We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“got a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“got a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August. The bedroom was excellent, nice decor, very clean. The shower was good, and sink area very roomy. The living -kitchen area was ok, but didn't seem as upscale as the bedroom. I always prefer a hotel where I can park my own car in a lot, but here you are forced to use the garage and be aware that there is a $25/day charge for this. This is the standard for the area. It is close to many restaurants, and there is a shuttle for the Reagan airport.
I wanted to book it again for the night before our return home(due to it being a mile from my daughter's home), but the rate had basically doubled and I wasn't willing to spend over $200 plus parking.

Room Tip: Our room faced a train track and the airport, but other than one train horn, the room was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review to TripAdvisor and thank you for your business. While we offer our guests the convenience of parking in the hotel's underground garage, we do not want anyone to feel forced to park there and it is not a requirement that our guests do so. There is street parking available on Potomac Avenue and there is an above ground parking lot located one block from the hotel. Perhaps this may change your mind the next time you need a place to stay in Crystal City. We would love to have another chance to serve you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    88
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
110
63
19
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great place to stay for business or pleasure. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. The hotel shuttle will drop you off at the Crystal City Metro rail station every twenty minutes and follows the same schedule for pickups from the Metro station to the hotel until 11pm. The Metro gives you easy and affordable transportation to all of the Washington DC attractions. There is a mall that is 5 minutes away by car that has everything you need (grocery store, TJ Maxx, sports store, Target, Staples and more)
The staff was very helpful and pleasant and went out of their way to help the guests. The front desk staff offered directions and coupons to attraction, shopping and food. The staff that works the morning breakfast buffet constantly asked if we needed anything.
The rooms were very clean and updated, plus the kitchen appliances were top notch and easy to use. What more can you ask for? Great price, location, free breakfast buffet and evening reception, shuttle to Metro, mall close by, very helpful and courteous staff and a hotel that looks like its less than a year old!! My family will be back again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing us for your family's stay. The Residence Inn Arlington Capital View is the perfect place for families on the go and our friendly staff will make sure that your needs are taken care of. We know if we do our part, our guests will keep coming back to us. We'll be here when you're ready to come back. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here over a long weekend in July. As expected it was clean, the staff was friendly, the hotel was busy. It's a great option and significantly cheaper than staying in the heart of DC.

While it's a short walk to the Metro at Crystal City, it was also in the 90's that weekend. The hotel provided a shuttle and upgraded it to a bus because of the crowds. The Metro is clean and easy to use for transportation to DC. Crystal City has plenty of restaurant options, though we chose to eat dinner downtown. The metro also goes to Alexandria for more sightseeing, shopping and dining options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for coming to the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your stay. We hope that our resolution to step up our shuttle service during the "hot spell" met with your expectations in helping to provide our Marriott guests with the level of service they have come to depend upon. We hope you will consider us for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked this hotel through priceline and I was so pleased with the results. The hotel has a great breakfast selection each morning, which was essential for us as we were heading out to explore the National Mall and needed a good start. The shuttle that runs to the Crystal City Metro was perfect, so convenient and even had a tracker that we could check on our phones to see when it was arriving! The staff was SO helpful, more than I could have expected.
The room was great, room service was great. There were no negatives to our stay!
Parking was a little bit expensive, but I knew parking would be hard in the area, and the shuttle made it worth it because we didn't have to worry about our car.
Thank you Residence Inn Arlington!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for letting us extend a great stay to you and your family. It sounds like you were able to do quite a bit of sightseeing while you were here, but as you now know, it's impossible to see all of DC in one trip. Please think of us when you decide to come back for the sequel... Washington, DC Family Trip, Part 2. We'll be sure to start your adventure off on the right foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here and were pleasantly surprised. Rooms were awesome. Home away from home. Shuttle to the Metro and a shopping center and movie theatre down the road. Will come again next year when the Americans Wartime Museum has their event next year. Only downfall was parking was $25 / day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It sounds like we have a date for next year! We are thrilled that you'll be coming back. We are a lot closer to dining, shopping, and sightseeing than it may first appear, as you already know. Perhaps you'll be able to explore the local area even more during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything about our stay at this Residence Inn was absolutely outstanding; from the first contact at the registration desk to our checkout, EVERYTHING was handled with care & we were treated like we were regular, frequent customers. Kudos to you & thanks for adding more enjoyment to our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the airport, or your view will just be another hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone, please try to "go green". Nice job, Residence Inn!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Now that you know where we are and how much we enjoy taking care of the needs of our guests, won't you come back for a future stay? We'll be here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are visiting for a few days on our vacation. This hotel is perfect! The hotel staff from check-in to the cleaning staff were very sweet and helpful. They offer a shuttle to the Metro every 20 minutes. The front desk even gave us a map of the Metro and gave us detailed instructions on where they were dropping us off. We will come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We're glad you had a wonderful stay and that you will be back! We'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.