We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Suites • Healthy Breakfasts • Full Dinners • Free, 10-Min. Shuttle to DCA • Brief Metro Ride to DC, Smithsonian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Superb Suites • Healthy Breakfasts • Full Dinners • Free, 10-Min. Shuttle to DCA • Brief Metro Ride to DC, Smithsonian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

(Head & shoulders above even the best Residence Inns (RI); an additional star is needed.)

New, upscale, 14-story RI -- over 300 suites – walking distance to numerous Crystal City restaurants & shops. (For walk/ drive times & distances, see below.)

• Comfortable, spacious, quiet, 1-bedroom suite with all RI amenities. New, clean, modern décor & furnishings -- even crisp, fresh linens.

• Two modern computers & printer in seated area (behind gatehouse sitting area) to print documents & boarding passes.

• Free internet/WiFi.

• Vast/ spacious, 3rd-floor exercise room filled with rows of new, modern equipment: treadmills, ellipticals, bicycles, weights. (While exercising, gaze out huge windows onto rooftop plants -- vast, breathable open space; a claustrophobe’s’ delight.) Ear buds provided for built-in TV screens on ellipticals, treadmills, etc..

• Laundry room (on 3rd floor) with rows of new washers ($3) & dryers (free) -- adjacent to expansive exercise room. (Exercise during wash & dry cycles.)

• Convenient underground self-parking ($22).


Breakfast & Dinner
------------------------
• Exceptional RI breakfasts; abundant, healthy, hot & cold choices with *variety* -- alternating/ rotating hot options are much appreciated if you’re a long-term or repeat visitor. Best “real” whole grain bread served in any RI I’ve visited; wish all RIs would serve it. (An additional healthy choice -- to an already outstanding selection – might be: Greek yoghurt & an even greater assortment of fresh, in-season fruit.)

• Full, balanced, healthy *unique* evening meals entrees (fish, chicken, beef…) with fresh steamed vegetables, soup, salad  served on Mon., Tue., Wed.. Convenient if you're busy & haven't time or energy to prepare food in kitchenette. Best balanced, nutritious RI meals for repeat or long stays. (Having 3 exceptional meals – each week -- takes sting out of parking fee; you’d pay at least $22 for a quality meal outside; if you’re feeding 2, 3, or 4 people, you easily recoup that fee. Now if Capital View (CV) would just extend their meals to Thur., Fri., Sat., & Sun., you’d do extremely well.)

• Depleted items are promptly replenished. Kitchen staff even remembers you from previous visits. (A new bar has been set for quality RI meals & exceptional kitchen chef/ staff service.)

• Spacious, comfortable dining area – plenty of seating.

• For evenings when RI isn’t serving meals, numerous eateries nearby (along Crystal Dr.) to suit various palettes & budgets. Chipotle Mexican Grill  (on 2231 Crystal Dr.) – a 10-min. walk (~0.5 mi./ 0.8 km) -- economical option.

• For longer stays, if you’ve time & inclination to prepare meals in your furnished kitchenette, walk or drive to nearby groceries:
 -- Harris Teeter  Grocery (on 3600 S. Glebe Rd.) – ~10-min. walk (~0.5 mi./ 0.8 km)
 -- Target (on 3101 Jefferson Davis Hwy in Alexandria) – ~15-min. walk (~1 mi./ 1.6 km)
 -- Whole Foods (on 1700 Duke St. in Alexandria) – ~15-min.-drive (~4 mi./ 6.4 km).
 -- Whole Foods (on 2700 Wilson Blvd.) -- ~20-min.-drive (~5.5 mi./ 9 km).


Approx. 15 min. (~1 mi./ 1.6 km)  W A L K  (depending on your pace)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
• Crystal City Metro Station -- blue & yellow lines (on S. Bell St. & 18th St.). (Free RI shuttle to & from metro is ~5-min. drive; handy on drizzly/ rainy days or you’re just too tired to take another step. Shuttle can be full/ packed at times, so walking can be timelier alternative.)

• Crystal City Water Park (north on Crystal Dr., after 18th St.) Leisurely after work/ dinner stroll (pass many eateries, shops, businesses along way) to serene spot; relax to sound of waterfalls.


