We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent service in a casual family atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Union Restaurant

La Union Restaurant
5517 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205-1119
703-522-0134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 700 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran
Restaurant details
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service in a casual family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We picked La Union based upon Trip Advisor reviews, and we were very glad that we did. It is a small, family place that is very relaxed. Our party of five was seated quickly and our server was friendly, courteous and very funny. Our party ordered a wide variety from beef tacos to the Chicken Piccata (which was excellent.) For those dishes that had rice we all noticed how it was light and fluffy. I enjoyed the Salvatorian beer. Several of us had the fried ice-cream for dessert, while two others shared the Flan (delicious). Overall a great value as well. Parking is a bit limited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We come here all teh time and really enjoy the simple fare. The Carne Asada is especially good- ask for it "Medium Rare" and it comes our perfect! Also great is the fried ice cream and fresh salsa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Good food, fast service, and accommodated 12 of us quickly. Not much parking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Locals who love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

I often use trip advisor when I am on the road traveling for work and when I look at a review I always kinda wonder who writes the reviews. Well in this case I'm a local who has been going to La Union with my wife for the past couple of years since moving into the neighborhood. We love it. Sure it may not look like much from the outside but the food is great and the family that runs it are the friendliest. If you happen to be in Arlington and are feeling Mexican, skip the chains and go here. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We've been going to La Union since it opened years ago and we do take-out all the time. Super- friendly service and tasty food. My 10 year old son loves the sweet corn tamales and I love the sour cream enchiladas. Excellent carne asada and shrimp dishes too. Have a Regia and the flan!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Union Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.