We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flight Delay Makes For An Extended Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wilson, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flight Delay Makes For An Extended Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Earlier this month, my wife, daughter and granddaughter stayed at this beautiful hotel with the intention of picking up our other son and daughter who were flying into Reagan National. Living 4 hours from DC, we did not want to make a one day trip and therefore decided to stay overnight on Friday as their scheduled landing was at 9 AM on Saturday.
Upon checkin, we were greeted by a friendly desk associate who put us in a suite facing the airport. I love plane spotting, so this was perfect for me. As most travelers know, Reagan has one of the most interesting approaches in the country. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We took advantage of the unique pool. The pool and workout facility is shared with the adjoining Renaissance Hotel. Early Saturday morning, my daughter called to let us know that thay had missed their flight from Omaha, and that the next flight would be the following day, Sunday.
I rushed down to attemp to extend our stay by one more day, and the desk associate was so kind to allow us to stay in our suite another day at the same price that we had origionally reserved. What a relief. Our extra day afforded us the opportunity to visit the National Archives, which my wife had wanted to visit her entire lifetime.
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast both mornings. The staff was friendly and accomadating. We did make one request from housekeeping for an extra blanket for our daughter and granddaughter (I like the temperature to remain cool in the room) to which they proptly responded. We ordered room service on Saturday night, which was brout up hot and delicious from the Renaissance on site Resturant. I discovered that Potomac Avenue offers direct, almost traffic-less access to a shopping center about 2 miles south of the hotel. If you have ever stayed in Crystal City, you know this is a real plus when you need to pick up a few things from the grocer or Target.
Beautiful Hotel, supportive staff, quiet location, great views of Reagan National. I will DEFINATELY stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Capital and the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for submitting such a wonderful review of our hotel. While we would never want to celebrate a delay in our guest's plans, in this case it was a unique opportunity to show how much we genuinely care for our guests and are ready to help in any way we can. Crystal City is unique and there is something for everyone. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the extended stay by taking in some of the local flavor. We look forward to serving your needs the next time your family is due for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    103
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
115
71
24
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last two months. This is simply one of the best Residence Inns I have ever seen! The staff is outstanding, really customer focused. Because it is not very old, the rooms are clean and new looking. The lobby has a large open feel with lots of comfortable furniture. Breakfast and evening reception have lots of good choices and very tasty foods, along with free beer or wine. Finally, I can't say enough about the gym/pool/sauna. The Residence Inn shares these facilities with the Renaissance next door and they are first rate. I would rank the workout area up there with some of the best member gyms I have seen. There are plenty of treadmills, elliptical machines, weight machines and free weights. The only downside I have found is that it is a good 20 min. walk from the Crystal City Metro station, but they have a shuttle that will take you there. This hotel is simply one of the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your hotel stay. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to check out our fitness center. It is pretty amazing! That alone will surely keep our guests coming back for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here four nights in July 2012 for a business trip. I have stayed at many Residence Inn's and this was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is posh, and it is walking distance from everything in Crystal City. It has a full gym, not a hotel gym, and a computer dedicated to printing boarding passes. There is a hotel shuttle that will take you to and from the Airport as well as a central location close to restaurants in Crystal City. The restaurants are in walking distance, but after a hard day this is a nice option. The breakfast included scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, breakfast meat, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, and usually another second breakfast option like a wrap. The manager's reception included stuffed peppers, steamed broccoli, white rice, hamburgers and hot dogs, macaroni and cheese and each night a salad bar. Of course it also included wine and beer. There were lots of options and it was all tasty. The rooms were large and tastefully appointed. If I travel here for business again I will extend my stay for pleasure and have my husband join; I enjoyed it that much.

One slight minus was my room was not cleaned the third night. It wasn't a big deal; I stayed on the 14th (top) floor and the hotel was completely booked. It was likely an oversight so I did not complain to management.