Approx. D R I V E  Time (depending on traffic)
-------------------------------------------------------------
• Washington National Airport (DCA) -- 10 min. (~1.5 mi./ 2.4 km). Free RI airport shuttle. (You may have an airport view from your room; see -- but not hear -- planes.)

• DC, Washington Mall, Smithsonian Museums, Memorials, Sightseeing -- 20 min. (~5 mi./ 8 km). (Driving in to DC, you’ve parking to consider, but freedom to easily come & go on your own schedule & ease of moving about & exploring areas. With the metro ~10-15 min. ride to DC, you eliminate parking hassles & get to explore the underground as well as the above ground sights.)

• Pentagon City Metro Station (yellow & blue lines) on S. Hayes St. & 12th St. South, Pentagon City Mall, Pentagon Centre (Costco) -- 10-min. (~2 mi./ 3.2 km).


Niceties/ Necessities
--------------------------
• Eco-friendly face cloths in public restrooms (in addition to paper towels); hope all RI’s adopt face cloths in public restrooms.

• Three peppy elevators keep you moving so waits aren’t too long during morning & evening rush hours.

• Corner rooms ideal, but even rooms by elevator are fine; you’d think elevator “dinging” sound & foot traffic would be audible/ annoying -- didn’t hear a peep.


Planes, Trains, & Automobiles View
-----------------------------------------------
If you enjoy gazing out your window watching planes landing & taking off, trains chugging by in long chains, and cars bustling along, you’ll have an excellent view of all 3.

You have a capital view; that is a view of the *city* “that serves as the seat of government.” If you’re looking for a CapitOl view, “the building in which the legislative assembly meets.” look waaaay out in the distance, you might make out the Capitol building; camera/ binoculars may help “Capitol” spotting.

(Rooms are quiet considering proximity to all modes of transport; didn’t hear a sound.)


Down Side
--------------
Once you’ve spent time at Capital View (& had one of their dinners), you’ll be ruined for other RIs (outside DC area) that you visit. You will inevitably compare room quality, breakfasts, evening meals; exercise room, etc. Few RI’s will measure up to CV’s gold standard. After being utterly spoiled, you’ll bemoan other hotel’s shortcomings & wonder why they *all* can’t be like CV.


Outstanding for short or long stays whether traveling with family, as a couple, or alone on business.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Wow! What we could say that you didn't already mention? Thank you so much for not only taking the time to submit your review, but also for mentioning all of the wonderful amenities that set us apart from our competition. We are very proud of our new hotel and we're thrilled that our guests are enjoying it, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    85
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
104
63
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Residence Inn - Capital View, in Arlington, VA lies within the Crystal City portion of the city. This section is full of hotels and restaurants to choose from. When making a decision, this hotel is an excellent choice and a great place to stay to quickly get into Washington, DC.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a regular shuttle to the closest metro stop, as well as to the airport. A full complimentary breakfast is served each morning consisting of eggs, sausage, french toast, chipped beef biscuits and various other choices.

The rooms themselves are very clean and spacious, including a kitchen for anyone looking to cook for themselves. The shower and toilet were separate from the sink area, allowing two people to get ready at the same time in the morning.

