We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, quiet neighborhood, close to Metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent service, quiet neighborhood, close to Metro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I added an extra day onto my business trip to the east coast to do some site seeing. Since a friend worked relatively close to this hotel, I redeemed some Marriott Rewards miles to stay here.

It's nice and roomy. Compared to the Rockville Hilton I stayed at earlier in the week, the room's layout is much more functional. It is essentially an efficiency apartment. Internet access worked great (and was free!), air conditioning was awesome, and the bed was comfy.

The hotel is about one block from the Courthouse Metro stop (Orange line) into DC. Two blocks away is a fantastic coffee shop with an interesting historical angle. Other local shops abound.

Front-desk staff were super friendly. The mini-business center was exactly what I needed to print out my boarding passes and geocaching itineraries.

Breakfast was clearly popular with the guests. As there were a lot of kids (and chaos) milling around, I was happy to find outdoor seating.

I really liked it and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    87
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
110
61
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel was new, clean, spacious, and it a great location for our trip to DC. Quiet neighorhood, with restaurants, grocery and even a movie theatre within a few blocks. Two bedroom suite, has two completely separate bedrooms with doors and their own bathrooms, in addition to a living room and full kitchen, and has flat screen TV's in both bedrooms as well as the living room. We booked a two room suite the first night, and they did not have one available upon checkin, they were apologetic, and gave us two one room suites instead- which was fine, then moved to a two room suite for the rest of our stay.
Pool was smallish, but has an attentive life gaurd who tests the water quality every half hour (I'm not kidding).
Breakfast was way above average for this type of hotel, and they have free dinner M-W nights, which was a nice money/time saver for our family. The full kitchen included a stove, oven, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, sink, dishes and utencils.
Metro station is just a half block away, which was great. The parking garage was a bit limited in size, but we parked when we got here and didn't use the car again until we checked out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The staff at the hotel we’re wonderful, from the time we checked in late at night until we checked out in the wee hours of the morning two weeks later. The Metro is one minute walk from the hotel, restaurants nearby, CVS, convenience store etc. all within easy walking distance. Breakfast was great and on Mon, Tue, Wed, free dinner. For business or pleasure I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

I stayed here April 1st and 2nd of 2010 to go to see the Cherry Blossoms. I waited to write this review to see if my feelings would change about this place - not that it is bad, just turned out not to be for me. The rooms are very nicely appointed and ours was meticulously clean. Our refrigerator did not work upon arrival, although it was repaired by 5pm, BUT the ice maker was never fixed so they gave us a cup of ice. Those days it approached 90 degrees, this being a Green Hotel, the A/C does not run when someone is not actively moving around the room - so it was hot in the room making sleeping very uncomfortable. The location is excellent - around the corner from the Metro. It is NOT smoker friendly but smokers can sit outside, in the 'courtyard' next to the breakfast area. Parking. Well there is parking attached to garage but it was tight. I got there early so I was able to get a bigger spot but by evening the garage was full and cars were parked in aisles, by the exits, etc. Pool. It is really small. During the week it is only open from 5pm to 10pm. The second night it was impossible to even know there was a pool with all the people crowded in to the area. Whirlpool is STRICTLY enforced at 10 minutes and you will be told to leave after that time. Breakfast was nice - a little better than most. Having now 2 grown children I cannot recommend this place for families. I would only return here if the price was really right.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

we arrived early to check in they gave the two of us an upgrade to a double suite which was great room and hotel very clean staff great liked the idea off your room key operating the lifts, 10 mins on the metro your inwashington walk to claredon great restaurants,
would highly recomend this hotel away from the hustle of washington.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The hotel is just across a courtyard from the Metro, only a few stops from the Mall. You couldn't ask for a better place from which to see the sights of DC. With so many great restaurants within walking distance we didn't take advantage of the full kitchen, but it was nice to have the fridge for leftovers and the microwave for popcorn. The sitting area and wifi made it feel like home. Oh, and the memory foam mattress was heavenly!

It wasn't cheap, but it was a heck of a lot better than the places across the river...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for 2nights for my transit. Just 2mins walk to the Metro station, Courthouse. The hotel is apartment style and it is very new. The hotel area is very nice and there is a small shopping center complex including "Whole Food" supermarket. Convenient for any sightseeing location at DC area. Easy access and only a few stops to West Fall Church by metro for Dulles airport shuttle bus.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Family Hotel in Arlington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.