We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights while attending a business event down the street and can't say enough good things about this place. My initial concern was its distance from the Crystal City Metro station (and restaurants and shopping); however, the hotel runs a shuttle service to the Metro station every 20 minutes which was very convenient. It's also not a bad walk if the weather's nice (10-15 minutes). The breakfast and evening meals were fantastic, the rooms were spotless, and staff were friendly and helpful. I've stayed in numerous hotels in the D.C. area, and this was by far the best for the price. Being so close to Reagan National is a big plus, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the building (facing the Capital).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel. We are very proud to represent the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We enjoy taking care of our guests by presenting them with a great hotel, fantastic amenities, and friendly guest service. We can't wait to have you come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    87
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
107
63
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first trip to DC and chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews and was not disappointed. The room was spacious and bed was quite comfortable. Loved the breakfast in the morning, lots to choose from and was a good start to the day. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Hotel has both a shuttle to the airport and the metro but decided to walk to the metro, only about a 10-15 min walk. There is a nice trail a short distance from the hotel called Mt. Vernon trail which takes you by the airport and along the potomac river. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are so glad you came to stay with us. Thank you for pointing out so many highlights about our hotel and the surrounding local area. Now that the weather is warming up, our guests can take advantage of the complimentary bicycles available next door at our sister hotel, and check out the Mount Vernon trail you mentioned in your review. Perhaps you can do this, too, on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Took a group of 10 here at a great price. Front desk staff extremely friendly and helpful, rooms clean and new. My room faced the airport but you couldn't hear a sound. Breakfast was also quite good. A lumpy bed was my only complaint on the room. Would definitely stay here again with family or on business. Parking fee is a bit steep, but otherwise this was worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel for your group's stay. We appreciate your business and your feedback. We are always keeping an eye open for areas to improve upon. While most of our guests commend us for our comfy beds, I acknowledge what you are saying and we will thoroughly check all of our beds to make sure they meet our exceptional standards. We know that an important night's sleep is detrimental to our guests and we will do everything we can to make sure our guests are counting sheep and not lumps. I hope you will consider us for another stay whenever you are in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a hotel used primarily by people doing business in DC and has a main point proximity to the Reagan National Airport. I stayed as I had a convention at the Hyatt Regency and this was cheaper, got better reviews, and was nearly across the street.

The room was very modern with an open floor plan and well appointed kitchen area. The bed and bedding were acceptable but nothing special. Breakfast buffet was included in the price. This is a nice property for the price point. If you are there with a car, the parking fee can kill you $24. But, if there on the weekend just tell them you aren't using the garage and park on the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your conference stay. We appreciate the comments about the hotel and, as you discovered, it is not always necessary to use the parking garage. There is available street parking near the hotel that is more accessible on the weekends. Please come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful property- well run, excellent customer service, we'll appointed rooms - we had 1283 - best room/views in the house! Beds were especially comfortable! The morning breakfast had all sorts if choices - eggs were fresh and hot! Would definitely recommend and stay here again! Well done!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review and thank you for staying with us here at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. I think room 1283 is about to become quite popular with our guests. We appreciate the comments regarding our friendly service. The hotel staff takes great care of our guests and this level of service keeps them coming back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Found this hotel for great price on hotels.com. Traveling with two small children loved having a larger room. Son stayed on pull out and daughter in pack n play with plenty of space. With two kids have a kitchenette was helpful- didn't cook but could make pb&j, keep milk, yogurt, bottle h2o, etc in full size frig. Breakfast in am was very good. Many hot and cold options. Plenty of seating too unlike other hotels I have stayed at. Only downfall was not in walking distance to metro. Had a shuttle to get to metro but with two small kids driving into dc was the better option. Would stay again! Very, very close to airport. Saw planes, helicopters, and trains but none were an issue when sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel for your family's stay. I agree, the room size is perfect for families on the go and the convenience of having the kitchenette is a plus. I hope you were able to enjoy the sights in DC and will come back to stay with us again to see even more. It's a big city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights are were very impressed with everything from the staff to the beautiful rooms and comfortable beds. We understand that this is a fairly new property, but we couldn't have been more pleased with out stay. The shuttle was very handy and dropped us right at the Metro station for our trip into the city.
Was night to have the kitchen to put drinks and snacks in the fridge for our stay. Staff was super helpful with directions and advice about places to eat in the area and they allowed us to continue to park in the garage until 4pm even after we had checked out. Ended up saving us another parking fee in D.C. Will stay here for sure again next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We really appreciate your business and are pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your trip to DC. Our staff does a tremendous job of taking care of our guests and helping them make the most of their time while they are here. There's lots to do and see here, so come back soon with your checklist and we'll help you cross off a few more. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#3 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.