The only negative we found was the parking cost of $22 per day. Even though the hotel rates are very reasonable, this parking cost I think is pretty ridiculous. Even hotels inside of the main area of Washington, DC don't ask for this much in parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are pleased that you chose the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your recent stay and thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor guests. We are always looking for ways to stay competitive in our market and we feel our parking prices are comparable to other hotels in our area. However, we will continue to monitor this moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here - he was on business and I did some touring. The room was great - clean, new, stylish. Nice to have a full kitchen. The hotel serves complimentary breakfast each morning which is fantastic. Three nights a week they serve a very simple dinner. They have an outstanding workout facility, but several of the brand new machines were inoperable - someone should be maintaining these expensive machines. It would be nice if they offered cold bottled water instead of the tiny paper cups with room temp water. The free shuttle to the Metro station is very nice especially in 90 degree weather. It makes stops at several of the Marriott properties nearby. Pick up at the Metro can be frustrating. I waited about 15 minutes, then walked to the Gateway Marriott - they said they would call the shuttle for me but they were told the shuttle wouldn't pick me up at the Gateway so I had to walk back to the station. Three different Marriott shuttles refused to pick me up, even though I had a card that Identified me as staying at the Marriott. I had to be on one particular shuttle apparently, and these drivers just flat out refused to give me a ride. Not good customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate your review of the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View and we take your comments and concerns seriously. I apologize for the confusion with our free Metro shuttle service and we will be sure to better inform our guests where to catch the shuttle when they are returning to the hotel. We routinely check our fitness center equipment to be sure that everything is in working order and make any necessary repairs as quickly as possible. We are very proud of our fitness center and we know how important it is to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Residence Inn for a business trip for a few nights. The hotel is a little over a year old and located in a former brownfield area that is being re-developed. It is very nice, LEED-certified and provides many amenities. The breakfast was fantastic, the room was very clean and fresh and the staff was very nice. The hotel also offers a free shuttle to and from the airport and the metro station, which alleviates the need of moving your vehicle. Next time I have business in the area, I will stay at the Residence inn Arlington Capital View.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed here for business trip this past week and found it to be one of the best I have been in awhile. The breakfast and manager's reception were excellent. The food was great and nice that they offer a complimentary meal at the reception which allowed me to save money during my stay. I appreciated the free airport shuttle and the shuttle to the metro. The free wireless internet access as well as the free computer access with printer was great to have. I was able to print my boarding pass at the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and nice. I would stay there again anytime I am in the area. I have always found Residence Inn hotels great. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help anyone out when needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View and for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor. We are constantly striving to provide the exemplary guest service that you expect to receive from the Residence Inn brand and we are pleased that you were also able to experience the wonderful, free amenities that are included. Please consider us for a future stay. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Earlier this month, my wife, daughter and granddaughter stayed at this beautiful hotel with the intention of picking up our other son and daughter who were flying into Reagan National. Living 4 hours from DC, we did not want to make a one day trip and therefore decided to stay overnight on Friday as their scheduled landing was at 9 AM on Saturday.
Upon checkin, we were greeted by a friendly desk associate who put us in a suite facing the airport. I love plane spotting, so this was perfect for me. As most travelers know, Reagan has one of the most interesting approaches in the country. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We took advantage of the unique pool. The pool and workout facility is shared with the adjoining Renaissance Hotel. Early Saturday morning, my daughter called to let us know that thay had missed their flight from Omaha, and that the next flight would be the following day, Sunday.
I rushed down to attemp to extend our stay by one more day, and the desk associate was so kind to allow us to stay in our suite another day at the same price that we had origionally reserved. What a relief. Our extra day afforded us the opportunity to visit the National Archives, which my wife had wanted to visit her entire lifetime.
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast both mornings. The staff was friendly and accomadating. We did make one request from housekeeping for an extra blanket for our daughter and granddaughter (I like the temperature to remain cool in the room) to which they proptly responded. We ordered room service on Saturday night, which was brout up hot and delicious from the Renaissance on site Resturant. I discovered that Potomac Avenue offers direct, almost traffic-less access to a shopping center about 2 miles south of the hotel. If you have ever stayed in Crystal City, you know this is a real plus when you need to pick up a few things from the grocer or Target.
Beautiful Hotel, supportive staff, quiet location, great views of Reagan National. I will DEFINATELY stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Capital and the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for submitting such a wonderful review of our hotel. While we would never want to celebrate a delay in our guest's plans, in this case it was a unique opportunity to show how much we genuinely care for our guests and are ready to help in any way we can. Crystal City is unique and there is something for everyone. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the extended stay by taking in some of the local flavor. We look forward to serving your needs the next time your family is due for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last two months. This is simply one of the best Residence Inns I have ever seen! The staff is outstanding, really customer focused. Because it is not very old, the rooms are clean and new looking. The lobby has a large open feel with lots of comfortable furniture. Breakfast and evening reception have lots of good choices and very tasty foods, along with free beer or wine. Finally, I can't say enough about the gym/pool/sauna. The Residence Inn shares these facilities with the Renaissance next door and they are first rate. I would rank the workout area up there with some of the best member gyms I have seen. There are plenty of treadmills, elliptical machines, weight machines and free weights. The only downside I have found is that it is a good 20 min. walk from the Crystal City Metro station, but they have a shuttle that will take you there. This hotel is simply one of the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your hotel stay. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to check out our fitness center. It is pretty amazing! That alone will surely keep our guests coming back for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.