We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but why charge for Wi-Fi in rooms?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warner, NH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but why charge for Wi-Fi in rooms?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is an impeccable hotel: Shiny clean but comfortable, very friendly snd helpful service (kudos to the trainers), excellent restaurants within a short walk, close by Reagan airport, pool and workout room, great conference space. But why, why, why does a hotel that so clearly caters to the business class charge extra for in-room internet connection? Ditch the annoying internet charge and you have a truly great hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your stay. I am happy that you were delighted with your stay, but a little confused as to why you thought you were paying for Wi-Fi service at the hotel. The Internet at our hotel is complimentary, as is our breakfast and Manager's Reception Evening Meal on Mondays-Wednesdays. If this might be a reason to keep you from ever coming back, I hope the clarification will change your mind and that we'll see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    87
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
107
63
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel stands out in my mind for the most remarkable customer service. I stayed here for a month while in DC for business and the staff did everything to make me feel at home. Not only did the staff provide everything you would expect from a hotel, they went above and beyond to provide me with additional services and favors to make my life easier while on the road.

The location of this hotel leaves a bit to be desired if you are traveling to Downtown DC. It is not situated very close to a metro. It is about a mile walk, but the hotel makes up for it with free shuttle service every 20 minutes to the metro, and the airport. Once the shuttle was full, and a concierge offered to personally drive my coworkers and I to the metro instead. Outstanding customer service.

Amentites at this hotel are also wonderful for a long stay. The kitchen is modern, the gym is very big for a hotel, with many ellipticals, weights, treadmills, and other machines. The free breakfast was great. The free evening meal was wonderful too- 2-4 nights a week, there is a managers reception where a basic (but certainly adequate) meal is served, as well as 2 drinks for guests of age. Its not gourmet, but its certainly a good option if you want to stay in and save money. The food quality exceeded that of other Residence Inns i've stayed at in the past.

The staff really went out of their way to make my stay easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are extremely proud of our staff members at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. They genuinely care about our guests and strive to give each one the best stay possible. We are always looking for ways to say "yes" rather than reasons and excuses to say "no". This standard sets us apart from our competition and keeps our guests coming back time after time. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View over the weekend of the Fourth with a group of friends. We absolutely loved our stay-- not only was the staff friendly, helpful, and accommodating (they added a shuttle to the metro just for us, since the first was full), but the room was comfortable, clean, and perfect for our needs.

We did not park our car at the garage (we had a rental car that we dropped off at Regan Airport and then took the free shuttle back to the hotel; we used the metro for the rest of our stay), but the price seemed typical for hotels throughout D.C. While it is possible to walk to the metro (we did the walk on many occasions), having the metro shuttle available made a huge difference in the D.C.-in-July heat!

Also, we need to talk about the meals!! Not only was the breakfast more than adequate, the hotel also offers a free wine, beer, and DINNER reception on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays!! My group and I arrived on Wednesday night, so we were happy to have taken advantage of that perk.

All in all, a fabulous hotel! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone-- families and business travelers alike-- visiting the D.C. area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have views of the Potomac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for other TripAdvisor users. I am grateful that you chose the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your stay. We know our guests have a choice when it comes to lodging needs in the DC area, so we have to be able to meet and foresee our guests expectations with great customer service if we want them to come back. Please consider us for a future stay whenever your travels bring you this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Maids do a horrible job at cleaning trash that I put together to be taken out was left where I had it. Wash cloths were left in shower when I came back. Isn't the point of a hotel is to get a fresh new clean look when you get back to relax? And 24$ to park in a garage yourself? Ridiculous. The only reason why I stayed here is because we planned a last minute trip to DC and apparently there was a convention or a few in town and fairmont an four seasons and all hotels downtown were booked. Luckily there's a great restraunt and shopping area near by. Oh and water was left in the elevators. Dangerous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. It is obvious from the comments made in your review that our hotel did not meet your expectations and I sincerely apologize for the guest failures you addressed. We will use the photos you included with your review to make sure that our elevators and other public areas are attended to more frequently, especially during this time of year when our guests are using the pool to cool off. We will also share your comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure that amenities are being refreshed. While it is true that our self-parking is $24 a day, this rate is in keeping with our competitors in the area. As an option, there is free street parking available along South Potomac Avenue and parking on nearby area streets is free after 6 PM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels and many Residence Inns. This one is relatively new, and looks that way. It's adjacent to a Renaissance Inn and shares the gym/workout area, which is very nice. The room appeared to have been newly done, new furnishings, appliances, etc. Extremely clean. The AC worked absolutely perfectly!! The bed was very comfortable. Only downside was the pool, which is a very small indoor pool. Breakfast buffet was typical of Residence Inns. Location is within walking distance of Metro, although its a bit of a hike, restaurants, liquor store, CVS, etc. Very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for being so loyal to the Residence Inn brand. We are a unique Residence Inn because we are attached to the Renaissance, making us a dual Marriott property. We are able to offer all of the expected amenities that come with an extended stay hotel along with the perks of the connected full service hotel. Where else can you do this in the DC area? We hope you will be a frequent guest with us for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott has terrific service (Magda especially was extremely helpful as were all the front desk ladies) and EVERYTHING you need for a great stay. Great free breakfast, free shuttle to/from airport and to metro, free WiFi, and even free evening snacks too. Spacious, well-appointed rooms. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We'll definitely be waiting for you to return! Thank you for allowing us to show you what makes our hotel so special and why we have guests that keep coming back to us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a cool place. It offers a free shuttle to and from the airport as well as to the metro. The staff is very good. The complimentary breakfast is more than adequate. What a great view of the airport and river comes from many rooms. All in all, a great place to stay. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are a cool hotel! We appreciate the time you took to let others know about the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. If you're coming to the DC area and are looking for friendly guest service, clean and comfortable guest rooms, complimentary breakfast and free Internet, look no further. We will be here waiting for you to arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.