We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oakland, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked 2 suites for a 4 day sightseeing tour of the capitol. Bed linens are new and the suites are clean and big enough for a family of four to stay in (good quality pull out bed). Pool is small but the kids didn't seem to mind. We drove into to D.C everyday, 10 min by car so I can't comment on the shuttle to the metro. Breakfast was very good and the staff very easy going. Suites have a full very clean new kitchen, perfect for a family on a budget. These suites are half the price of
a tiny little hotel room in D.C and with only $25 per day for parking a great place to stay when visiting the capitol.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It's wonderful that you were able to spend time with us while you and your family explored the sights of Washington, DC. The Residence Inn Arlington Capital View is a great place to recharge your batteries in between adventures and now that you know just how conveniently located we are to everything, you'll have to come back soon and explore some more. There's always something to see and do when you come to DC! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    116
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
136
77
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On a recent trip to DC we were looking at several hotels. We selected the Residence Inn mostly based on price and good reviews. Glad we did. The room was clean, well kept and the people were very helpful. Definitely worth the price per night. Best part was the location. The hotel was surrounded by clean, well lit shops and restaurants all within a short walk and the monuments & museums were a short drive away. We went from parking garage to parking garage in about 10 minutes. Definitely a place I'll stay in again. My only knock was the breakfast buffet. I've never really been a fan of breakfast buffet's so I'm not exactly neutral here. For me, it was just average. Selection was a bit limited but adequate. Still, with so many places to eat nearby, it's really not that big a deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for being an avid TripAdvisor user. It's wonderful when guests are able to choose their hotel destination based on what others have contributed. It's even more wonderful when they themselves become "spokespersons" for the hotel by posting their positive sentiments, too! We appreciate your business and your recommendation. By the way, we love the picture of you and your family. It looks like you're having a blast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just got back after spending the weekend here. I have nothing but good things to say about this place. Everyeone was friendly, and you can tell this place is managed very well. I had called ahead and spoken with Tiffany, and she was very friendly and helped me out a lot with my reservation. Our room was spacious and had a sitting area in addition to the bed. Everything was neat and clean. From our room, we could see the Capital building among several other Washington DC locations in the distance. The breakfast in the mornings was just as good as anything you'd get in a restaurant and included in the cost of your stay. Contrary to another post on here, the internet does not cost anything additional here. Also, there is a shuttle that carries you from the hotel to the metro stop. Maybe we just got lucy, but we never had to wait more than 5 minutes going or coming on it. When we return, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. We appreciate your comments about our wonderful staff and the complimentary amenities offered here. We will be sure to share your review with our team. Please recommend us to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hubs and I stayed here for one night after attending a wedding reception in the adjoining Renaissance Hotel. The two hotels are literally connected so it was just a quick saunter from the reception venue to our room.

Pros:
- as I mentioned, this is a great place to stay if attending any kind of event at the Renaissance Hotel
- very modern, new hotel with lovely common areas -- nicely furnished and decorated
- friendly, helpful front desk staff -- accommodated our request for early checkin
- clean, comfortable rooms
- adequate free breakfast with hot and cold items; large eating area, but it did get rather crowded on Sunday morning -- lots of families w/ screaming babies. Not the fault of the hotel, just an FYI.
- hotel offers lot of amenities like a pool and gym
- room rate was very reasonable when we stayed... just $89 a night!

Cons:
- $24 per night parking, ugh... apparently, there is free street parking available. I wish we had time to look for a free spot, b/c the hotel is in a safe area and I would have had no issue parking on the street. I realize it's hard to find any hotels w/ free parking in this area, but it seems like there is no reason for the hotel to charge such a high price to park.

Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel for tourists, business travelers, or those who have partied too much at a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding and we thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. Our staff members are very proud of this new hotel and are always looking for ways to improve on guest service. Perhaps you will be coming back to the area and you'll be able to stay with us a little longer. There's so much to see and do here! Thank you for your business and for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nothing negative to say. From the time we were picked up by the Airport Shuttle to the time we left, everything was perfect. All of the staff was excellent and very helpful. Breakfast had a wide variety of food. The Monday evening "manager's choice" was a full meal. The location is great - we could walk to various places to eat and to Target and a grocery store. The hotel provides a shuttle to/from the Crystal City Metro stop although you can walk it also. The hotel itself is lovely, rooms very nicely appointed, gym and pool and outside rooftop seating shared with Renaissance and is very nice. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a high floor with city view, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
What better compliment to receive than a guest who would not hesitate to stay with us again? We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to let others know that they can choose our hotel with confidence. We hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn on a recent trip down East coast USA and it was without a doubt the best value/quality hotel of the trip, the room was spacious and very well equipped, the complimentary breakfast was very good and the staff managed to cope very well with what looked like most of the hotel guests arriving within 15 minutes of each other for Sunday morning breakfast. The gym (which is shared with the adjacent hotel) was enormous and very well equipped, the pool was small but my kids were happy enough with it. All the hotel staff we spoke to were extremely friendly and helpful, we used our car for trips into DC so I can't comment on the hotel shuttle but they seemed to run fairly frequently. My only slight gripe would be the parking charges which I think are a bit high at $24 a day but we had a good deal on the rooms so I can't complain too much. Overall highly recommended on lots of levels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I hope you are enjoying your travels down the east coast and we are glad you stopped by to stay with us along the way. When your weary from the road, what better place to relax and recharge than at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel? There's ample room to stretch out and unwind and our dedicated team is standing by to make sure every aspect of your stay is taken care of. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the second time and it is still a great place to relax in clean, modern, well appointed rooms. We had a King Size Studio Suite that was handicapped accessible. It was spacious, immaculately clean and well furnished. They offer a shuttle to the Crystal City Metro station. The common areas are very upscale. Included with the room is a breakfast buffet with lots of choices and the attendants are very friendly and helpful in securing you a table when it is crowded at peak times. All of the employees, from the front desk to the breakfast workers and the housekeepers speak to you and are very helpful. We got a really good weekend rate, too. Even though it is across the bridge in Arlington, it is a short Metro ride or drive to all of the prominent sites in DC and the surrounding areas. I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on an upper floor, away from the elevators to get a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are so grateful for your repeat business! We know our guests have many hotels to choose from when they visit the DC area and we need to better than the rest to earn your business. We offer our guests services that will not only meet their expectations, but exceed them. We want you to be comfortable and enjoy a relaxing stay, in a clean, well-appointed guest room with amenities that will enhance your experience and make it memorable. Our staff is here for you and they truly care about your well-being. Thank you for rating us a "great place to stay" in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.