We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-the-Charts Beauty with a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Off-the-Charts Beauty with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Brand new hotel with a view of the Potomac and the capital dome. Across the street is a bike trail that can take you to the capital and the hotel has bikes to rent on the property. The interior of the hotel ROCKS! It is very chic, hip, fun with great modern design throughout. I was on a Club Level floor and everything was in the room was excellent shape. While it is true this hotel is not surrounded by restaurants--it is the only thing you can reasonably complain about. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. I stayed two nights, I was leading a 2-day training event and the banquet staff were all very helpful and responsive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluDragonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautiful, modern hotel. Very clean. LOVE the shower. Complimentary shuttles to/from the airport, Metro, and nearby restaurants that run very regularly. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Be sure to eat at the nearby Spanish tapas restaurant, Jaleo. It's delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My mother and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting my daughter, who lives in Pentagon City. We were wowed from the moment we walked into the super uber cool lobby!

Our room was on the 12th floor with a great view overlooking the airport (didn't have any airplane noise), the Potomac and the Washington Monument off in the distance. The room was nicely decorated in orange and grey and there was a refrigerator, one-cup coffee maker, marble bathroom with undermounted sink, flat screen TV, Ipod radio, desk with chair, as well as a chair with side table by the large window. I really enjoyed cappucinos and almond croissants in the Illy coffee shop, which I found to be reasonably priced. Also, one morning we had breakfast in the restaurant which was delicious. Don't miss out the lobby bathroom-it has lit-up counters and the water faucets lights up. The whole lobby is a great place to hang out and they play electronica that makes it feel like a trendy club. The computers are conveniently located in the lobby. We did not use the pool or fitness area but did look at them and they were nice, although the pool is a bit small for two hotels to share.

We were able to walk very easily to the Crystal City shops and restaurants, and used the shuttle to the Crystal City Metro. It is a quiet area in the evening but very easy to get to downtown DC on the metro and if you return after 11 PM when the shuttle stops, you can catch a taxi from the shuttle stop to the hotel for about $7. In the Crystal City area, we enjoyed a nice lunch at McCormick and Schmicks and dinner at Jaleo (great tapas and sangria). The staff were all so helpful and very friendly. One day we drove to Alexandria and the front desk staff gave me maps and several pamphlets.

I loved this hotel and look forward to staying there when I return to Arlington! Last month I stayed at Hotel Palomar in Arlington and liked the Renaissance much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and view of DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife and I spent one night here in June, and trust me, we will be back. We loved the modern designs, the impressive styling in the room and bathroom, the plush bed, and the late night snacks offered at the front desk.

If you're looking for a romanitc place to stay in D.C. that will definitely NOT break the bank (I think it was about $109/night for a king room), this is the place for you.

It was also very close to the airport and had a very convenient shuttle that ran very early (we caught a flight from Reagan the next morning).

We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant because of our early departure. Nevertheless, here's the bottom line: Very impressive hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a lovely property! It is ultra modern and simply a pretty place to stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the view of Washington, DC is great!! The lobby even has Apple computers for guest use!

Nice restaurants are a short walk away (about a 5 minute walk to the heart of the restaurant action).

Will definitely stay here again! Oh, the best part... My room was $81.75 per night with a special summer rate. Woo hoo!

Great proxity to Washington, DC.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view of DC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms-Etiquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in June and like the other reviews because the hotel is so new it is lovely to stay here. The staff are fantastic. I did not eat here so cannot comment on the breakfast or food in general. However, it's the beds you remember - these ones are exceptional - you will probably never have slept in a bed like it. Highly recommend this hotel and a special mention to the outstanding staff on reception. They deserve all praise they get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A10121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stay overall was good, but there seems to be no communication between the front-desk & office staff - I called after we checked-out as we left something behind - I got confirmation they had it but when we had a relative go and get it, front desk personnel just told him they had no idea about it... didnt even take the initiative to call the office, I had to call again!

For the price & experience, next time I'll stay next door at the Residence Inn (which actually shares the gym & pool with this hotel).

Room Tip: Great furnishings, always with a layer of dust
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaV4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
#16 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#10 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing