We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-the-Charts Beauty with a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Off-the-Charts Beauty with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Brand new hotel with a view of the Potomac and the capital dome. Across the street is a bike trail that can take you to the capital and the hotel has bikes to rent on the property. The interior of the hotel ROCKS! It is very chic, hip, fun with great modern design throughout. I was on a Club Level floor and everything was in the room was excellent shape. While it is true this hotel is not surrounded by restaurants--it is the only thing you can reasonably complain about. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. I stayed two nights, I was leading a 2-day training event and the banquet staff were all very helpful and responsive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    129
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
88
74
29
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautiful, modern hotel. Very clean. LOVE the shower. Complimentary shuttles to/from the airport, Metro, and nearby restaurants that run very regularly. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Be sure to eat at the nearby Spanish tapas restaurant, Jaleo. It's delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My mother and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting my daughter, who lives in Pentagon City. We were wowed from the moment we walked into the super uber cool lobby!

Our room was on the 12th floor with a great view overlooking the airport (didn't have any airplane noise), the Potomac and the Washington Monument off in the distance. The room was nicely decorated in orange and grey and there was a refrigerator, one-cup coffee maker, marble bathroom with undermounted sink, flat screen TV, Ipod radio, desk with chair, as well as a chair with side table by the large window. I really enjoyed cappucinos and almond croissants in the Illy coffee shop, which I found to be reasonably priced. Also, one morning we had breakfast in the restaurant which was delicious. Don't miss out the lobby bathroom-it has lit-up counters and the water faucets lights up. The whole lobby is a great place to hang out and they play electronica that makes it feel like a trendy club. The computers are conveniently located in the lobby. We did not use the pool or fitness area but did look at them and they were nice, although the pool is a bit small for two hotels to share.

We were able to walk very easily to the Crystal City shops and restaurants, and used the shuttle to the Crystal City Metro. It is a quiet area in the evening but very easy to get to downtown DC on the metro and if you return after 11 PM when the shuttle stops, you can catch a taxi from the shuttle stop to the hotel for about $7. In the Crystal City area, we enjoyed a nice lunch at McCormick and Schmicks and dinner at Jaleo (great tapas and sangria). The staff were all so helpful and very friendly. One day we drove to Alexandria and the front desk staff gave me maps and several pamphlets.

I loved this hotel and look forward to staying there when I return to Arlington! Last month I stayed at Hotel Palomar in Arlington and liked the Renaissance much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and view of DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife and I spent one night here in June, and trust me, we will be back. We loved the modern designs, the impressive styling in the room and bathroom, the plush bed, and the late night snacks offered at the front desk.

If you're looking for a romanitc place to stay in D.C. that will definitely NOT break the bank (I think it was about $109/night for a king room), this is the place for you.

It was also very close to the airport and had a very convenient shuttle that ran very early (we caught a flight from Reagan the next morning).

We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant because of our early departure. Nevertheless, here's the bottom line: Very impressive hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a lovely property! It is ultra modern and simply a pretty place to stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the view of Washington, DC is great!! The lobby even has Apple computers for guest use!

Nice restaurants are a short walk away (about a 5 minute walk to the heart of the restaurant action).

Will definitely stay here again! Oh, the best part... My room was $81.75 per night with a special summer rate. Woo hoo!

Great proxity to Washington, DC.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view of DC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in June and like the other reviews because the hotel is so new it is lovely to stay here. The staff are fantastic. I did not eat here so cannot comment on the breakfast or food in general. However, it's the beds you remember - these ones are exceptional - you will probably never have slept in a bed like it. Highly recommend this hotel and a special mention to the outstanding staff on reception. They deserve all praise they get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stay overall was good, but there seems to be no communication between the front-desk & office staff - I called after we checked-out as we left something behind - I got confirmation they had it but when we had a relative go and get it, front desk personnel just told him they had no idea about it... didnt even take the initiative to call the office, I had to call again!

For the price & experience, next time I'll stay next door at the Residence Inn (which actually shares the gym & pool with this hotel).

Room Tip: Great furnishings, always with a layer of dust
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.