We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at Residence Inn - Arlington Courthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay at Residence Inn - Arlington Courthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic new hotel in heart of Arlington, VA!!! Accomodations were top notch and staff was very friendly and always very helpful. Very good location with direct subway access to Washington DC Metro Area. Clean, new, safe, and only 100 yards from the Metro (subway) Station. Several shops, restaurants, and even a Starbucks all right there. FireWorks Pizza restaurant was outstanding. We went back three times during our 4 night stay!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in this hotel. It's brand new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and Fireworks as well! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    78
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
105
56
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here on a Friday night, with a senior room rate of $110 for a studio. This included the free buffet breakfast Saturday morning, which was okay, but nothing special. (Still, breakfast anywhere else would have been app. $25-30, so deducting that from the $110 yields an astonishing $80-85 for the night.)

Upon arrival, we each received a bottle of water and a bagged Otis Spunkmeyer cookie. I noticed a large bowl of apples for snacking in the lobby, and mused that I'd rarely seen such perks at far more expensive hotels. The young woman at the front desk was courteous and perky, and after dumping off our bags in our room I parked the car in the underground garage around the corner. The fee was supposed to be $14 for this, but it wasn't on my bill. (At checkout I mentioned this and I'm still not sure if I actually will be charged for it. Perhaps parking is free on weekends?)

When we returned to the room later we performed our semi-ritualistic "inspection." I noted that the room was really well thought-out. There were four chairs, a couch and two tables. Lots of lights and lamps. Plenty of space. A nice kitchenette with a large fridge. I could've lived there comfortably for weeks. The shower and toilet area had a door, separating it from the sink area. There was a blow dryer in a drawer, and an iron, two extra blankets, an extra pillow and an extra set of sheets in the closet. There was a mirror over the sink and a full-length one on the bathroom door. The shower head was high enough for a tall person. Electrical outlets near the bed were easily accessible. The TV was against a wall that wasn't adjacent to any other hotel rooms (so no noise from neighbors) and it was a nice-sized LCD with some extremely clear HD channels. A package of microwave popcorn was there for the popping. Of course there was a coffee maker. There were room-darkening curtains. The king-size bed was very comfortable. I heard no outside noise all night--not even the usual slamming doors (although this could have been due to not having any nearby neighbors). Everything was clean and seemed new--no wear or shabbiness anywhere.

I can't recall a hotel room where it was so obvious that the designer had such massive common sense and the ability to put himself in the guest's shoes. Because of this and the incredibly low price, the few minor quibbles we had are not worth mentioning.

Oh, there's a nearby train stop which takes you right into D.C., so if you're planning a trip there--short or long--forget about booking a place in the city. This hotel is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Note that the only "restaurant" is the morning breakfast buffet service. There are quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed all of the amenities offered in the hotel and found your suite to be comfortable. I would be interested in hearing what you could change about your breakfast experience and if you were looking for specific items we did not offer. Please feel free to contact me directly at (703) 312-2104. I will look forward to hearing from you and hope you will come be our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

For Europeans contemplating a holiday in Washington DC, this mainly self-catering hotel is definitely worth considering if you want to stay in an attractive area at a much lower cost than in fully serviced central hotel. What you won't get are fawning staff or overpriced cocktails but a very practical outfit. A three minute walk to Courthouse metro station, and then fifteen minutes by the Orange Line to DC Metro Center means you can get to all the tourist must-sees with little difficulty. Beware, however, that from about 9pm, the metro service interval for trains back out to Courthouse from the city becomes 20 minutes or more.
The cab from and to Dulles airport is $50 to $55 plus the inevitable gratuity.
While good breakfasts are provided by the hotel, it is feasible to use the adequate cooking facilties in your suite to cater for a family for other meals, though the limitations of a microwave, and just two cooker rings, mean gourmet meals are more of a challenge. Crockery, cutlery and three pans are provided. The Wholefoods supermarket ten minutes walk away is like an Aladdin's cave of attractive food, providing an amazing choice that is unusual in Europe: the ready chilled cooked dishes are easily heated in the hotel microwave. And if you don't want to cook at all, there is a plethora of nearby restaurants covering all types of ethnic food at competitive prices.
The exercise room is small but functional; the pool is open in the evenings and all day at weekends, with a lifeguard on duty. Strangely,this medium size and pleasant pool does not have a dedicated changing room, so you have to use a large accessible toilet/restroom next to it; nor does it have a shower. Also, the towels provided are much smaller than bath size (when told, the Management said they would do something about this).
The laundry facilities work well. Washing powder (laundry powder) for one wash can be bought at Reception for a dollar as can a fabric softening paper than you put in the dryer, but if you have your favorite powder, it could be worth bringing a couple of tablets in your suitcase. You will need $1.50 in 25 cent pieces for each of the washer and drier.
Employees are friendly on the whole, but don't expect much conversation with the Housekeeping staff unless you are a Spanish speaker.
The free Wifi works well, but depending on the devices you use, you may need to re-register each day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments about your day last week. We value your feedback. If you you have anything additional to share, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (703) 312-2104. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We knew we liked the location and wanted a bigger room since we would be staying for 2 weeks and this place was perfect. The service was great, especially by the housekeepers! It has a small pool, hot tub, gym, laundry, internet and free breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your recent extended stay with us and the service from our housekeeping team. I will definitely pass the comments along to them. We hope you will come back and see us again they next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This property is located just off the main drag in the Arlington Courthouse area, so it is handy not only to the DC metro, but also to restaurants and shops. Despite the busy area, the hotel must be well soundproofed because we didn't notice much noise. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the suite was spacious with all of the amenities needed for an extended stay. The internet service was good. The hot breakfast buffet looked pretty good but we almost missed it because they shut it down promptly at 9 am during the week. Just goes to show that we should have paid attention to the posting of hours -- this location is geared to business travelers at least during the week, and not to sleep-in tourist types! There was in-building parking available for a fee. Staff was pleasant and attentive. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to be within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. I'm glad you found the suite comfortable and spacious. We hope to see your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Quick check in, beautiful and clean room, comfy bed, roomy fridge.

My husband and I stayed in the master bedroom, the kids slept on the pull out in the other room. The internet was easy to use and fast!

Breakfast in the am was great. My kids enjoyed the waffles and goodies while I enjoyed some eggs, fruit, and an english muffin. All of the hotel employees were friendly and helpful.

Convenient to the metro and restaurants

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with your family. I'm glad we were able to provide some good breakfast options for everyone. I hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascagoula, Ms
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions while visiting our extended families. The rooms are very comfortable with full size frig (with icemaker) kitchenette and king size bed. Pets are welcome, though not mandatory. The staff is very friendly and courteous. Very convienient to many good eating establishments as well as numerous well stocked bars within easy walking distance. Sufficient breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking as the rates Sun-Thurs are $289 and Fri-Sat $189. If you try to book online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments about being a guest at the hotel multiple times. I'm glad your family enjoyed the amenities and service. We are lucky to be within walking distance of so may great restaurants and bars. We hope that you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Arlington
#6 Family Hotel in Arlington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.