We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for an overnight at this hotel and I have to say I was impressed. Check-in went smoothly for our two rooms. Rooms were nice, modern and clean. Kitchen area was substantial. We went out for the evening and when we returned we went to park our car in the lot that is shared with the neighboring Marriott. We were told the lot was full. We parked out front of our hotel went to the front desk and told Gabriel and Majda (who were working the front desk) what had happened. Both were sympathetic to the situation and immediately contacted the garage. Within seconds the Parking manager appeared and confirmed what we had been told. Gabriel then offered his spot in the lot to us. We truly appreciated the gesture but opted for Valet parking instead. How nice it was though to see an employee really step up to fulfill the needs of the guest. The beds in this hotel were truly "heavenly". Buffet breakfast the next morning was fabulous and the staff there was impressive as well. I would stay at this hotel again and again while visiting Alexandria or Arlington. Great Job!

Room Tip: If you truly care about the view choose a city view room. Our room faced the train tracks but we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for your business. We know travelers have a choice of hotels in the DC area and we understand that our guest service sets us apart from our competition. Secondly, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered when you tried to enter the parking garage only to discover that it was full. Gabriel's response is indicative of how our team members find solutions by thinking "outside the box". It's amazing how creative we can get when it comes to making the impossible...possible. I will share your comments with our staff. They will enjoy hearing how their efforts are making an impression (and a difference) with our guests. We hope you will consider another stay with us in the future. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    103
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
115
71
24
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, PA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is located in very close proximity to Reagan National Airport. We stayed over there one night prior to a very early morning flight out of Reagan. It is only a 5 minute drive to Reagan. The hotel has its own internal parking garage. It was a very nice, functional and clean place to stay for this purpose (to fly out of Reagan). We actually drove and parked in one of the garages at Reagan, but you could keep your car parked at this hotel, and use the hotel shuttle back and forth. Our departure time from the hotel was about 4AM and the return was about 12:30AM, and the shuttle did not operate at those hours. It was also slightly cheaper to park at Reagan than to keep your car in the hotel parking garage.

This hotel could make a reasonably nice base for exploring Washington DC. It is much less expensive than virtually any hotel choices right around the White House and Capitol areas. It was a good hotel experience. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
It's true! We are in the heart of everything DC except when it comes to price. We are in a prime location for anyone wanting to explore DC or for anyone who wants to be nearby the Reagan National Airport. Thank you for staying with us and please remember us for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Only one complaint: A vent fan in the room ran ALL night, making it hard to sleep. Other than that, great service, convenient location close to everything we needed, and comfortable.

In the morning, we checked out and the hotel allowed us to store our luggage while we went out for a tour. That service was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for submitting feedback regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. I sincerely apologize for the disturbance caused by the vent fan in your guest room. We understand how important it is for our guests to get a good night's sleep, and this isn't possible if there is too much noise in the room. Thank you for letting us know about this. I have contacted the appropriate department to take care of this problem. Please keep us in mind for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The cost can't be beat ($99 + parking) and this was as nice as any $300+/ a night hotel I've been in. The rooms are very tastefullly decorated- modern, yet warm and inviting. Granite counters, rich accent colors, flat screen tv, memory foam bed, stainless steel appliances.

The breakfast was DELICIOUS! I was prepared for the standard cereal-bagels-juice continental breakfast that many chains offer. I was very pleasantly surprised: scrambled eggs (with "fixings"), hot oatmeal, sausage patties, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, many varieties of muffins and breads, and of course, cereals.

When the breakfast and shuttle service to the airport, local spots and the metro are added in, the price can't be beat!! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful as well. We will DEFINITELY do this again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Well, in that case, we will definitely be waiting for you to return! Thank you for expressing your feedback through TripAdvisor. We ARE the best deal in town...from or well-appointed guest rooms to the complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi, and shuttle service, to our friendly guest service, it's everything you could hope for and more. Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Perfect hotel for families! We were heading out of Reagan early in the morning, and needed somewhere close to stay so we could sleep an extra 2 hours in the morning. This was perfect, super prompt with a portable crib. Very roomy. The only surprise was that we didn't realize the extra money we would need to pay for parking. Not something we are used to when we have booked a room at a hotel. Otherwise I would have given it a 5!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're so close to the Reagan National Airport that not only will you be able to sleep a little longer before catching your flight, you'll even have time to enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet before hopping aboard the shuttle to the airport. Now that's close!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

the hotel has super value.
we paid less than 100$ per room per night.
rooms are new, quiet, big and clean,has big kitchen with all accessories.
garage parking fee is fair-24$ per day.
breakfast is very good-big variety and quality.
we did not use hotel shuttles to airport/subway.
many restaurants with 5-10 minute walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Fantastic rooms, friendly guest service, complimentary shuttles, breakfast, and W-Fi...we ARE a great value! We're glad you chose our hotel for your stay and now that you know where we are in Crystal City, why not make the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel your go-to hotel when you're in the DC area? We would certainly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

it's marriott. its going to be nice, it better be nice for $300 a night. bed is great, kitchens are wonderful for dinners in the room. this location has a grocery store less than a mile from the hotel. enormous fitness center with 6 treadmills and 5 elliptical, full weights, hard to find. 37 inch TV.

negatives- not cheap- Its DC. they charge ~$20 per day parking. laundry is $3 load. free breakfast is daily, but "social hour" which is another name for "free dinner" is only mon-wed. Free dinner is a good idea until you see what they have...not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding the hotel's location and amenities. I am glad you enjoyed the convenience and selection available in the Fitness Center, but I can see you were disappointed with the additional fees associated with your stay. This is understandable. I have never met anyone who likes to pay for parking, etc. However, I find it more important to offer our guests a safe and convenient area to park their vehicles and, unfortunately, there is a fee charged for the option of parking in the garage. I am proud to say that we are competitive to other hotels in the area, and are even less expensive than some of our neighbors. As for the dinner menu offered on Mondays through Wednesdays, I will share your comments with the team to see if there are other options we can explore. I hope you will return to our hotel in the future as we would appreciate your repeated business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.