We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will be our place in the DC area from now on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Renaissance Hotels Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This will be our place in the DC area from now on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The decor is industrial modern, so if you don't like that, this may not be the hotel for you. However, I found the place to be beautiful and well done. The room was comfortable, large and well appointed.
In a hotel like this,one expects good service. I have high expectations. The people at this hotel exceeded ALL my expectations. Without exception, everyone, and I do mean everyone, from the first phone call to our checkout, was friendly, polite. helpful and seemingly devoted to making our visit more pleasant. I don't know where they found these people, but I hope they clone them.
They only problem is that the hotel is so new that it was not in my car GPS, and the directions on my Google maps were not accurate. I would suggest that you call the hotel and get directions. This section of town is being developed and a little local knowledge goes a long way.
Parking is expensive, but it is in-and-out. There is a free shuttle to the metro if you want to use that to get into DC

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    88
    25
    12
    11
See reviews for
70
45
19
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mackinaw, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was a family vacation and our first stay in the DC area. Over much diliberation, we decided to stay in the Arlington, VA area. I am very glad that we made that choice. We stayed for 3 nights. This hotel is very nice! The staff is very attentive and helpful. The rooms are nice sized, beds and sheets are wonderful. The view is also beautiful. It is about a mile from the Metro, but they have shuttle service. Which we were only able to use once. There are many restaurants to choose from in the Crystal City area, which is about 10-15 minute walk. Many chain restaurants, but also unique ones as well. Crystal City also has an underground shopping center. The web-site indicates $16 per day to self park, but were charged $22, although the parking facility is right next door and attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This is a beautiful, new hotel, but what really stood out for me was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone I encountered went the extra mile to ensure that I was having a great stay.

Still waiting for a call on an item I left in my room, but otherwise, the staff was very responsive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed at this property though it was further to work than others I could have stayed at. This hotel is new and it feels like it. The lobby is excellently set up - very modern and great ambience. The restaurant has good food (try the mussels). The rooms are modernly decorated and very comfortable. The view from the executive lounge is unparalleled as it overlooks DCA and DC behind it in the distance. Wow. It offers shuttles to the metro station and to DCA which is quite convenient. The gym is the best hotel gym I have seen in my latest travels which include stays at other Renaissance properties. There is close access to a running trail, to a supermarket, and to an LA Fitness (in case you are a member of it). Plus a few blocks away are plenty of choices to eat out (I recommend Jaleo!).

Room Tip: Get one with a view towards DCA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadesville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights. The staff was attentive and helpful. The facility is very modern and clean, as you would expect from someplace that has only been open a few months. We had breakfast in the restaurant and is was very good. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 via mobile

When I booked the room I asked what time check in was. I was told 3PM. As I had to give a speech downtown at 330. They assured me I'd be fine. At 320 my room still wasn't ready. I asked for a cab downtown to get to my meeting and was told they don't let cabs pick guests up I had to use a car service. Which was twice the price of a taxi. My son stayed with my luggage as they wouldn't even let me check my bags. The room became available at four fifteen. The hotel is beautiful and five star but the Staff is clueless and doesn't seem to care if the guests are taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This recently opened hotel has a tremendous amount of potential. The interior decor is phenomenal and the rooms are quite large for what I'm used to seeing in Washington D.C. The service leaves much to be desired. While all of the employees were incredibly friendly it was clear that they lacked the years of experience and training you typically see in a hotel of this class. I don't think i would stay here again because of this, there are so many hotels to choose from in the D.C. area that provide superior service. One major redeeming quality: the GORGEOUS green roof that you can see from all of the guest floors.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.