We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Union Restaurant

La Union Restaurant
5517 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205-1119
703-522-0134
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 755 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican, Salvadoran, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We've been going to La Union since it opened years ago and we do take-out all the time. Super- friendly service and tasty food. My 10 year old son loves the sweet corn tamales and I love the sour cream enchiladas. Excellent carne asada and shrimp dishes too. Have a Regia and the flan!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KDUNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent and Atypical Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We selected this restaurant based on family feedback, and the fact that they offer Central American food as opposed to Mexican fare. What a find!

Typical neighborhood restaurant, meaning that there is no pretense or "ambiance" to judge. None. But if you are looking for Central American food, this is the place. In La Union's case that means from El Salvador; and it matched what I expected in terms of choices.

Had a couple of tamales, which were as delicious as the Christmas tamales that little old ladies give you during the holidays in Central America (in my case that means Costa Rica). I am a snob about these, and very rarely order them in restaurants for that reason.

We never got to the Bistec main menu offering, because a light dinner and El Salvadoran beer on a Friday eve were all we had time for prior to a concert that we were headed to. Our waiter was none other than the owner, and he was as engaging as he was genuine. Our conversation with him darted in and out of both languages, and so often happens: it all depends on the topic.

Looking for Mexican? No idea, because we didn't try any. You can eat Mexican anywhere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Love this place - get the enchiladas with creamy chicken - so delicious

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank byrumjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service and Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

From the outside you might not expect this neighborhood gem to be anything but average or ok, but this little place will exceed your expectations! La Union is a fantastic place to get fresh Salvadorian food. Not only does the food taste GREAT but it doesn't hurt the wallet. Get a pupusa to start with. Then order either El Tipico or Carne Asada. I'm not a big meat eater myself but this is worth the bite. Although I have never had the Mexican food I wouldn't order it. You can have Mexican anywhere - go for the good stuff....Salvadorian food!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LFJFTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Our favorite neighborhood joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stumbled upon this place a while back and have been coming back ever since. Great food, authentic, family owened and friendly service.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guate_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Union Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing