We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Assorti - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Assorti
1800 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-6601
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Russian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Located at even distances from Courthouse and Rosslyn Metro Stations. Closest metro stations: Courthouse Metro Station if traveling on Orange Line from Vienna or Rosslyn Metro Station if traveling on Blue/Orange Lines from Washington D.C. or Blue Line from Franconia-Springfield.
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had great service and a great meal at Cafe Assorti. The portion size was adequate and the food was very flavorful. We would definitely stop by and eat here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Spaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“We love Assorti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My group of 10-12 temporary, professional, DC residents have been to Assorti five times, and we have always had a great time. It is basically for the atmosphere and absolutely superb service. The place is large spacious and bright, so that they can set up a table for 10-12 with no problem, which itself is rare. Because of the openness conversation is easy without a high background noise. The food is, I have to say, so-so, but the small Russian pies are good, and the desert cakes and pies amazing, all very reasonably priced. Where they really score, in addition to the accommodation, is they offer a fight of seven wines for an amazing $15; and this is not just a drizzle in the bottom of the glass, but what other restaurants would call seven full glasses, such that often we have to tell them to hold it! The wines are variable, often including those of California, Virginia, Argentina etc, but most are very enjoyable. When you have the whole table happily eating, with a free flow of wine you get a party atmosphere and we often stay for 3-4 hours. Next, the service is the best ever. Ashlyn or Zach have a happy demeanor, ably kept track of twice the typical number of tables for a waiter, got to know us all, kept track of which wine we were on, in addition to the food, and after it all managed to present each person with a correct individual check without being asked. Now that's service! Our group decided that it was our favorite DC haunt and kept voting to return! We will miss Assorti gatherings when we all depart DC. (P.S. They also serve diet coke etc if wine isn't your thing!)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank Gibberellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We tried Café Assorti and were disappointed both with their service and portions. There were not a lot of people in the restaurant and they had adequate wait staff, but their service was not good. We ordered the borsch soup which was alright and the 15 small vareniki. They were good but very small. As the server did not come around for sometime, we passed on desert. Prices were ok, but considering our experience we will not return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank alwaysfun2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Quite a wait with fruitflies flying around you and then into your food, which was very average anyway (the salad was good but the fish way too dry). Not the best experience in the area. They have a "kids" menu but no chocolate milk. The closest they have is a $7 milk shake - quite a rip-off. Luckily, the (friendly) waiter forgot about it and we went across for some frozen yogurt to console ourselves...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Thank nicothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Eastern European”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The food was good, but overpriced for what you get. I had the stuffed cabbage rolls (2 medium sized) and my wife had small meat dumplings (15) covered with cream sauce. While the food was good quality, both seemed to need more seasoning and neither one came with any type of vegetable or side dish making the portion very small for a plate over $15.

They have a large selection of desserts and pastries on display. We tried the honey cake which was a bit on the bland side - not bad, but nothing special.

The food was okay, but there are so many good restaurants in this area that I probably won't return to Cafe Assorti next time I'm in Arlington on business.

Visited June 2012
Thank JCseminole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Assorti also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing