We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Union Restaurant

La Union Restaurant
5517 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205-1119
703-522-0134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 700 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran
Restaurant details
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In an area with lots of first and second generation Latino immigrants, you've got to be good to survive and La Union is better than good. I had one of the house specialties, El Tipico, and my wife had the chicken enchiladas. Both were excellent. And I recommend the Pilsener, a Salvadoran lager. Service on a busy Saturday evening could not have been more attentive. We will be back - often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great El Savadorian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Chose this on Tripadvisor, and weren't disappointed. A simple family/local cafe feel. Friendly helpful service, great selection. Food tasted great - definitely a keeper!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh and good Salvadoran/Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came to La Union for a weekday lunch, around 1:00 p.m. Simple but pleasant decor, soccer game playing (softly) on two TVs in the corners, very clean. There were some tables occupied, but it wasn't crowded; it was definitely quiet enough to hold a conversation, which I appreciated! We were greeted immediately by Joey, who smiled and made us welcome, and promptly brought us menus and water. We shared an ample "California burrito" plate which had two burritos, plus guacamole to go with the free chips (fresh, thin, crunchy!) and salsa. I also added a cheese and bean pupusa, which was served with a simple slaw with hot sauce splashed on it--delectable, perfect. We truly enjoyed the food, which was well-balanced, not too much nor too little, nor drowned in cheese/sauce. We'll come back for sure. I recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Freindly and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's not fancy but the food is very good and the service friendly and efficient. A popular spot with locals and visitors are make to feel welcome. Definitely worth a try for a quick lunch or diner and beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service in a casual family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We picked La Union based upon Trip Advisor reviews, and we were very glad that we did. It is a small, family place that is very relaxed. Our party of five was seated quickly and our server was friendly, courteous and very funny. Our party ordered a wide variety from beef tacos to the Chicken Piccata (which was excellent.) For those dishes that had rice we all noticed how it was light and fluffy. I enjoyed the Salvatorian beer. Several of us had the fried ice-cream for dessert, while two others shared the Flan (delicious). Overall a great value as well. Parking is a bit limited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Union Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.