We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“All you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

For Europeans contemplating a holiday in Washington DC, this mainly self-catering hotel is definitely worth considering if you want to stay in an attractive area at a much lower cost than in fully serviced central hotel. What you won't get are fawning staff or overpriced cocktails but a very practical outfit. A three minute walk to Courthouse metro station, and then fifteen minutes by the Orange Line to DC Metro Center means you can get to all the tourist must-sees with little difficulty. Beware, however, that from about 9pm, the metro service interval for trains back out to Courthouse from the city becomes 20 minutes or more.
The cab from and to Dulles airport is $50 to $55 plus the inevitable gratuity.
While good breakfasts are provided by the hotel, it is feasible to use the adequate cooking facilties in your suite to cater for a family for other meals, though the limitations of a microwave, and just two cooker rings, mean gourmet meals are more of a challenge. Crockery, cutlery and three pans are provided. The Wholefoods supermarket ten minutes walk away is like an Aladdin's cave of attractive food, providing an amazing choice that is unusual in Europe: the ready chilled cooked dishes are easily heated in the hotel microwave. And if you don't want to cook at all, there is a plethora of nearby restaurants covering all types of ethnic food at competitive prices.
The exercise room is small but functional; the pool is open in the evenings and all day at weekends, with a lifeguard on duty. Strangely,this medium size and pleasant pool does not have a dedicated changing room, so you have to use a large accessible toilet/restroom next to it; nor does it have a shower. Also, the towels provided are much smaller than bath size (when told, the Management said they would do something about this).
The laundry facilities work well. Washing powder (laundry powder) for one wash can be bought at Reception for a dollar as can a fabric softening paper than you put in the dryer, but if you have your favorite powder, it could be worth bringing a couple of tablets in your suitcase. You will need $1.50 in 25 cent pieces for each of the washer and drier.
Employees are friendly on the whole, but don't expect much conversation with the Housekeeping staff unless you are a Spanish speaker.
The free Wifi works well, but depending on the devices you use, you may need to re-register each day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments about your day last week. We value your feedback. If you you have anything additional to share, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (703) 312-2104. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    76
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
104
56
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We knew we liked the location and wanted a bigger room since we would be staying for 2 weeks and this place was perfect. The service was great, especially by the housekeepers! It has a small pool, hot tub, gym, laundry, internet and free breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your recent extended stay with us and the service from our housekeeping team. I will definitely pass the comments along to them. We hope you will come back and see us again they next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This property is located just off the main drag in the Arlington Courthouse area, so it is handy not only to the DC metro, but also to restaurants and shops. Despite the busy area, the hotel must be well soundproofed because we didn't notice much noise. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the suite was spacious with all of the amenities needed for an extended stay. The internet service was good. The hot breakfast buffet looked pretty good but we almost missed it because they shut it down promptly at 9 am during the week. Just goes to show that we should have paid attention to the posting of hours -- this location is geared to business travelers at least during the week, and not to sleep-in tourist types! There was in-building parking available for a fee. Staff was pleasant and attentive. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to be within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. I'm glad you found the suite comfortable and spacious. We hope to see your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Quick check in, beautiful and clean room, comfy bed, roomy fridge.

My husband and I stayed in the master bedroom, the kids slept on the pull out in the other room. The internet was easy to use and fast!

Breakfast in the am was great. My kids enjoyed the waffles and goodies while I enjoyed some eggs, fruit, and an english muffin. All of the hotel employees were friendly and helpful.

Convenient to the metro and restaurants

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with your family. I'm glad we were able to provide some good breakfast options for everyone. I hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascagoula, Ms
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions while visiting our extended families. The rooms are very comfortable with full size frig (with icemaker) kitchenette and king size bed. Pets are welcome, though not mandatory. The staff is very friendly and courteous. Very convienient to many good eating establishments as well as numerous well stocked bars within easy walking distance. Sufficient breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking as the rates Sun-Thurs are $289 and Fri-Sat $189. If you try to book online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments about being a guest at the hotel multiple times. I'm glad your family enjoyed the amenities and service. We are lucky to be within walking distance of so may great restaurants and bars. We hope that you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Business travel takes me to the DC area a few times a year, and the Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse has become my hotel of choice. The location is very convenient to both the Court House Metro (about a block away) and Clarendon (6-8 blocks away). Between is about every sort of restaurant one could ask for at about any price range.

The hotel is always clean and well kept. The staff has always been friendly and helpful to me. I've only eaten the breakfast a couple of times (I'm usually on my way to the office or meetings by then), but it was decent. The rooms are clean and have everything I need when I stay in the area.

Because it sits on the Orange Line Metro, the location is very convenient to DC and National Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your experience at the Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse. I'm glad to hear our location an neighborhood provides you with many dining options. We hope you will continue to be our guest when you are the area. I'm sorry you haven't been able to take advantage of breakfast all of the time. We would be more than happy to prepare you something to go if you let us know. Please feel free to contact me directly and let me know the next time you will be our guest. I can be reached at 703-312-2100 x 7104.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while in town for a wedding. We had reserved a two bedroom room and we were very impressed with the size, cleanliness, and amenities that came with our room. To add to that, the service and breakfast were excellent. The restaurant that's attached to the side is a great choice for dinner. The metro station and other stuff are very close by. If I was in the D.C./Arlington area again, this would be my #1 choice in hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay last weekend. I'm glad you enjoyed the two bedroom suite. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and service provided by the staff. Fireworks is a great choice for lunch or dinner as well. We hope you will come back and stay with us the next time visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
#5 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.