We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Union Restaurant

La Union Restaurant
5517 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205-1119
703-522-0134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran
Restaurant details
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

La Union is one of my favorite restaurants. The staff is always very friendly as they welcome you into the restaurant and take close care of you until you leave. The pork and cheese papusas are my favorite and I really enjoy the enchiladas too. During my last visit, I tried the sour cream chicken enchiladas for the first time and they were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    16
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Pupusas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I ordered two kinds of pupusa, a taco plate, and a Pilesner and couldn't finish. They don't do things small at La Union, and the service is amazing; casual but attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went to lunch at La Union with four co-workers. We had a fantastic lunch, it was enjoyed by all and rated highly by all. The menu was comprehensive; and the food was very good with generous portions. Most entrees in the $9-$12 range. The staff are fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat La Union for Mexican and Salvadorean within the city of Arlington. There are several places around, but nothing else even comes close. Nothing fancy here, but the staff is very friendly and accommodating, the food is fresh, authentic, and delicious, and it's inexpensive (by DC standards). Great service, highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In an area with lots of first and second generation Latino immigrants, you've got to be good to survive and La Union is better than good. I had one of the house specialties, El Tipico, and my wife had the chicken enchiladas. Both were excellent. And I recommend the Pilsener, a Salvadoran lager. Service on a busy Saturday evening could not have been more attentive. We will be back - often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Union Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.