We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great El Savadorian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Union Restaurant

La Union Restaurant
5517 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205-1119
703-522-0134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 655 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran, South American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Level Contributor
214 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great El Savadorian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Chose this on Tripadvisor, and weren't disappointed. A simple family/local cafe feel. Friendly helpful service, great selection. Food tasted great - definitely a keeper!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh and good Salvadoran/Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came to La Union for a weekday lunch, around 1:00 p.m. Simple but pleasant decor, soccer game playing (softly) on two TVs in the corners, very clean. There were some tables occupied, but it wasn't crowded; it was definitely quiet enough to hold a conversation, which I appreciated! We were greeted immediately by Joey, who smiled and made us welcome, and promptly brought us menus and water. We shared an ample "California burrito" plate which had two burritos, plus guacamole to go with the free chips (fresh, thin, crunchy!) and salsa. I also added a cheese and bean pupusa, which was served with a simple slaw with hot sauce splashed on it--delectable, perfect. We truly enjoyed the food, which was well-balanced, not too much nor too little, nor drowned in cheese/sauce. We'll come back for sure. I recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Freindly and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's not fancy but the food is very good and the service friendly and efficient. A popular spot with locals and visitors are make to feel welcome. Definitely worth a try for a quick lunch or diner and beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service in a casual family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We picked La Union based upon Trip Advisor reviews, and we were very glad that we did. It is a small, family place that is very relaxed. Our party of five was seated quickly and our server was friendly, courteous and very funny. Our party ordered a wide variety from beef tacos to the Chicken Piccata (which was excellent.) For those dishes that had rice we all noticed how it was light and fluffy. I enjoyed the Salvatorian beer. Several of us had the fried ice-cream for dessert, while two others shared the Flan (delicious). Overall a great value as well. Parking is a bit limited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We come here all teh time and really enjoy the simple fare. The Carne Asada is especially good- ask for it "Medium Rare" and it comes our perfect! Also great is the fried ice cream and fresh salsa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Union Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.