping one of those cups in the bath would have been a danger. The phone was in the bathroom was in a bad spot where the handicap bar was located. Also, people with disabilities often have standing issues. We have to bring the chair from the room into the bathroom so my husband has a spot to sit while brushing his teeth, etc. A fold down seat next to the vanity would be an amazing addition to an accessible bath room.

My last complaint about ADA rooms. Hotels are going to a more high profile bed! Not easy for a person that is disabled to climb up into a bed that rests higher off the ground. Once my husband was able to get into the bed it was very comfortable!

Again, this is NOT a reflection on the Renaissance but Accessible rooms in general.

So, if you are still reading this our experience was a positive one with some minor concerns for accessibility! Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a very new hotel at the south end of Crystal City. We spent a weekend there and had a great time. I saw the comments below regarding poor performance from the staff, but I cannot agree. My experience was that everyone on staff that I encountered was professional and very courteous. My only minor complaint was that there were no towels in the workout room in the morning. Next time I'm up in the area for business this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.