We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kill all the actors Shakespeare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mystery Dinner Theater Murder Las Vegas Style

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mystery Dinner Theater Murder Las Vegas Style
1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Sheraton Hotel, Arlington, VA 22202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 36 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Dinner Theaters
Attraction Details
Sacramento Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kill all the actors Shakespeare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been to a lot of murder mystery dinner theatres with my wife. This was by far the worst one. timing was off in the comedy. Actors kept steping on each others lines. The play writer could not make up their mind whether or not this was a comedy, mystery or whatever. It finally turned out to be high camp and I do not like spending money for high camp. I have seen better DONT GO EVEN IF GIVEN TICKETS LIKE THE COUPLE SITTING NEXT TO US.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fun night out, if you don't take it too seriously”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We got tickets through Groupon. Unlike some other reviews, we found the food tasty. I had the sole, which was tender without being mushy and my husband had the steak. Yes, you can't specify the doneness, which is a drawback, but the medium wasn't bad, even for someone who likes medium-rare.

Yes, the production is lower than Broadway level. But, you're not on Broadway. You are paying a for the show and the meal half of what you would pay for just the show in NYC, and you would be further from the action. The play takes places all around the dining area. You can interact with the characters as they change courses, asking questions to try to figure out more information.

If you are uptight about it being a perfect production, you won't enjoy yourself. But, if you relax, don't take it too seriously, and just want to have a fun night out, go for it. We had a great time, laughed a lot, and will go back.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The mystery was why our tickets would not let us in!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We bought 4 online tickets to the mystery dinner theater via Alcatraz Media on August 10th for a August 27th show. When we brought our tickets to the theater entrance we were informed that the dinner show had already been booked for a private company dinner and we were out of luck! No one cared that we paid a big price for tickets to the program, stayed in Crystal City several hours waiting for the show and then were turned away. In an awkward situation, the private party offered for us to stay with their group dinner. Terry [--] - an actor for the theater was in charge of the dinner theater that evening and he was EXTREMELY rude to us, stating we should be grateful to the private party to get the offer to stay even though we PAID for tickets!! The theater did nothing to make us feel welcome, the dinner food was overcooked and cheap, the performance was very cheesy and I think a group of teens from the local high school could do much better. Save your MONEY, your TIME and your SANITY. DON'T GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Beware of this SCAM of a theater company!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsi, Owner at Mystery Dinner Theater Murder Las Vegas Style, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Alcatraz Media is a travel company that sells our dinner shows through their website. They are the ones that should be getting the bad review because they are the ones who made the error in the first place. We communicated to Alcatraz to not sell tickets for that evening because we had sold it to a private group, but they screwed up and sold tickets to this woman w/out our knowledge.

We absolutely DO CARE about our customers, and we contacted her after the fact to resolve her issues. We were very apologetic, and we told her she had to go through Alcatraz to get a refund because that's who she paid to begin with, and we couldn't process the refund ourselves. She acted very nice and understanding on the phone, so the review is a shock to us.

Terry, the actor, was NOT in charge that evening and he was NOT rude to this woman. Our production manager, Tracey worked with the private party and arranged to let this woman's party stay. We gave the private party 4 free tickets because of their understanding and generosity toward this woman and her party.

You can contact Stan at srarick@scitor.com and ask him about this. He was the leader for the private party that night, and his group had a GREAT TIME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good Show - Shame about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This was a well done entertaining show, my only complaint was the food is pre cooked as I couldn't get a well done steak, you just had to take it the way it was served, by the cast I might add.

Despite me being unable to eat a not very well done steak, and having to go to the hotel bar and order a well done burger, there wasn't even the offer of a drink as compensation

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gosh Darn Awful!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

OMG, could this play get any worse than what it was? Cheap costumes and terrible acting. The only reason my family did not leave- we had not eaten and we were famished. The dinner was the only redeeming quality. NEVER AGAIN!!!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystery Dinner Theater Murder Las Vegas Style also viewed

 

Been to Mystery Dinner Theater Murder Las Vegas Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystery Dinner Theater Murder Las Vegas Style, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.