We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything about our stay at this Residence Inn was absolutely outstanding; from the first contact at the registration desk to our checkout, EVERYTHING was handled with care & we were treated like we were regular, frequent customers. Kudos to you & thanks for adding more enjoyment to our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the airport, or your view will just be another hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone, please try to "go green". Nice job, Residence Inn!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Now that you know where we are and how much we enjoy taking care of the needs of our guests, won't you come back for a future stay? We'll be here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    85
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
104
63
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are visiting for a few days on our vacation. This hotel is perfect! The hotel staff from check-in to the cleaning staff were very sweet and helpful. They offer a shuttle to the Metro every 20 minutes. The front desk even gave us a map of the Metro and gave us detailed instructions on where they were dropping us off. We will come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We're glad you had a wonderful stay and that you will be back! We'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place was great. We stayed here for a few days to visit Washington D.C., and it was a great base for us. The breakfast is the typical Residence Inn breakfast, but the staff were very helpful and accommodating. The evening receptions were also great. There was a huge group of people staying here at the time we were there, but they made sure everything was well stocked and clean. The evening reception was sloppy joe's, which our kids thought was fantastic! We didn't even have to look for dinner that night. Also, we used their grocery shopping service (a first for us), and it worked out great. They shopped at a reasonably priced grocery store, and they don't even charge a fee for this service. We went out and saw the city all day, then came back to our room and the fridge and cabinets were stocked with everything we had asked for. I highly recommend this! Also, there is a free hotel shuttle to and from the nearest metro rail station. That was how we got around town. It was easy to use and worked great. Also, we got hungry for a late night snack and called room service the first night (before groceries) about 10 minutes before they were about to close, but nobody squawked, and our food was great.

The ONLY down side of this place was the pool. They have an indoor pool available for use, but the lifeguard locks up the place when he isn't there...which in our case was pretty frequently...and if there is ANY hint of rain or lightening, thry close the pool. It's an INDOOR pool. I don't really understand, but that's what we experienced. Also, the lifeguard got grouchy with our kids because they were being loud...they are kids...in a pool...they're going to squeal...it's okay...and it was only 6-7pm...? My service ratings don't include the lifeguard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us serve you as your "home" base while visiting the DC area. I agree with you. The shopping service is such a great time saver when you are on vacation. Who wants to spend their leisure time in a grocery store? I also want to thank you for the feeback regarding the lifeguard and the pool hours. The pool should be open during the hours specified (unless circumstances warrant otherwise) and this matter will be looked into and addressed by our management team. I apologize that this interfered with an otherwise great stay. We want our guests to enjoy everything about their stay, without disappointments, and we will continue to remain focused on providing excellent guest service by listening and acting upon the comment we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My friend and I went up to DC for the weekend, and being college students we don't have a ton of money but still wanted to do something fun before classes started again. So we began looking for hotels and came across this one! It was great, cheaper than we expected, with free wifi, free breakfast and a shuttle to the metro as well as the local shopping. The staff was very warm and welcoming and more than helpful in instructing us on which metro to take! The bed was really comfy, and it also had a nice small kitchen, so we saved money on not having to eat out. They also have a gym, and a pool which is really nice. My only real complaint was the parking. They share a parking garage with a hotel right next door, the renaissance, so it can get a bit confusing on where you pull into first. The parking was also a tad bit expensive, 25$ a night, overall not too bad, but still a bit steep for my taste. Overall a really great stay, and I would recomend it in a heartbeat, not to mention stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
What a great way to enjoy the last few days of summer and before starting the fall semester! I am glad you gave us a try and that you were able to enjoy the Crystal City and DC area. Perhaps when you have family coming to visit you at college, you could recommend us for their stay so you'll know they'll be taken care of. Thank you for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked 2 suites for a 4 day sightseeing tour of the capitol. Bed linens are new and the suites are clean and big enough for a family of four to stay in (good quality pull out bed). Pool is small but the kids didn't seem to mind. We drove into to D.C everyday, 10 min by car so I can't comment on the shuttle to the metro. Breakfast was very good and the staff very easy going. Suites have a full very clean new kitchen, perfect for a family on a budget. These suites are half the price of
a tiny little hotel room in D.C and with only $25 per day for parking a great place to stay when visiting the capitol.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It's wonderful that you were able to spend time with us while you and your family explored the sights of Washington, DC. The Residence Inn Arlington Capital View is a great place to recharge your batteries in between adventures and now that you know just how conveniently located we are to everything, you'll have to come back soon and explore some more. There's always something to see and do when you come to DC! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On a recent trip to DC we were looking at several hotels. We selected the Residence Inn mostly based on price and good reviews. Glad we did. The room was clean, well kept and the people were very helpful. Definitely worth the price per night. Best part was the location. The hotel was surrounded by clean, well lit shops and restaurants all within a short walk and the monuments & museums were a short drive away. We went from parking garage to parking garage in about 10 minutes. Definitely a place I'll stay in again. My only knock was the breakfast buffet. I've never really been a fan of breakfast buffet's so I'm not exactly neutral here. For me, it was just average. Selection was a bit limited but adequate. Still, with so many places to eat nearby, it's really not that big a deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for being an avid TripAdvisor user. It's wonderful when guests are able to choose their hotel destination based on what others have contributed. It's even more wonderful when they themselves become "spokespersons" for the hotel by posting their positive sentiments, too! We appreciate your business and your recommendation. By the way, we love the picture of you and your family. It looks like you're having a blast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just got back after spending the weekend here. I have nothing but good things to say about this place. Everyeone was friendly, and you can tell this place is managed very well. I had called ahead and spoken with Tiffany, and she was very friendly and helped me out a lot with my reservation. Our room was spacious and had a sitting area in addition to the bed. Everything was neat and clean. From our room, we could see the Capital building among several other Washington DC locations in the distance. The breakfast in the mornings was just as good as anything you'd get in a restaurant and included in the cost of your stay. Contrary to another post on here, the internet does not cost anything additional here. Also, there is a shuttle that carries you from the hotel to the metro stop. Maybe we just got lucy, but we never had to wait more than 5 minutes going or coming on it. When we return, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. We appreciate your comments about our wonderful staff and the complimentary amenities offered here. We will be sure to share your review with our team. Please recommend us to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.