We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will not stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Maids do a horrible job at cleaning trash that I put together to be taken out was left where I had it. Wash cloths were left in shower when I came back. Isn't the point of a hotel is to get a fresh new clean look when you get back to relax? And 24$ to park in a garage yourself? Ridiculous. The only reason why I stayed here is because we planned a last minute trip to DC and apparently there was a convention or a few in town and fairmont an four seasons and all hotels downtown were booked. Luckily there's a great restraunt and shopping area near by. Oh and water was left in the elevators. Dangerous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. It is obvious from the comments made in your review that our hotel did not meet your expectations and I sincerely apologize for the guest failures you addressed. We will use the photos you included with your review to make sure that our elevators and other public areas are attended to more frequently, especially during this time of year when our guests are using the pool to cool off. We will also share your comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure that amenities are being refreshed. While it is true that our self-parking is $24 a day, this rate is in keeping with our competitors in the area. As an option, there is free street parking available along South Potomac Avenue and parking on nearby area streets is free after 6 PM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    104
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
116
71
24
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels and many Residence Inns. This one is relatively new, and looks that way. It's adjacent to a Renaissance Inn and shares the gym/workout area, which is very nice. The room appeared to have been newly done, new furnishings, appliances, etc. Extremely clean. The AC worked absolutely perfectly!! The bed was very comfortable. Only downside was the pool, which is a very small indoor pool. Breakfast buffet was typical of Residence Inns. Location is within walking distance of Metro, although its a bit of a hike, restaurants, liquor store, CVS, etc. Very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for being so loyal to the Residence Inn brand. We are a unique Residence Inn because we are attached to the Renaissance, making us a dual Marriott property. We are able to offer all of the expected amenities that come with an extended stay hotel along with the perks of the connected full service hotel. Where else can you do this in the DC area? We hope you will be a frequent guest with us for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott has terrific service (Magda especially was extremely helpful as were all the front desk ladies) and EVERYTHING you need for a great stay. Great free breakfast, free shuttle to/from airport and to metro, free WiFi, and even free evening snacks too. Spacious, well-appointed rooms. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We'll definitely be waiting for you to return! Thank you for allowing us to show you what makes our hotel so special and why we have guests that keep coming back to us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a cool place. It offers a free shuttle to and from the airport as well as to the metro. The staff is very good. The complimentary breakfast is more than adequate. What a great view of the airport and river comes from many rooms. All in all, a great place to stay. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are a cool hotel! We appreciate the time you took to let others know about the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. If you're coming to the DC area and are looking for friendly guest service, clean and comfortable guest rooms, complimentary breakfast and free Internet, look no further. We will be here waiting for you to arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night and basically crashed and then left the next morning but I was very impressed with the property. I'm a brat when it comes to hotels and normally would have shied away from staying here but I was very pleased with my stay. The room was very spacious and clean and offered a separate living area and modern kitchen with new appliances. The bed was really comfortable and the pull out sofa in the opposite room was great for families traveling with kids. There was no restaurant but there was a small sundries shops with beverages and snacks that could be purchased through the front desk and the hotels location in Crystal City offered easy access to many a restaurants and was a short walk from the metro if looking to head into DC. The hotel was also attached to the Renaissance and shared its amenities so you had access to an indoor pool, great gym and were steps away from the Renaissance's restaurant and bar if you didn't wish to venture outside. Great location and great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Maybe the next time you're in town, you'll come stay with us a little longer. I'm glad you gave us a chance to show you what we have to offer. We appreciate the review. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Traveled here with 10 friends for a weekend of sight seeing in DC. Reservations were made months before the trip, so the rate was $89.00/night. Hotel upgraded one of our rooms so we would have a living room for all of us to meet. This hotel is extremely well kept/clean. After reading some of the negative reviews, I had to wonder if they really stayed here. It is located on the end of town near the airport and train tracks, but the noise was minimal. We were on the 8th floor. The front desk went out of their way to provide us with a shuttle van to and from the metro.(a short ride). They also dropped us off Saturday night for dinner in Arlington. The large vans are clean and driven by friendly professionals, well dressed. The basic rooms have a well equipped kitchen-BIG refridgerator. Utensils, glasses, etc included. We also received a free breakfast each morning. I have to give the breakfast an A+. A lot to eat! Not a typical morning bagel/toast menu like some places. Nice little shop near the desk. (beer, wine, batteries, ice cream, sodas, water, etc. ). Pool and big exercise room. You will have to pay for parking @$24/night. But the garage safe and well lit. They also offer valet parking. A definite place to stay if you are travelling to this area.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel! We appreciate being able to be a part of such a memorable time in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose this property because of the good TripAdvisor reviews, affordability, and location. The hotel shuttles from the Reagan airport and the Metro were very important because we were planning a lot of traveling around by the Metro. Unfortunately, the shuttles are really just vans that don't hold many people. So with many people in the hotel wanting to do the same thing, often we couldn't get onto the shuttle at either the hotel or Metro stop ends. The hotel-Metro shuttle runs every 20 minutes and the driver would say that we could wait for the next one, but then there was still the overcrowding issue and not being able to get on. There is no system for reserving the shuttle or getting a number, so it's first come first served pushing onto it. The distance between the hotel and Metro is walkable but it takes about 15 minutes walking quickly, and the route is a bit confusing until you get used to it. At night there's no one around and you wouldn't want to walk it alone. Otherwise, the hotel was comfortable, the free breakfast buffet convenient, the staff helpful. But using up so much time getting to/from the Metro is inconvenient and I would recommmend trying to locate a hotel closer to the Metro (there is a Marriott only one block away). The hotel is also next to the Metro line and a train line, both of which can be heard sometimes from the rooms (especially when the train blows its horn).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review to TripAdvisor. I apologize for the delay and inconvenience brought about by the shuttle service and we are addressing your concerns in order to improve the service when our hotel is at full capacity. We understand that with all the exciting things to do and see in DC, waiting in line to board a crowded vehicle isn't one of them. Please consider us for a future visit the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.