We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Russellville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room, staff, and food was great. I was attending a conference when Hurricane Sandy hit and my flight was delayed for two days. The staff helped ensure I had a room. I was initially on the 14th floor but with the Hurricane approaching I asked to be moved, and the staff ensured that I was moved to the 3rd floor. I felt at home and very safe. This is a great place for the business traveler, especially for a woman traveling alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Potomac. The view from the top floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We're glad we could be your safe haven during Hurricane Sandy and trust you have made it home safely. We appreciate your review and wish for you to visit us again in the near future whenever your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    94
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
113
68
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Came to DC for 4-days of site-see'ing and taking in the sights & sounds of Christmas. Could not have selected a better hotel! Hotel is super-clean; staff are outstanding; very convenient to metro (free shuttle service every 30 minutes, both drop-off and pick-up); complimentary dinners Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday; only 1.5 years old so everything in hotel is nice, new & works!! The work-out facility rivals any gym and a wonderful outdoor pool area (although a little chilly in December to go swimming outside, but we WILL return in the summer). What more could you ask for in a hotel?

Room Tip: If available and you like looking at "planes, trains & automobiles", ask for a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
What better way to enjoy the holiday festivities going on right now in DC than to do so by staying with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? We're conveniently located and offer that welcomed feeling once you return from a day jam packed with fun. Kick off your shoes and enjoy lounging next to the fireplace with a cup of cocoa and discuss plans for the next days' adventure. We'll even suggest a few activities if you're looking for the inside scoop from some of us locals. Come back to see us the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Stunning panoramic sunrise -- if facing airport/ river side of building. Also, if on higher floors, can easily spot Capitol, while gazing upon capital. (Capitol building illuminated at night -- easier to spot; look in direction of airport tower.)


High-Floor Studio Facing Airport/ River
----------------------------------------------------
Depending on your need for spaciousness, studio is comfortable for 1, cozy for 2, snug for 3. (If you're spoiled by RI's roomier 1-bedroom suites, smaller studio suites disappoint, but after weeping a bit, you adapt.)

• 40+ channels HD & analog TV stations; good reception & image quality on LCD TV, which swivels. Aim TV wherever you're located in room: sofa, bed, kitchenette.

• Kitchen table serves double duty as dining spot & desk to work from. (Convenient outlets for electronic gadgets.)

• Free Internet/ WiFi; login code/ password required daily.

• Can faintly hear cargo trains & planes -- not distracting.

• Quiet dishwasher, quiet room-door close (not typical loud, heavy slam as at many hotels).

• Fresh, crisp bed linens -- an under rated pleasure.

From your window, once you experience an evening of glistening city lights & a spectacular dawn sunrise, all petty whinings cease & you appreciate where you are, & how well you're being taken care of.


Additional RI Niceties
-----------------------------
• Cozy 3rd-floor patio/ lounging area -- outside exercise room -- a quiet, tucked away spot to work, meet-up, or dine. (RI door you enter patio from may lock behind you (that is, you may be unable to re-enter -- even with keycard -- through the same door; but, you can re-enter building through Renaissance-side door using your RI key card & weave your way back to gym.)

• Black & white photos of DC sites along hallways; challenging to identify which building the photo is taken of.

• Track Capital View's 2 Metro Shuttle Vans (live/ real time) routes & schedules through their website:
DCAMARRIOTTSHUTTLE.COM

(Check it out any time; pretty amazing.) If you've a mobile device & WiFi connection, you can monitor the van's progress -- as you wait (outside the hotel or at Crystal City Metro Station) for the van to arrive.

• 3 swift elevators; minimal waiting.

• $22 underground/ building self-parking. Convenient in/ out throughout the day, but can be *tight* parking if you've a larger vehicle. (Smaller vehicle also easier for maneuvering about town & parking in city, as well.)

• Miss the eco-friendly face cloths in gatehouse/ lobby bathrooms; paper towels solely remain.


Crystal City Niceties
---------------------------
• 10-minute stroll over to South 23rd Street for variety of indoor/ outdoor/ takeout dining options: Sushi, Thai, Legal Seafood,... for evenings when RI isn't serving meals.

• Pick up the "Crystal City Shops Directory" to familiarize yourself with the abundance of shopping/ dining options. The directory also serves as an excellent *Overview Map* (details streets/ buildings) of the area; good for keeping in your pocket if you venture out on foot. (When checking in at lobby desk, turn around & brochure rack is directly behind you on wall; the directory is a tall black brochure with large white letters "directory.") If none are in rack, ask helpful desk staff. (Overview map is worth having.)

• Entry point to Mt. Vernon Trail (walking, jogging, biking) by the Crystal City Water Park (north on Crystal Dr., by 18th St.).

