We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms made up for a lot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vlaardingen, netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Rooms made up for a lot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Checking in went well we where on the top floor (14). The room had a full kitchen and separate living room. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Wifi was free and fast. Breakfast was included also. Self parking was $ 22,00 per day.

Hotel is not in the heart of crystal city and it restaurants but a free bus shuttle service was provided by the hotel. It also takes you to the closest subway ( metro ) station. Which we think is the easiest way around DC. For under 10 dollar you can
use the subway unlimited for one day.

Hotel staff was friendly overall but couldn't handle a almost fully booked hotel with girl scouts. Breakfast was packed, supplies of cups, orange jus and donuts was low or out on both days.

We had to wait 15 to 20 minutes to use one of the only 3 elevators in the hotel because of a line with people.
Usage of stairs was not allowed, they tried getting security to release the service elevator but didn't succeed.

While waiting in line I asked the front desk if the breakfast was going to be as hectic as this morning tomorrow, I was told that most of the scouts would be out to the mall before 7 so it should be ok.

Unfortunalty that wasn't the case, seating was packed again and supply of food and cups was even lower then the day before. We didn't even trie the hot breakfast because of the line.

We found a somewhat more quiet place in the hotel lobby to eat. During our breakfast they opened up a extra room for breakfast that helped in part but there where clearly to little staff to keeping the stock up.

On checking out I was asked how the stay was I told that the room was great but breakfast and elevator lines weren't.
He clearly wasn't expected it and just said sorry.

All in all great rooms at a good price not a lot in walking distance but once at the subway station you got Washington in reach.

Might we ever return to dc we again will consider this hotel. We do hope they will be better prepared if there's a large crowd in the hotel. The hectic reception area and breakfast room really was a downer for us.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear mafootje,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your stay. We appreciate the compliments you gave us on our rooms and free shuttle service. I can also understand the frustration you shared in your review regarding the service at breakfast time when so many guests arrived at the same time. We want all of our guests to be able to start their day off right with a good breakfast and we are taking measures to ensure that adequate food and beverages, supplies, space, and staff is readily available at all times--even when we have a full house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    103
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
115
71
24
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is not near a lot, but it is very nice and very quiet - even though freight trains run by it at all times of the day and night. Although it is a new hotel, it is not in the LEED design like the new one in Fairfax; however the rooms are nice and comfortable. The breakfast area is wonderful and the breakfast was fantastic. As always, it has =nice quality beds and bedding. It does offer a shuttle to and from the airport as well as the Crystal City Metro. The Metro Shuttle stops at the same location as the 9S and it makes a loop around the same part of Crystal City as where both the Residence Inn and Renaissance Hotel are located off of Potomac Av. You can request a stop as you approach the Renaissance and it is a short walk down to the hotel. This link takes you to a map of the 9@ bus route: http://www.arlingtontransit.com/tasks/sites/ART/assets/File/Metrobus_printer-friendly/9S.pdf
Since the shuttle runs every 15 minutes, you may have missed it and using the bus is a quick way to get to the hotel. go to wmata.com for details on farecards.

Room Tip: I always request a high floor away from the elevator banks when I stay in a metropolitan area. It g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear RocketCityStarbuck,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you have found our guest rooms to be inviting. You'll also be happy to know that our hotel is LEED Gold Certified and we are always improving measures to become more efficient and environmentally friendly by reducing, reusing, and recycling whenever and wherever we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Hotel next to dirty vacant lot and sewage plant. Almost 1 mile away from Metro, stores, resturants.

Share hotel with busloads of cheap vacation tours.

Room Tip: East sie of hotel faces subway tracks and airport flight path
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Dis_II,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize if the hotel did not meet your expecations as we diligently listen to what our guests have to say and make the necessary changes that are within our control. Our hotel is new. We have only been at this location for a little over a year. The hotel was built in an up and coming area in Crystal City that is expanding every day. The safety of our guests is of utmost importance and there is security on the property 24 hours a day. It is extremely rare for our guests to voice concerns regarding their safety while they are staying at the hotel, but know that you can reach out to our staff at anytime and we will listen to you and take the necessary steps to help you feel at ease. We also offer a free shuttle service to 23rd Street on Crystal Drive where there are many restaurants and access to shopping, and to the Metro station where you can hop on a train to DC to see the sights. We appreciate your business and hope you will reconsider a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed for 8 nights, and everyone of them was perfect. The breakfast is way above average, and even on busy mornings, there was plenty of room to sit. The choices rotated daily and was excellent. The front desk staff was always very friendly, and the room was kept very clean.
The only issue was an 8th grade group that was loud, but security moved them into their rooms and quieted them down. The walk to the Metro was a nice length, and the days we didn't want to walk, the shuttle was easy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Sweetkid95,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View. We appreciate your business and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is important to us and the comments will be shared with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I was in DC for a family reunion and booked about 5 rooms for family members that were traveling to the DC area. I am very familiar with Marriott Hotels but I have never stayed at a Residence Inn. My family and I stayed here for Memorial Day weekend and it was the best decision we made! The hotel provided free shuttle service to National Airport, Metro Station and 23rd Street - Crystal City shops. The breakfast is top notch all the way. It is fully stocked and they try to change or add something different to the buffet every day. Right next door, connected to the Residence Inn is the Renaissance Hotel. I hosted our first family reunion event - dinner at Socci Restaurant. The group menu was affordable, the service was first class and the food was amazing. The chef even came out to meet us at the end of dinner. We had such a great dinner that my husband and I returned the next day to enjoy dinner once again. I also had arranged for a social event on Saturday and the staff was exceptional. Thank you to Ron Kee for taking care of this last minute booking. Even when we encountered a problem with a delivery the staff was quick to address the situation. Thank you so much! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Worldtraveler428,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Arlington Capital View for your family reunion! We are thrilled that the service provided for your event met your expectations and that you were able to utilize both the Residence Inn and Renaissance to provide the right atmosphere for your guests, all in one convenient location. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azerbaijan, Baku
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I liked very much attentiveness of the staff, comfort and cleanliness of the room. Beds are very comfortable. The rooms have all the facilities the one tourist may need during of his stay. Receptionists are very professional and so friendly!

I think breakfast could be better and include fruits.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I am a Marriott woman, a platinum member of this great, most of the time, hospitality service. I stayed there for 6 nights, they were very nice all the way. Clean but the floor could take more cleanliness but due to the "Dog friendly" atmosphere, I realised why the floor can not be hair free! Other than that, excellent front desk, Ms. Shana. Very professional, patient & efficient. Mr. AJ, the front desk manager, solved a problem for me in less than 5 minutes and he is always available. Mr. Sunil, the breakfast attendant, was more than cheerful, kind & very hard working with a great smile every morning. Very comfortable rooms, quite rooms with excellent gym & swimming pool facilities. I would return back & definately would recommend this hotel to everybody. Thank you...

Room Tip: I am a heavy sleeper so I have nothing special to recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#4 Family Hotel in Arlington
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.