We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“All excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

For the cost of the hotel room and all of the amenities of a room with a kitchen, this was an excellent hotel across all categories. The desk staff was very helpful arranging free transportation to dinner at a good local tai place they recommended. The breakfast was good and the options were varied. In particular the coffee was very good and appreciated. The location with nearby shops, restaurants and metro cannot be beat. We will recommend to anyone who needs a place to stay near old town Arlington but wants a modern non boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay ealier this month. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to take advantage of one of the nearby restaurants. We are fortunate to have quite a few options in the neighborhood. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    69
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
51
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights, family of 3 kids, 2 adults, during the heat wave/4th of July. The hotel came through the heat wave great, except for one afternoon when the air in the lobby and elevators was weak. The room a/c always worked excellently.
The rooms are good-sized, not on the upper end of Res Inn scale, but not on the low end. The kitchen was well-designed, not huge, but very efficient and nicely done.
Bathrooms were good, especially the bathroom for the bedroom that had the king bed.
Staff -- friendly, helpful, well-informed about the area.
Location -- parking was secured but snug; can walk out back of lobby across a courtyard to access Metro; CVS and casual fare a block away; Whole Foods 2-3 blocks away, we drove, because that's life when it is a zillion degrees; seems perfectly safe, but use common sense on a weekend night or near the Metro entrance on Clarendon (which is different from the plaza entrance).
Beds were OK but not top of the Marriott line. Wi-fi was the weak link, so to speak. Erratic and frustrating (but free).
Food was quite good and nice selection. But when they say breakfast ends at 9, they mean 9, not 9:01. A couple of days, the hot food stayed out until it was gone, but most days it was like the Grinch rolled in at 9 (or 10) sharp, as bagels, oatmeal fixings, juice machines, etc., were turned off, rolled up, or otherwise collected. True, those are the hours, but I've never seen an RI where the boom is lowered EXACTLY at the appointed hour.
Easy Metro to DC. Doable but not a breeze walk from Iwo Jima after fireworks. Might consider Rosslyn if we did this again, because those hotels are very close to Iwo Jima, and Rosslyn is one stop closer to D.C. But I recommend Courthouse RI enthusiastically, and encourage them to upgrade their wifi.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay earlier this month. I can understand your frustration regarding breakfast hours. We do our best to accommodate any additional requests for guests arriving at the conclusion of breakfast. Additionally, I can understand your concern with wi-fi. We have scheduled to have some additional access points placed on each of the floors which should remedy any "weaker" spots in the hotel. Please feel free to contact us 703-312-2100 and ask to speak with our Front Office Manager or General Manager after selecting "0" from out automated system. We would love the opportunity to discuss your feedback futher and hope to have you and your family as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasnas City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a nice hotel. Nearby public transportation provides access to the DC area, and there were plenty of restaurants and services within walking distance. In addition to breakfast they also seemed to offer free dinner buffet for travelers, although I preferred to venture into the city for meals other than breakfast. I have high standards for cleanliness in hotels, and this hotel was clean enough that I was satisfied, with nice towels, and a nice flat screen TV in the room. Value was decent for a hotel in the DC area, and I chose this hotel due to it's location near the seminar I was attending.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us earlier this month. I'm glad to hear we could satisfy your needs and be close to the event you were attending. We hope to have you as our guest again when you are in Arlington again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here for a week for work. Every breakfast was hot and fresh. Every time the housekeeping staff cleaned my room it was immaculate! There is a system that doesn't turn the AC on until there is movement in the room, so the room was a little warm when I would get back but quickly cooled. There was a storm that rolled through the area and when everyone else was losing power the Residence Inn stayed lit, because they have a generator. I can't complain about one thing from my stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed on the sixth floor and it was nice. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay earlier this month. We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast and found our housekeeping team providing clean accommodations for you. I do understand your concern with our air conditioning system. You are correct. The temperature will change slightly due to lack of motion in the room. The system design helps the hotel reduce our carbon footprint. Luckily, the hotel did not lose power during the area outage. It was a rather chanellenging time for the area. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Ive stayed at several residence inn in the DC/metro area and this one is by far my favorite for several reasons.

First if you are here for business the metro stop is about a 5 minute walk (orange/blue line). Way convenient.
Second, the hotel is located in an area with possibly hundreds of restaurants, bars, a whole foods, dry cleaning, hair salon, Starbucks and a movie theater by the metro station. You can definitely live comfortably at this hotel for months given you have so many options for entertainment and food.

The hotel also serves dinner mon-Wednesday and it was pretty decent.

They have a small fitness room, but also offer the option of local gyms since there is one about 4 blocks from the hotel (hello, convenience!) along with about 4 yoga studios, etc.

This will be my hotel of preference when i go back to DC which is pretty regularly.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. I'm glad you found your stay enjoyable and convenient to metro and fitness options. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse is a great value for families traveling to DC on weekends. It is also a good choice for extended stay business Travelers. On weekends the rates drop to $150/room/night, and I have seen last minute deals of $100/night. The rate includes a wonderful breakfast buffet. The buffet has hot and cold items, and a make your own waffle station. The breakfast will send you off full for your day of sightseeing or business, and ready to skip lunch. You can eat inside or out on the patio. We enjoyed the patio.

Located a block from the Courthouse Metro stop, getting into DC is easy. The metro will also get you to Reagan National Airport or the Pentagon easily. A taxi to or for the airport is about $16 dollars (without tip). Our cab literally arrived at the front door just as we did after having the front desk call. We also noticed that cabs seemed to frequently drive by the front door looking for riders. Two stopped to see if we needed a ride within about 3 minutes that we were waiting for our son to pick us up. After that we decided we better wait inside.

The rooms are spacious with a king size bed, a living area with a sofa bed, a full kitchen a dining area and a work space. The closet and sink are outside the bathroom, allowing someone to shave or dress while someone else showers. The bath has a full bath/shower combination. The room has very homey details - art work, bowling pins and a metal car on a shelf, popcorn and coffee in the kitchen, a key hook and magazine rack that meet you at the door, and magnets holding the activities and facilities information on the refrigerator door. Just like at home.

The staff to a person was extremely friendly and professional. They seemed ready to make any wish happen. They had a list welcoming guests checking in by first name and first letter of the last name (all sorted by Marriott Rewards level). The rewards level aside, it was a welcoming touch. They also had free cookies on check-in.

The hotel has free WiFi throughout and free wired internet connections in the rooms as well. The business center computers and printer/copiers are also free.

The lobby is spacious, but cozy, attractively decorated and comfortable. It looks out on the patio and has a large flat-screen TV, a fireplace and another sitting area are on the back side of the chimney. The business center is tucked away in an area of the lobby.

The hotel has a pool, a workout room (with cardio machines and small free weights), and a washer/drier room with plenty of machines.

Security is excellent. To begin with, Courthouse is a very safe and pleasant neighborhood. You need your room card to access your floor by elevator, and at night a security guard is in the lobby.

We have stayed at this Residence Inn twice and love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, with my wife. Wonderful clean hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are very spacious. Hotel is well lit. Location cant be beat. Very close to metro and plenty of excellent choices for restaurants. About a mile walk to Rossyln. Hotel breakfast very good with plenty of choices. Also food provided in evening is very good. Certainly would stay again. Very short ride to National Airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Arlington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#6 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.