• The new Long Bridge Park (past Crystal City Water Park) is expansive (with well-designed sports fields in view of path) has a bit of a wide open desolate feel -- but an interesting area to stroll nonetheless. Planes fly over -- every 20(?) minutes -- taking off & landing at Washington National Airport. (At times, you feel you can jump up with outstretched arm & touch a plane's underbelly with your fingertips.) Occasionally, a freight train will chug by with a lengthy chain of cars. On one side of the path you can overlook a body of water: Roaches Run Waterfowl Sanctuary.

• Harris Teeter Grocery (at 3600 S. Glebe Rd.) is temporarily closed, but walk further down (toward Alexandria) for a Food World grocery (by Best Buy, Target). (Bit of a long walk down & back -- especially carrying groceries; you may be better off driving if your not a up for a trek.)


Food, Glorious Food
----------------------------
Bring Guest Services Card to complimentary breakfast & evening social hour (dinner).

• Breakfast (6am-9am on Mon.-Fri.; 7am-9:30am on Sat. & Sun.)

-- Best *real* whole grain bread. (Wish every RI would serve this real bread as their standard fare.) (Excellent toasted & eaten with walnuts; tasty flavour combination.)

-- Prefer plain, *unsweetened* yoghurt in parfait; the already sweet granola & blueberries, have the right amount of sweetness already. (Plain Greek yoghurt would be ideal.)

-- Excellent rotation & variety of standard RI fare -- much appreciated by long-stay and/ or repeat guests; relieves the tedium of sameness if you've a steady diet of hotel food.

-- Thankful for plain, boiled eggs.


• Dinner (6pm-7:30pm on Mon, Tue, Wed.)

-- Fresh salad & hearty soups (chicken noodle, minestrone,...) with each meal.

-- Excellent tuna salad/ chicken salad (alongside fresh tossed salad vegetables).

-- Tasty "sloppy joe" seasoned meat as alternative (or in addition to) hot-dog main course. Chicken meal another night.

-- Fresh (not canned) green string beans & other veg.

What can you say. If you like *real* food; this is as real as it gets at any RI. Enjoy it while you can.


(For additional RI Capital View specifics -- breakfasts, dinners, 1-bedrooms, drive/ walk times to sites, guest laundry, exercise room -- see review posted Aug. 2012 about earlier stays -- Sept 2011.)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. I am glad you were able to experience the wonderful views from our hotel. The sunrises are quite majestic aren't they?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This review is a bit early because I am staying here, but so far I have been extremely impressed with this hotel. It is clean. The staff are friendly. Marriot is on top of it when it comes to knowing what business customers want and need. From hot breakfast to dinner served daily (complimentary) to running to the grocery store to fill my fridge (also included), this hotel has gone above and beyond. It's Residence Inn for m from now on!

Room Tip: Did not use room service. My only tip is related to the metro. If you have to use it, the free app m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let others know how you feel about the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel. It is our goal to have our guests come stay with us and deliver the kind of friendly service they won't be able to find anywhere else in DC. We appreciate your business. Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We're here for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel, from soup to nuts! Then again, we only paid $89 a night because there was a special deal, so I don't know that skews our perspective or not (I checked "excellent" value, but I don't know if I'd check that if I paid the full rate of $599 for the same room)... but either way, it definately was a nice hotel & we sould stay again. The reception was pleasant, the shuttle bus to the Metro was very convenient (although I prefer to be within walking distance of the metro), the breakfast was awesome! Eggs, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, waffles, bages, fruit, yogurt, muffins, cereal... and we liked that on the weekends it was open until 10am so we could sleep in. Also, check out at noon was a plus for us! The only complaint I would have is that the pool didn't have a hot tub, and also it was hard to find- there was no sign that told you it was all the way in the back of the work out area. Other than that, it was definately a positive experience.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor overlooking a very beautifully designed roof (seriously, they made a pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I have to agree with you, we do serve an awesome breakfast at the Residence Inn! Surely your review will inspire others to give us a try when they are looking for a place to stay in Crystal City and your comments are appreciated very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff were most welcoming & helpful. Breakfast every day & happy hr. with food Mon thru Wed. most welcome. Great location. The pool terrace and workout area were super.--staff on hand. Transportation to metro and restaurants available. I would gladly return to this facility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We will gladly welcome your return to the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Our staff will be waiting for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a business trip over 3 days. Most of the time was spent at the seminar, but the room was always well cared for. The location was very good and the food was quite good. The HDMA seminar for this event is at the same place next year. The close proximity to Reagan International is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the hotel for other Trip Advisor users. We look forward to welcoming the seminar group back to the hotel again next year and to seeing you as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;