We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Union Restaurant

La Union Restaurant
5517 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205-1119
703-522-0134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran
Restaurant details
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good spot for Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I never would have found this place were it not for previous TA reviews, and I'm glad I looked. Not really near anything in Arlington, but not too hard to get to if you have a car. The service was very good, the food was wonderful (enchilada trio and beef nachos), and the atmosphere was appropriately casual. Dinner for 2 was less than $20 (no alcohol), which is hard to beat. An excellent choice if you want casual Mexican food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    16
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

La Union is one of my favorite restaurants. The staff is always very friendly as they welcome you into the restaurant and take close care of you until you leave. The pork and cheese papusas are my favorite and I really enjoy the enchiladas too. During my last visit, I tried the sour cream chicken enchiladas for the first time and they were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Pupusas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I ordered two kinds of pupusa, a taco plate, and a Pilesner and couldn't finish. They don't do things small at La Union, and the service is amazing; casual but attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went to lunch at La Union with four co-workers. We had a fantastic lunch, it was enjoyed by all and rated highly by all. The menu was comprehensive; and the food was very good with generous portions. Most entrees in the $9-$12 range. The staff are fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat La Union for Mexican and Salvadorean within the city of Arlington. There are several places around, but nothing else even comes close. Nothing fancy here, but the staff is very friendly and accommodating, the food is fresh, authentic, and delicious, and it's inexpensive (by DC standards). Great service, highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Union Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.