Room Tip: There are 14 floors, the upper floors were quieter than the lower floors. Keep the AC at a higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We are glad that the food choices were such a hit. We receive lots of compliments on the variety we have to offer our guests for breakfast and dinner. Perhaps the next time you stay with us you'll have time to slip next door to the Renaissance and have dinner at SOCCi, an italian-themed restaurant, for something new. While we appreciate all of the positive aspects in your review, I want you to know that we also appreciate your feedback regarding the level of service the housekeeping staff provided you during your stay. We take these issues seriously and they will be shared with the appropriate departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is really a great hotel. It had one of the best rooms we have stayed in. The 1 bedroom was perfect for a family of 3. We were on the 14th floor and had a comer room with great views of Reagan airport & Alexandria. The room was really nice and had a full kitchen,pull out couch, flat screen tvs and comfortable beds.The hotel staff was great! The hotel shares a fitness center and pool with the Renaissance and although the pool was tiny the fitness center was big and one of the nicest hotel gyms I have been to.They also have a small laundry room, about 3.00 to wash but the drying was free.Wonderful complementary breakfast, one of the best I have had. We also loved the managers reception at night. It was perfect for dinner, and the free drinks were great! Great for a family on a budget.There is not much to do at night here but there are restaurants and shops about a mile away. Mostly hotels and office buildings in this area.This hotel is in a safe area and is less than a mile to the metro.They have a shuttle bus that will take you to the metro.Runs about every 20 min and we thought it was convenient. They have parking for around 20.00 + a day. We really enjoyed staying here on our vacation, I would highly recommend this hotel and if we are ever in the area again I would stay here! We only had one issue at this hotel. Watch the bathroom doors. The metal on the bathroom door frame got caught on my brand new dress and ripped out the back. Wish I had said something but didn't really get the time. Other than that we had a great stay here.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for a high floor. The comer rooms have extra windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for recommending the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. As you have discovered, it is a great place to choose for family vacations. We are minutes away from downtown DC and all of the attractions and there is plenty of nearby shopping and dining options. Plus, it's great to be able to fuel up with a hearty breakfast at the Gatehouse located on the lobby level before heading out for a day of sightseeing. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was here more than 6 months back, but I really wanted to mention that I enjoyed my stay here thoroughly. We were here before noon and were allowed to check in, which really helped us stay on track for our plans for the rest of the day. The room was clean, had more amenities than we needed and the bed was very comfortable.

The shuttle they run to Crystal City Metro station is a life saver, for those without a car. The breakfast spread was adequate, though a little crowded at the waffle stands.

It is a good property at a reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We appreciate your business and your review. It's nice to know that your stay at our hotel met your expectations in a way that would prompt you to tell others about it on Trip Advisor six months later. We hope you'll come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were attending a conference in Bethesda, MD and flying in and out of DCA so we looked for a hotel that would not only be close to the airport but would have breakfast as well. Having stayed at other Residence Inns, this one filled our needs. We were traveling with our 16 year old so having space was important. We arrived late on a Monday night and they only had a handicapped king suite left so we took it (our credit card deposit assured us of getting the king suite). Unfortunately, the air conditioning vent was extremely loud and made for two nights of our daughter sleeping with a pillow over her head. Housekeeping told us this was how all the vents were so we didn't even bother to let the front desk know (we should have). The hotel was perfectly located, offering shuttle service to/from the airport and metro.
We returned to the hotel on Sunday night and we had reserved a regular suite and found the air conditioning vent to be extremely quiet! It unfortunately took housekeeping over 2 1/2 hours to come up and make up the sleeper sofa for our daughter. Since dinner is not served on Sunday nights, we ordered in from a local pizza place and the food was great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your stay. We appreciate your business. Your input is an invaluable tool that we will use to better train our staff members in order to meet the needs and expectations of our guests. If our guests are not satisfied with their room or with the level of service, we want to know about it. We will continue striving to become a landmark extended stay hotel in Washington, DC and we hope you will come back to visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The star (stars) of this hotel is its staff! Jeremy, Amelia, Giovanni, plus everyone else we interacted with were awesome! Always friendly, helpful, and professional. Every employee seemed genuinely happy to help you and make sure you were enjoying your stay. Rare to find these days so it was very refreshing!

Convenient location, short walk to restaurants and the metro (plus the hotel offers convenient shuttle service that you can track with an app so you know if it's worth it to wait). Rooms are very nice and, depending on how high up you are, have pretty nice views. We love watching trains, planes, and cars and don't mind the white noise from them (though this may bother some) plus we could also see the river from our room. Complimentary breakfasts were great and well executed (variety, cleanliness and freshness).

Room Tip: Corner rooms have windows on more than one wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel! We will eagerly share your comments with our staff. I am sure they will appreciate your feedback on a job well done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.