We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Great Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Union Restaurant

La Union Restaurant
5517 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205-1119
703-522-0134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 683 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran
Restaurant details
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We come here all teh time and really enjoy the simple fare. The Carne Asada is especially good- ask for it "Medium Rare" and it comes our perfect! Also great is the fried ice cream and fresh salsa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    16
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Good food, fast service, and accommodated 12 of us quickly. Not much parking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Locals who love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

I often use trip advisor when I am on the road traveling for work and when I look at a review I always kinda wonder who writes the reviews. Well in this case I'm a local who has been going to La Union with my wife for the past couple of years since moving into the neighborhood. We love it. Sure it may not look like much from the outside but the food is great and the family that runs it are the friendliest. If you happen to be in Arlington and are feeling Mexican, skip the chains and go here. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We've been going to La Union since it opened years ago and we do take-out all the time. Super- friendly service and tasty food. My 10 year old son loves the sweet corn tamales and I love the sour cream enchiladas. Excellent carne asada and shrimp dishes too. Have a Regia and the flan!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent and Atypical Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We selected this restaurant based on family feedback, and the fact that they offer Central American food as opposed to Mexican fare. What a find!

Typical neighborhood restaurant, meaning that there is no pretense or "ambiance" to judge. None. But if you are looking for Central American food, this is the place. In La Union's case that means from El Salvador; and it matched what I expected in terms of choices.

Had a couple of tamales, which were as delicious as the Christmas tamales that little old ladies give you during the holidays in Central America (in my case that means Costa Rica). I am a snob about these, and very rarely order them in restaurants for that reason.

We never got to the Bistec main menu offering, because a light dinner and El Salvadoran beer on a Friday eve were all we had time for prior to a concert that we were headed to. Our waiter was none other than the owner, and he was as engaging as he was genuine. Our conversation with him darted in and out of both languages, and so often happens: it all depends on the topic.

Looking for Mexican? No idea, because we didn't try any. You can eat Mexican anywhere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Union Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.