We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay at Arlington VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Sudbury, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family stay at Arlington VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Court House location of the Residence Inn, we are a family of four and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, it was fantastic. The location is perfect for visiting the DC sights. Very close to the subway for trips to the zoo or the museums. The location allows you to stay at night away from the crowds yet still close. There is a great pizza place downstairs, walking distance to Cheesecake factory and more. The hotel is will maintained, we used the pool every night, although it is not open during the day which is too bad. The staff is very helpful but does not have insight into information regarding DC sights. We tried using the Old Town Trolley, not recommended because it only runs every 30 mins and sometimes the car is full and you can't get on, not great when you have hot and tired children with you. We will definitely stay again at this hotel on our next visit! Breakfast is included with your stay adding to the convenience.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites have separate bedrooms with their own bathrooms, nice kitchen plus small living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay in April. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, surrounding area and easy access to the metro. We hope to have your family as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    69
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
97
51
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great hotel. The staff is amazing, friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice, clean, includes a full kitchen (cookware, utensils, and plates). Free breakfast buffet in the morning which is very nice (waffle, cereal, yogurt, fruit, eggs, home fries, sausage, oatmeal). When our bathroom sink was clogged the problem was immediately fixed. Short walk from the courthouse metro (about a block from the elevator for the metro, and about 2 blocks from the actual entrance).
I will definitely stay here again when I visit the DC

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay and that you enjoyed your stay overall. I'm sorry to hear there was some difficulty with your bathroom sink, but glad to hear our engineering department was able to resolve the issue quickly. We hope to have you back as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Thoroughly professional staff, clean rooms and common areas. Short walk to the Courthouse Metro station (blue and orange lines) and right next door to an friendly upscale pizza restaurant (plenty of other items available) where I ate twice in one day.

Service was excellent. The staff went out of their way to get me into a room early, and they cheerfully stored my luggage after checkout.

I'd stay here again, especially if I needed kitchen facilities and extra space. I received a discount for paying in advance. I was also taking advantage of a Marriott offer of a free night for two separate stays. This made the nightly rate a little easier to take.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. The hotel is fortunate to just be steps away from the metro station and in a very walkable neighborhood. We are glad to hear that our team provided excellent service. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Residence Inn is new and the rooms are large and tastefully decorated. It is close to the Courthouse Metro station which makes it convenient to DC. The Fireworks restaurant is great for pizza or a sandwich. Other restaurants are only a few blocks away. The front desk staff is just too casual and not very friendly or responsive. You feel as though you are bothering them by checking in, checking out or asking a question.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. We have stayed there several times and all were good. The hotel is in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I can understand your frustration about your experience at the front desk. We would be happy to discuss this with you further. Please feel free to call me directly at 703-312-2104.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse in March 2013. We couldn't have been happier. The amenities were excellent- clean, well appointed, comfortable, modern, functional. There is a pool where my kids and husband had a lot of fun, as well as a fitness room which my husband used a couple of times. The beds were very comfortable- we all got a good night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent too- there was everything you could possibly want: eggs, sausages, house fries, various cereals, waffles, fruit, yogurt, juices, etc- a feast. The service at the front desk was exemplary too. They were even handing out freshly baked (and I mean still warm) oatmeal cookies to the kids in the afternoon. I have never been to a hotel where they did that. The hotel has its own garage- a big plus. Only caveat was you had to pay for it extra (I would have thought the garage fees would be included in the price of the room)- it was $15/day. The hotel itself was within short walking distance of a Metro stop and we were able to go to downtown DC in about 20 minutes (I think it is located 6-7 stops away from the Smithsonian museum stops). All in all, wonderful experience at the Residence Inn and would definitely come back again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope you will come and see us again soon. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had to find an extended stay hotel quickly when mold was found in our condo. This hotel had a good price for a weekend stay that was last minute. Everything here is nice and comfortable. The rooms were spacious with a queen bed and a pull out couch. The bathrooms are a bit small but the sink is outside so its ok. The kitchen has nice appliances and finishing and they provide you with almost everything you need. LOTS of places to eat within walking distance and the metro is less than a block away. No noise to speak of during the weekend and the hallways were also quiet. The pool was a nice size and nicely cared for. The breakfast bar in the morning is more than adequate but could use some more seating. I've also heard great things about their evening buffet but we did not experience it. One small complaint is the parking situation, no clear directions and when we did park in the hotel parking we were given a "warning" even though we were guests. The other side of the lot is free parking on the weekends though so go for that instead of the $15.00 a night at the hotel. I'd stay here again if needed!

Room Tip: Currently they are doing construction in the courtyard behind the hotel, we didn't hear any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments abour your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you were temorarily displaced from your condo, but glad we were able to accommodate you. Your frustration is understandable regarding the parking garage and we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you stay with us again undertand better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I have visited the D.C. area many times over the years, each time trying a new hotel, in both downtown D.C. and in surrounding areas. This is, hands down, our new favorite place to stay. The location is the closest I've ever stayed to a Metro station, just a short walk, maybe half a block, through a lovely plaza of new shops and restaurants. In fact, the hotel is in a fantastic location, surrounded by new dining establishments, some very highly rated. (See reviews for Ray's the Steaks and The Fire Works!) Our room was lovely, clean, and well equipped with a kitchen, dining table, work area, living area, sleeping area, dressing area and bathroom. The decor was tasteful and modern and the big screen TV an added bonus. Also, our bed was amazing. It felt like we were sleeping on a memory foam mattress. The morning breakfast buffet was a hot buffet every morning with scrambled eggs, well-seasoned potatoes, pancakes or french toast, and a breakfast meat of some kind, in addition to do-it-yourself belgian waffles with an array of toppings, and the usual yogurts, cereals, fruits, and assorted pastries. The dining room staff was helpful and friendly. In fact, everyone in the hotel went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. The Easter Bunny even made an appearance in the dining room for Easter morning breakfast. The price was more than reasonable for the area and the services. Check-in and check-out was easy and hassle-free with friendly, knowledgeable desk clerks. Great experience all around. The only thing the slightest bit inconvenient was the parking garage. It was very small for a hotel of that size and the spaces were cramped. However, once we found a spot and got parked, we didn't have to move our car the rest of our stay. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments about you stay. I'm so glad to hear you had a good experience with us over Easter weekend. We are lucky to have a good relationship with the Easter Bunny and that he is able to stop in every year on Easter morning. I'm glad to hear our team made your stay comfortable and pleasant. I'm not sure if you were able to try Ray's or Fireworks, but they do seem to be favorites of our guests and local residents as well. I hope we will see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#6 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.