We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is well located near to restaurants and really close to the DCA airport. Customer service was good and in the morning the breakfast area was clean and well organized. The exercise room is one of the best I have seen so far with all the equipment necessary to help you keep your fitness routine while traveling. If you are driving, keep in mind the hotel charges $24/day for parking space and parking in the surrounding areas is not permitted. Overall, one of the best hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. I am glad you had an opportunity to try out our fitness center. It is quite amazing! We know how important it is to keep a regular workout routine, even when traveling, and our fitness center has several options to keep our guests on track. I hope you will consider us for future stays. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    101
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
114
71
22
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice, clean rooms... Good location.. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!

No concierge needed; however, when we had a need, we eally felt taken care of by the friendly and helpful staff.

Location has great access to many good restaurants in the area.

I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. I am happy that you shared your comments with other TripAdvisor guests who are looking for a great place to stay in Crystal City. Not only is our staff welcoming, warm and friendly, but they truly do care about our guests' needs. Please refer us to friends and family. We would love to have them stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Was very impressed with room setup and cleanliness. The staff (especially the foodservice manager) were outstanding. Breakfast was great, hot and fresh. Free shuttle to DC Metro station was very handy and appreciated. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so proud of our hotel and of our staff at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the ammenities that are included (free breakfast and free WiFi) let our guests get enjoy more for the money. Please refer us to family and friends and thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was quite impressed-- amazed even-- at this hotel. Having stayed at many hotels close to airports, I didn't expect much. I was very surprised. The hotel was beautiful, and was very relaxing. The complimentary evening food service available just off the lobby was enough to fill me up without ordering room service or going to the restaurant. People were friendly, the room was clean and modern-- really a delight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay and for taking the time to let other TripAdvisor visitors know about the experience you had during your stay. You get a lot of bang for your buck when you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for the first time late jan to attend inauguration. Typically I use points and stay in Silver Spring. This location is much closer to DC. It has a shuttle to the metro and near by restaurants. This hotel is attached to a Marriott brand so you have access to a full bar, restaurant, and room service. The hotel is less than 3 years old with a great workout room. Good staff that is committed to helping you. Only on complaint. The shuttle is a great saving but the service was not consistent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I'm glad you ventured over to Crystal City to check us out! We are closer to DC and have a lot to offer our guests. Even though we are relatively new, we are quickly becoming a favorite "go to" hotel for our guests who appreciate great guest service and the benefits of having a sister hotel next door. We appreciate the time you took to submit a survey and we value your input greatly. We are currently taking measures to improve the shuttle service in order to meet our guests expectations. We understand that our guests have places to go and things to do and we want to be sure they arrive to their destinations with time to spare! Now that you've discovered us, perhaps the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View will become your "go to" hotel, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Awesome! This was a beautiful place tucked in on Potamoc Ave. An Unbelievably clean and minimal traffic street.. You would think the concrete sidewalks and asphalt streets were just installed the day before you arrive!!!

About the hotel, SUPERB customer service all the time! My family had 3 complicated reservations for this hotel and yet everything was still executed exactly as we wished! We flew in town to visit family in Bowie, MD for Thanksgiving and although this hotel was a 40min drive from Thanksgiving dinner, it was perfect for the rest of the trip. (The National Mall is very close by!)

Breakfast was awesome: waffles, pancakes, toasts, eggs, sausage, bacon, bagels, muffins pastries, cereals, various juice options, Etc... Can't remember all...

The room was very nicely decorated and clean as well. I only wish the hotel offered connecting rooms so we wouldn't have to go in and out with a key to other family members. That was my only issue.

The lobby area was very modernly decorated and beautiful!!! The Christmas tree was stunning!
The garage was connected to the hotel so no need to go outside to get to/from your car.

All in all I would return again.

Room Tip: 1. Try booking directly with Marriott to get Buffet Breakfast and Parking included. Hotel is hard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for the holiday weekend. We strive to create a comfortable, friendly atmosphere for our guests and I am pleased that your expectations were met. Please consider our hotel for a future family stay. We'll be here to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I had an awesome time at The Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We stayed for 1 night for the 2013 Inauguration for Obama. The staff was so helpful in accomodating our requests for 2 rooms. We had a small issue and they were so helpful in resolving it which was over and beyond what we expected. They have a very nice complimentary breakfast (waffles,bagels, eggs, hashbrowns, ham, yogurt, cereal). We were new to the area and Marriott has a free shuttle that takes you to the Crystal City Metro Station and the Crystal City Shops. We actually walked back from the Cyrstal City Metro Station and from the recommendation of the Marriott manager, ate at Good Stuff Eatery. The burgers were Great and the fries with the dipping sauce (Chipotle was the best) was very good. They also have nice upscale restaurants in the area as well (Ruth Chris, Morten's, McCormick and Schmick's , Legal Seafood but we weren't staying long enough to enjoy these (Hopefully the next time we visit). I'm a big fan of Marriott and will continue to stay at their hotels. I will note we looked into the Courtyard in Arlington but with a family and leaving out early (6:30am) we preferred the convenience of the complimentary breakfast and were surprised breakfast did not appear to be a service at the Courtyard. The hotel also supported the Inaugaration Event by starting breakfast at 4am and offering the shuttle at 4am. If there is a big event, I would recommend this hotel as they are very supportive of events in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for the Inauguration 2013 weekend. As you have already discovered, the Residence Inn is the perfect choice for families on the go. With free breakfast and free Wi-Fi and a complimentary shuttle to get you where you want to go, it's a great value. Plus, you can't beat the friendly staff and comfortable rooms. My only hope is that it won't be another 4 years before you come back to see us. There so much left in our great city for you to explore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#3 Business Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.