We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Capital View to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

After staying here in June, I was in the area again for work and decided to stay here again. I am pleased to say that the hotel is just as good as it was on my first visit. It was very clean and neat. The included meal on Monday night was great (saved some per diem). This hotel is a winner, and I will most likely stay here every time I am in the area for work. The staff is GREAT! They are so friendly and helpful - probably some of the best hotel staff I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    113
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
131
76
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed one night ahead of an early flight out of Reagan National airport. I was given room 961, a wheelchair-accessible suite with a separate bedroom and living room and a good view of the airport.

My room was seriously nice (many accessible rooms are not), with a few extra handrails in the roomy bathroom, but otherwise unobtrusive features (I am able bodied myself so I cannot tell how these features actually work for someone in a wheelchair).

There was a microwave in the room and a little shop next to the reception that sells frozen foods at reasonable prices, including Stouffer frozen entrees and quart containers of Haagen Dasz ice cream. If you need a restaurant, you can walk over to the Renaissance Hotel next door without having to go outside.

Sound insulation is extremely good. You can see airplanes taking off and landing, but you don't hear a thing.

The hotel offers a free service to the airport every twenty minutes (shared with 5 other Mariott properties in Crystal City).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a very new, very nice hotel in Arlington. The room was nicely arranged, with the one exception that the air conditioning register discharged directly toward the bed. I prefer to run the A/C at night, but the cold air blowing on my face was not comfortable. I put a bath towel over the vent. The bath area was very large with separate shower/toilette and sink areas. A small safe was in the closet. The room had HDTV with a good selection of channels. I love breakfast, and the breakfast bar was excellent, with hot items (eggs, sausage, etc), oatmeal, bagels, juices, yogurt, waffle maker, etc.
The hotel is about one mile from the Crystal City metro. The hotel has a free shuttle that circulates about three times per hour. I used it once about midday and it was fine. I don't know how busy it is early in the day. Waiting for the shuttle after a long day at work is not my idea of fun, and it makes you want to find a cab (the cab cost $7 for 2 people to get back to the hotel).
I don't think you will regret the time you spend at this hotel. If the metro location is not a problem for you and you get a good room rate, I think you will like this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is brand new and in great shape. The location is convenient to the metro to get downtown and next to the airport. Good for families or business travelers. No complaints.

Room Tip: Both sides are of the hotel are OK, but perhaps the view of Washington National is a little more int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My family and I spent two nights at this property. It is within view of DCA Ronald Reagan airport and has a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport.
My room was clean spacious and very comfortable. The hotel offers a hot breakfast in the AM however the one drawback from a 5 star rating is that the breakfast is over at 9 AM Mon-Fri and it is done at 9:30 AM on weekends. The food was great tasting and had a nice presentation to the eggs etc... nothing looked old.
The winning amenity at this property is the complimentary shuttle to the Crystal City Subway station. It runs every 20 minutes and will drop you off at a restraunt area or the subway. Once by the subway you are 5 minutes to Arlington Cemetary or 5 minutes to Old Town Alexandria which has a awesome selection of restraunts and nightlife.

Room Tip: I had a corner suite and you could hear some traffic noise.. I recommend a room closer to the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Brand new Residence Inn just opened in March. We had a studio and it felt large enough for us with 2 kids. The staff were excellent and always willing to assist. They offer free shuttle to Reagan airport and to the Metro station. Located in a very safe and nice area and if you'd like to have a drink or a bite you can go down to the Renaissance next door. I highly recommend this place if you are visiting DC for a weekend or a long term stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I always preface my posts noting that I'm not only a travel agent but somewhat of a hotel snob. I've stayed at a lot of hotels, sans children and without. This trip is part pleasure, part business and I'm staying at both Crystal City Embassy Suites and Res Inn Capital View.

The Res Inn is PHENOMENAL. The rooms are large, airy, bright and pretty much new. They are literally apartments. Staff was nice and courteous. It is connected to a Renaissance in the farther reaches of Crystal City. Don't let the location deter you from staying here. They have a continuous loop of pick-up/drop-off at the Crystal City Metro stop. The only downsides I'd like to note, the Renaissance and Res Inn share a small pool which is always filled with children. This is great if you have kids that want others to play with but not for lap swimming or relaxation. There is no hot tub, which is critical to soaking your tired feet after a long day of site-seeing in the cold weather. Also, their breakfast, which is included, shuts down PROMPTLY at 930am, even on the weekends.

Other than the few items above, this place ROCKS! There's a Harris Teeter super market about 3-4 blocks walking distance which is a dream if you need groceries or ready to eat items. I'd stay here again when traveling with family to the DC area. The weekend prices are just below $100 per night.

Room Tip: If you miss the breakfast buffet at the Res Inn, just go to the Renaissance. Their buffet is even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Capital View

Address: 2850 South Potomac Ave, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Capital View 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.