We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms with great facilities; safe and convenient location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms with great facilities; safe and convenient location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Marriott Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse was a beautiful apartment hotel. However, I would have enjoyed the room far more if we had been able to get it below 74 degrees F (23degC) - far too warm for sleeping. The thermostat was supposedly set to 65, but unless someone was in the room and moving around, it did not cool at all. So during the night it always heated to 74, and while we were out of the room it always heated to 74. It was hard to get any real sleep having to sleep on top of the bed with nothing covering us!

The staff were lovely and most were quick to offer information about the area, although the knowledge of local restaurants was a little lacking, as was knowledge of public transport options. They also loaned us an umbrella when the weather too an unexpected turn for heavy rain and we were unprepared!

We did not take advantage of the full kitchen in our apartment, but it was reasonably well supplied, and the hotel will do any grocery shopping you might require and deliver it to your room, free of additional charge (other than the cost of the groceries). There is also a Whole Foods within easy walking distance. However a word of warning; if you decide to turn on the icemaker in the freezer, be prepared. It is very loud when it turns out the ice into the container below, and if if does this at three am, it scares the socks off you!

The Guest Laundry was a godsend, at only $1.00 per wash and $1.00 per dry cycle, with powder or dryer sheets also $1.00 each. So few hotels we stayed at on this trip (this one was #4 of 7) had a laundry, let alone a cheap, clean, accessible one :)

Wireless (and wired, for those who need it) was free throughout the hotel, and only required login details (issued at check-in) to access. Ultra high speed and very reliable, this was the best internet access we had on our entire trip.

Seriously though, this is a lovely apartment hotel, with a very quick and easy run on the Metro Orange line into Washington DC, with a quick change to the Blue line for the Pentagon, really close to Regan International Airport (DCA) with cheap shuttles from the airport right to the hotel. I would recommend it to anyone who wanted to see the Capital without paying Washington DC hotel prices, and anyone who wanted a home away from home experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    93
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
119
64
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I stay at Residence Inns.....it is my preferred hotel brand. I have to travel to DC quite a bit and until recently, my choice location was the Residence Inn at Bethesda. I had to travel to DC and the Bethesda location didn't honor the government rate and this was the only RI that did.

The hotel looked new. Everything was in perfect working order and I arrived at 5PM and was told that there would be supper served at 6PM. Now it wasn't a ten course meal....but it was BBQ beef sandwiches, BBQ beans, and salad. Not the best I have ever had....but it was very good and free. The next night was spaghetti and meat balls and it was about the same quality. Very satisfying.

The hotel is about a block and half from the metro subway entrance. It at the Arlington Courthouse on the metro's orange line.

I don't know why I have never stayed here before, but I am making this location my number one DC hotel now.

Great location....great service.....wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed at the Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse last week. This hotel is new and extremely nice; the excellent reviews made me choose it for our trip, and I wasn't disappointed. We were there for 5 nights and the hotel served our needs nicely.

We stayed in a king suite that had a kitchen; it was quite convenient to have the large refrigerator and dishwasher available along with the dinnerware and glasses. The suite had a comfy separate living area with a flat panel TV. The bedroom was roomy and nicely decorated; it had another flat panel TV. I noticed that the bed area was arranged in a great way - the lamps were mounted on the headboard along with a convenient on/off switch, and there were some electrical outlets located next to those lamps for handy cell phone/laptop charging during the night. The bed was extremely comfortable and had nice linens. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. The granite counter tops in the bath and kitchen were nice touches. The high-speed wireless Internet worked well, and there was a business area downstairs with computers and a printer.

The heat/air system was a bit strange - there wasn't a switch to choose which you wanted; we had to set the temp and then the system would put out heat if we wanted it warmer or air if we wanted it cooler. Parking was pricey at $14/night, but it was underground in a garage that could only be accessed by guests, so the vehicle was secure.

The breakfasts were good. I like a hot breakfast during cooler weather and this place fit the bill; they had scrambled eggs available every morning along with potatoes and sometimes bacon and ham, plus they had hot steel-cut oatmeal from a slow cooker. They also had the usual cold cereals, pastries, toast, and waffle makers. We also liked the evening dinners that they had Mon. - Wed. nights. They had Mexican one night, rice and stew beef another night, and then on the last night hot dogs and fries, in addition to desserts, breads, and other veggies. One night they had a salad bar, too.

The front desk staff was very friendly and always available if needed. The first night we were there, I had to call the front desk about the in-room safe not working correctly, and they sent up a maintenance man right away who had it fixed in just a few minutes. Another time I asked a few questions to another staff member, and he was extremely helpful.

The hotel is close to the subway system; it's about 2 blocks from the hotel to a Metro elevator right on the street. The hotel is also close to numerous shops and restaurants in addition to a movie theatre. It was a good place to stay to explore Washington DC.

Overall this was a great place to stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We got a small suite room. It was nice having a separate bed room from the living area. Parking is under the building. The DC metro is a short walk down the street. There is also a movie theater nearby and several food choices. The hotel is clean and the front desk is friendly. Get down to breakfast early to get a seat. Staff in the breakfast area was slow to maintain the coffee pots. And the soft drink fountain is turned off in the mornings for some reason. Our room was missing a cork screw and it took the desk a while to find one for us. We try to stay in Arlington whenever we visit DC. It is less expensive and a little quieter.this hotel will fit your needs just fine

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. We were pleasantly surprised about the free supper that was served. The breakfast was very good. It would be nice if they offered 2 beds in a room without having to select a 2 bedroom suite.
Very nice well run hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed for a week from 2 October to 9 October, 2010. We had a 2 room suite which was great for the six of us (2 grandparents, 2 parents and 2 kids). Our room was always very clean and we had plenty of clean fresh towels during our stay. We traveled by Metro through out our stay and used the elevator to the metro stop that was just around the corner from our hotel--very convenient. We found the beds very comfortable and the hotel very quiet after our long days of sight-seeing in D.C. We used the pool one night and it was fine, even though very small. The shopping area just down the road (Whole Foods, Pottery Barn, Crate and Barrel) was very useful while the restaurants in the area (Fireworks Pizza, Harry's Tap Room, Cheesecake Factory) provided a good variety within easy walking distance.
The complimentary breakfast was a little better than average and we took advantage of the convenience almost everyday. The Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evening offerings were just okay, however one night they had a very nice salad bar which we enjoyed. We would definitely stay in this hotel again because it was comfortable and provided a great space for our extended family to spread out a little.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed a week at the Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse. 2 bedroom/2 bath suite. Family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids age 5 & 8
What I liked:
Short walk to the Metro Station - did not rent a car. Took a taxi to the airport.
Close to Whole Foods Market
Clean - Housecleaning service was good.
Quiet
Breakfast time was very busy. As were the evenings when they served dinner. Food was OK. Due to dietary restrictions we cooked quite a bit.

What I didn't like:
Thermostat decided whether to turn the heat/air on depending on the temp you set. Hallways were very cold. Waste of electricity to keep it at that temp.
Pool area very small with limited hours. It's indoor and could use better ventilation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#16 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Rosslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
0.7 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#15 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arlington Court Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.