We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding facility and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Paris, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding facility and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Was very impressed with room setup and cleanliness. The staff (especially the foodservice manager) were outstanding. Breakfast was great, hot and fresh. Free shuttle to DC Metro station was very handy and appreciated. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so proud of our hotel and of our staff at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the ammenities that are included (free breakfast and free WiFi) let our guests get enjoy more for the money. Please refer us to family and friends and thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    85
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
104
63
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was quite impressed-- amazed even-- at this hotel. Having stayed at many hotels close to airports, I didn't expect much. I was very surprised. The hotel was beautiful, and was very relaxing. The complimentary evening food service available just off the lobby was enough to fill me up without ordering room service or going to the restaurant. People were friendly, the room was clean and modern-- really a delight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay and for taking the time to let other TripAdvisor visitors know about the experience you had during your stay. You get a lot of bang for your buck when you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for the first time late jan to attend inauguration. Typically I use points and stay in Silver Spring. This location is much closer to DC. It has a shuttle to the metro and near by restaurants. This hotel is attached to a Marriott brand so you have access to a full bar, restaurant, and room service. The hotel is less than 3 years old with a great workout room. Good staff that is committed to helping you. Only on complaint. The shuttle is a great saving but the service was not consistent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I'm glad you ventured over to Crystal City to check us out! We are closer to DC and have a lot to offer our guests. Even though we are relatively new, we are quickly becoming a favorite "go to" hotel for our guests who appreciate great guest service and the benefits of having a sister hotel next door. We appreciate the time you took to submit a survey and we value your input greatly. We are currently taking measures to improve the shuttle service in order to meet our guests expectations. We understand that our guests have places to go and things to do and we want to be sure they arrive to their destinations with time to spare! Now that you've discovered us, perhaps the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View will become your "go to" hotel, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Awesome! This was a beautiful place tucked in on Potamoc Ave. An Unbelievably clean and minimal traffic street.. You would think the concrete sidewalks and asphalt streets were just installed the day before you arrive!!!

About the hotel, SUPERB customer service all the time! My family had 3 complicated reservations for this hotel and yet everything was still executed exactly as we wished! We flew in town to visit family in Bowie, MD for Thanksgiving and although this hotel was a 40min drive from Thanksgiving dinner, it was perfect for the rest of the trip. (The National Mall is very close by!)

Breakfast was awesome: waffles, pancakes, toasts, eggs, sausage, bacon, bagels, muffins pastries, cereals, various juice options, Etc... Can't remember all...

The room was very nicely decorated and clean as well. I only wish the hotel offered connecting rooms so we wouldn't have to go in and out with a key to other family members. That was my only issue.

The lobby area was very modernly decorated and beautiful!!! The Christmas tree was stunning!
The garage was connected to the hotel so no need to go outside to get to/from your car.

All in all I would return again.

Room Tip: 1. Try booking directly with Marriott to get Buffet Breakfast and Parking included. Hotel is hard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for the holiday weekend. We strive to create a comfortable, friendly atmosphere for our guests and I am pleased that your expectations were met. Please consider our hotel for a future family stay. We'll be here to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I had an awesome time at The Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We stayed for 1 night for the 2013 Inauguration for Obama. The staff was so helpful in accomodating our requests for 2 rooms. We had a small issue and they were so helpful in resolving it which was over and beyond what we expected. They have a very nice complimentary breakfast (waffles,bagels, eggs, hashbrowns, ham, yogurt, cereal). We were new to the area and Marriott has a free shuttle that takes you to the Crystal City Metro Station and the Crystal City Shops. We actually walked back from the Cyrstal City Metro Station and from the recommendation of the Marriott manager, ate at Good Stuff Eatery. The burgers were Great and the fries with the dipping sauce (Chipotle was the best) was very good. They also have nice upscale restaurants in the area as well (Ruth Chris, Morten's, McCormick and Schmick's , Legal Seafood but we weren't staying long enough to enjoy these (Hopefully the next time we visit). I'm a big fan of Marriott and will continue to stay at their hotels. I will note we looked into the Courtyard in Arlington but with a family and leaving out early (6:30am) we preferred the convenience of the complimentary breakfast and were surprised breakfast did not appear to be a service at the Courtyard. The hotel also supported the Inaugaration Event by starting breakfast at 4am and offering the shuttle at 4am. If there is a big event, I would recommend this hotel as they are very supportive of events in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for the Inauguration 2013 weekend. As you have already discovered, the Residence Inn is the perfect choice for families on the go. With free breakfast and free Wi-Fi and a complimentary shuttle to get you where you want to go, it's a great value. Plus, you can't beat the friendly staff and comfortable rooms. My only hope is that it won't be another 4 years before you come back to see us. There so much left in our great city for you to explore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room, staff, and food was great. I was attending a conference when Hurricane Sandy hit and my flight was delayed for two days. The staff helped ensure I had a room. I was initially on the 14th floor but with the Hurricane approaching I asked to be moved, and the staff ensured that I was moved to the 3rd floor. I felt at home and very safe. This is a great place for the business traveler, especially for a woman traveling alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Potomac. The view from the top floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We're glad we could be your safe haven during Hurricane Sandy and trust you have made it home safely. We appreciate your review and wish for you to visit us again in the near future whenever your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Came to DC for 4-days of site-see'ing and taking in the sights & sounds of Christmas. Could not have selected a better hotel! Hotel is super-clean; staff are outstanding; very convenient to metro (free shuttle service every 30 minutes, both drop-off and pick-up); complimentary dinners Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday; only 1.5 years old so everything in hotel is nice, new & works!! The work-out facility rivals any gym and a wonderful outdoor pool area (although a little chilly in December to go swimming outside, but we WILL return in the summer). What more could you ask for in a hotel?

Room Tip: If available and you like looking at "planes, trains & automobiles", ask for a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
What better way to enjoy the holiday festivities going on right now in DC than to do so by staying with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? We're conveniently located and offer that welcomed feeling once you return from a day jam packed with fun. Kick off your shoes and enjoy lounging next to the fireplace with a cup of cocoa and discuss plans for the next days' adventure. We'll even suggest a few activities if you're looking for the inside scoop from some of us locals. Come back to see us the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.