We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hotel is very nice and even though is a bit far from the area where most dc attractions are located, the metro station is within walking distances. Restaurant food is good, but service is a bit slow.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    137
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
96
79
29
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family and I stayed two nights here while on a quick trip to the DC area and nobody wanted to leave! If we didn't already have plans in NJ following our stay in DC we would have extended our trip. The service was exceptional and everyone seemed to go out of their way to be helpful. It's conventienly located down the street from several restaurants with everything from fast food to Ruth's Chris.

The hotel decor is very chic and modern and the lobby is amazing and also very inviting. My teenage sons were very impressed with the four apple computers in the lobby for your use.

Our city view was so beautiful we kept the blinds open all night, which is something we never do.

If you're looking for a place to stay convenient to DC but far enough from all the hussle and bussle this is a great hotel! They also offer free shuttle service to the MARTA station which is right down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We just came back from an EXCELLENT stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. Thanks to Katie, our stay was spectacular. Our King Bed Executive Suite w/ sofa bed was super spacious and comfy. The maid constantly kept our bathroom amenities well- stocked. The towels were very good and were very absorbent. The sink was spacious, and there was terrific water pressure. Our sheets and pillow cases were changed daily. Our room was superb.
We also got club level access, which included daily breakfast, mid day snacks, drinks, hor duerves, and desserts. I really enjoyed the hor duerves, especially the stuffed mushroom, quiche, fried shrimp... so delicious! The breakfast was also excellent- they had different breakfast meats, ranging from sausage to salmon to roast beef& salami. We did not have a chance to try their mid day snacks, though. There is also a desktop computer& printer inside the lounge for you to use. BTW, there is no charge to print something.
Next, I have to commend the ENTIRE hotel staff for their superior service and attention to detail. I am now listing several staff members that truly IMPRESSED me. The front desk reps (especially Karen and Joy) were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Karen was so kind and arranged an early check in at 1 PM for us. She helped us figure out the ins and outs of the metro system. Joy wrote a thoughtful welcome note to us before we stepped foot into Arlington. She also greeted us and was exceptionally kind throughout our stay. When our sightseeing tour was running a little later than the usual hotel pick up time, she called the company for us to ensure the tour people will pick us up! Monica, the concierge, is amazing. Her restaurant recommendations and suggestions for local attractions are top notch. She is most definitely a local expert. She kindly booked tours for us too. She even gave me some maps when I did not even ask for them!
Katie, the manager, so kindly arranged for a room upgrade with club level access. She was exceptionally helpful, courteous, and kind as I communicated with her before coming to the hotel. Andrea at the front desk kindly assisted us with directions each morning. Amy at the club lounge always kept the evening hor duerves and desserts well- stocked. She was very cordial and just knew exactly what we wanted. We did not even need to ask, and she knew what we wanted! The housekeepers during our stay were ALL fantastic (sorry I do not know their names). They saw that we drank the bottled water, and they replenished them even without saying a word. They also noticed that there were three people in our party and gave us bathroom amenities in quantities of 3. Carl at the bell stand was also fabulous. He was once of the first people we met when we arrived at the hotel. After helping us with our luggage, he even offered his business card and asked us to contact him if we needed help. When we waited for the hotel shuttle to the Metro, he asked us to sit in the air conditioned lobby instead of waiting outside. He promptly told us the moment when the shuttle arrived. All of the staff were VERY professional, kind, courteous, and helpful. The Socci restaurant onsite is also phenomenal (far superior than the typical hotel restaurant). The illy coffee shop is terrific, especially the stuffed almond& apricot& chocolate croissants. The complimentary shuttle service to Crystal City Metro Station is VERY reliable (it will pick you up from the front door of the Renaissance AND drop you off at the Crystal City Metro). On the way back, you just have to wait right outside the Metro Station and the shuttle will bring you back to the hotel. YES, it will drop you off& pick you back up-- very reliable, every 20 min at most. But if you are traveling Tues through Thurs, they send another shuttle too, which means you might have to only wait 10 min, which is always nice! The smaller shuttle van has leather seats! Besides, the shuttle drivers treat you like VIPs and open the door for you. They even offer you bottled water for free since it is so hot out. This hotel is truly amazing! I will CERTAINLY come back! I will ABSOLUTELY stay here again when I come to DC again! The attentive service and well- appointed rooms REALLY IMPRESSED me! The ONLY place where you can find such a friendly and professional staff that really anticipates your needs (you don't even need to ask) is at this hotel. How nice! I HIGHLY recommend that you stay at this hotel! Top notch all around- really 4 star service: Well done, Renaissance Arlington Capital View hotel! (thank you, Katie- you really made our stay wonderful and memorable)

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Brand new hotel, friendly personnel, great ambiance - BUT rooms are not that clean. If the hotel is serious about having guests reuse towels, there should be enough hooks and bars to hang said towels to dry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Came for business conference, brought my wife along for a few days of sight-seeing. It was the "grand opening" weekend for this hotel, so they had a pseudo-red carpet event the first night (to which they invited us, which was nice, but we didn't attend).

GENERAL & RESTAURANT: Hotel decor is very contemporary (bordering on modern), which we love. Several large pieces of kinetic art, which was cool. Several iMac computers in lobby for public use; they were almost always occupied by children/teenagers during our visit. Restaurant food was good; service was very slow and seemingly inattentive to our needs (water glasses never refilled, etc.)

ROOM: Excellent, very clean, beautiful decor. Alligator-esque wall paper in hallways was pretty cool, too. Every floor looks the same by the elevators, so double-check before you exit on the wrong one. Room service was also polite, responsive, and prompt. Food was good. NOTE: Our room was on the north side of the bldg; rooms on the east side overlook the river...and the train tracks. Freight trains are LOUD even if you're on an upper floor. Be sure to request a room that does NOT overlook the tracks.

LOCATION: Convenient location in Arlington near Reagan airport (DCA). Hotel has a free shuttle that will take you to the Crystal City metro stop, though the walk is quite nice as well. Lots of good restaurants nearby, including by-the-slice pizza, cafes/coffee shops, to upscale tapas, steak, & seafood places. Even a Buffalo Wild Wings (the only place that was showing the OKC Thunder game while we were there, haha!)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The decor is industrial modern, so if you don't like that, this may not be the hotel for you. However, I found the place to be beautiful and well done. The room was comfortable, large and well appointed.
In a hotel like this,one expects good service. I have high expectations. The people at this hotel exceeded ALL my expectations. Without exception, everyone, and I do mean everyone, from the first phone call to our checkout, was friendly, polite. helpful and seemingly devoted to making our visit more pleasant. I don't know where they found these people, but I hope they clone them.
They only problem is that the hotel is so new that it was not in my car GPS, and the directions on my Google maps were not accurate. I would suggest that you call the hotel and get directions. This section of town is being developed and a little local knowledge goes a long way.
Parking is expensive, but it is in-and-out. There is a free shuttle to the metro if you want to use that to get into DC

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was a family vacation and our first stay in the DC area. Over much diliberation, we decided to stay in the Arlington, VA area. I am very glad that we made that choice. We stayed for 3 nights. This hotel is very nice! The staff is very attentive and helpful. The rooms are nice sized, beds and sheets are wonderful. The view is also beautiful. It is about a mile from the Metro, but they have shuttle service. Which we were only able to use once. There are many restaurants to choose from in the Crystal City area, which is about 10-15 minute walk. Many chain restaurants, but also unique ones as well. Crystal City also has an underground shopping center. The web-site indicates $16 per day to self park, but were charged $22, although the parking facility is right next door and attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.