We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Great location. Good option if visiting DC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
midwest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Great location. Good option if visiting DC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Here is our rundown of this wonderful hotel:

Room: We were updated to a 2 bedroom suite. Fantastic kitchen: fridge, microwave, oven, dishwasher and all utensils/dining needs provided. Comfortable beds (1 queen in 1 bedroom with own bathroom/closet and 1 king in other bedroom with own bathroom/closet). 2nd floor, room faced residential street, no noise. Pull out couch in living area, 4 person table and also desk area. This is a great option if you want some privacy and for families. Two couples could comfortably share this setup.

Location: Fantastic! Courthouse Metro stop right there (there are three entrances: main one near CVS approx 3 minute walk, an elevator in front of Wells Fargo approx 2 minute walk and an entrance right in front of AMC theaters in the courtyard behind hotel). The courtyard out the back entrance (other side of lobby) has several restaurants (Thai place was great!), a small market, AMC theaters, a couple stores in the courtyard. There are many wonderful restaurants within a 10 minute walk as well. Restaurant attached to this hotel and a nice sports bar about 50 yards away. Great steak house across street (Rays). Whole foods is three minute walk, Trader Joes is 7 minute walk. There are cabs that run up/down main street in case you decide you need a break from walking.

Staff: Helpful. Our room was not ready, manager brought us waters while we waited. One day our room was not serviced. Staff apologetic and brought amenities up to us through cleaning staff gone for day. Kept reminding us that they had cookies in the evening.

Breakfast: It was a nice touch. As everyone else stated, there is a good variety to start your day. You can take items to go in to go cases. There is more seating in the lobby area if it gets filled up.

Pool: Was decent sized and had about 10 people in it at time, didn't feel cramped. A deeper end 5 1/2' deep and shallow end with step entry. There is a lifeguard there, thought that may feel strange but it is a law here and he really lets everyone do their thing and is just there for safety. Hot tub was nice.

Etc: Laundry room was a nice touch if people want to do laundry. Small area in lobby for snacks to be purchased. Free green apples. Managers reception M-W in the evening.

This hotel is a great option for those wanting to visit DC but don't need to be right downtown. For us, it was nice to spend hours in dc but then to come back to this quiet hotel outside the city to relax. The Metro is wonderful: clean and easily accessable. The longest trip we ever took was 10 minute on metro to get to L'Enfant stop to go to one museum in DC. Take the orange line to DC (New Carrollton) and when coming home, take the Orange Line (Vienna) and get off at Courthouse station. Within 15 minutes of getting on the train,you will be back at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed comments about about your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. It's good to hear that the staff was helpful throughout your stay. We hope you will be our guest again on your next trip to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    72
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
54
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here while working in Arlington for a few days. The Hotel is in a nice neighborhood and close to the Courthouse Metro station. The rooms at this Residence Inn look brand new and have nice updated decor. The rooms were a god size for DC and were clean. i ran into housekeeping in the hall each morning and they were very friendly. The gym is tiny with only a few pieces of equipment; however, the hotel flyer in the gym offered reduced rates at local gyms if you want a full service gym. The indoor swimming pool is very small. The front desk clerk in the morning was unfriendly - she seemed put out that I asked for change for the taxi in the morning. Taxis are a bit difficult to come by outside the hotel. Overall, the hotel location and the rooms were good but the gym and front desk staff could be better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us a few weeks ago. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the suite. I can understand your frustration about getting a taxi in the area and would like to hear more about your experience at the front desk. Please feel free to contact me directly at 703-312-2104 to discuss your experience further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was my first time in this hotel, I usually book at another nearby location due to work. I was so glad to have booked at this property because it made my time in Arlington much more enjoyable!

The staff is fantastic, from maids, to front desk and everyone in between. The rooms look fantastic and you cannot beat the location. Everything you need is right there next to you, including the metro.

This hotel will even buy your groceries and deliver them to your room for free. Also when I received packages, I always found them waiting in my room. First class service.

Room Tip: I always prefer rooms in higher floors, avoids most of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments about your stay with us in June. We hope you will make our hotel your new home away from home when you travel to Arlington. We will look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

With the Metro stop a short, safe minute walk from the back door of the hotel, this is a GREAT place for young families visiting all that D.C. has to offer.

The indoor pool complete with lifeguard, daily FULL breakfast, patient staff, (passable gym) overlooking the pool, enclosed rear hard-top courtyard to release young "wiggles", quite nighttime atmosphere for sleeping children and suite set-up with a nearly full kitchen make this a perfect place for families with young children to settle each night. The reasonable price, gratis apples and cookies, and inclusive dinners three nights each week made it a source of savings as well. Trader Joe's and Whole Foods are both within short walking distance (1/2 mile?), as well as an array of restaurants and other places to dine or snack. The room was clean, although the carpets and cabinetry were looking a bit worn -- but not bad enough to take away from the many upsides of this hotel. On-site parking (beneath the hotel) at $15/day was a convenient value.

Room Tip: Our room, a one-bedroom suite, was extremely quite, despite proximity to the elevator. Ambient or ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed many of our amenities at the hotel and enjoyed the location as well. We hope you will come back and be our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks and was very pleased from day one until the very end. Front desk staff was very helpful, service minded and attentive, rooms were spacious and clean, with full sized fridge, stove and microwave. The bed was amazing as always. Breakfast was good, cookies and fruit at the front desk was a nice touch. Being young female and traveling alone - the location and safety was very important to me. And let me tell you - the location cannot be beaten! The hotel is located right next to metro (Orange line), restaurants, bars, movie theater and good shopping. Everything you might need is right there. The area itself is fantastic, safe, clean and lively. This will be the hotel of my choice for all D.C. trips from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments aboutr your stay last month. I'm glad you foudn the staff to be helpful and felt comfortable being our guest. We are very fortunate to be part of the Courhouse-Clarendon neighborhood with several dining and retail establishments witin walking distance. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night weekend stay at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse. Check-in personnel were friendly and efficient. Asked for and received a very quiet ninth floor room. Never heard hallway noise or neighbors. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Interact connectivity was easy and service fast. Housekeeping was done daily and supplies in room replenished as needed. Breakfast was excellent, with a good variety of both hot and cold items. Good coffee. Dining options are plentiful within walking distance. Metro is extremely close...steps from the hotel...with elevator service directly to underground if needed....as well as escalator. Parking cost at $15 per night is very reasonable for this area.
We have a son living in the area and visit regularly. We now have our "go to" hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us in June. We are fortunate to be within walking distance of many good restaurants. I'm glad you enjoyed being our guest and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a great hotel if you’re looking for something close to a Metro station. Stayed four nights with my 11 yr old son to see the museums, monuments, etc. The Courthouse station on the Orange metro line is a short walk, about quarter mile down the street. Our room was nice and quite spacious for a studio with a bed and a separate sofa bed. It also had a mini kitchen with a full fridge, microwave and cook top. Really nice neighborhood with a lot of trendy restaurants and shops. The only downside was the area wasn’t necessarily good for finding a restaurant suitable for a pre-teen. But with a Whole Foods store within walking distance, we bought some food and cooked in on the last two evenings. An excellent free breakfast buffet downstairs is included with lots of choices. Nice to have real plates and silverware rather than styrofoam. Very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay here again. Book the prepaid option on Marriott’s website for a discounted rate that’s quite reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.