We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and Very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice and Very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here for a week for work. Every breakfast was hot and fresh. Every time the housekeeping staff cleaned my room it was immaculate! There is a system that doesn't turn the AC on until there is movement in the room, so the room was a little warm when I would get back but quickly cooled. There was a storm that rolled through the area and when everyone else was losing power the Residence Inn stayed lit, because they have a generator. I can't complain about one thing from my stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed on the sixth floor and it was nice. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay earlier this month. We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast and found our housekeeping team providing clean accommodations for you. I do understand your concern with our air conditioning system. You are correct. The temperature will change slightly due to lack of motion in the room. The system design helps the hotel reduce our carbon footprint. Luckily, the hotel did not lose power during the area outage. It was a rather chanellenging time for the area. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    77
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
104
56
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Ive stayed at several residence inn in the DC/metro area and this one is by far my favorite for several reasons.

First if you are here for business the metro stop is about a 5 minute walk (orange/blue line). Way convenient.
Second, the hotel is located in an area with possibly hundreds of restaurants, bars, a whole foods, dry cleaning, hair salon, Starbucks and a movie theater by the metro station. You can definitely live comfortably at this hotel for months given you have so many options for entertainment and food.

The hotel also serves dinner mon-Wednesday and it was pretty decent.

They have a small fitness room, but also offer the option of local gyms since there is one about 4 blocks from the hotel (hello, convenience!) along with about 4 yoga studios, etc.

This will be my hotel of preference when i go back to DC which is pretty regularly.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. I'm glad you found your stay enjoyable and convenient to metro and fitness options. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse is a great value for families traveling to DC on weekends. It is also a good choice for extended stay business Travelers. On weekends the rates drop to $150/room/night, and I have seen last minute deals of $100/night. The rate includes a wonderful breakfast buffet. The buffet has hot and cold items, and a make your own waffle station. The breakfast will send you off full for your day of sightseeing or business, and ready to skip lunch. You can eat inside or out on the patio. We enjoyed the patio.

Located a block from the Courthouse Metro stop, getting into DC is easy. The metro will also get you to Reagan National Airport or the Pentagon easily. A taxi to or for the airport is about $16 dollars (without tip). Our cab literally arrived at the front door just as we did after having the front desk call. We also noticed that cabs seemed to frequently drive by the front door looking for riders. Two stopped to see if we needed a ride within about 3 minutes that we were waiting for our son to pick us up. After that we decided we better wait inside.

The rooms are spacious with a king size bed, a living area with a sofa bed, a full kitchen a dining area and a work space. The closet and sink are outside the bathroom, allowing someone to shave or dress while someone else showers. The bath has a full bath/shower combination. The room has very homey details - art work, bowling pins and a metal car on a shelf, popcorn and coffee in the kitchen, a key hook and magazine rack that meet you at the door, and magnets holding the activities and facilities information on the refrigerator door. Just like at home.

The staff to a person was extremely friendly and professional. They seemed ready to make any wish happen. They had a list welcoming guests checking in by first name and first letter of the last name (all sorted by Marriott Rewards level). The rewards level aside, it was a welcoming touch. They also had free cookies on check-in.

The hotel has free WiFi throughout and free wired internet connections in the rooms as well. The business center computers and printer/copiers are also free.

The lobby is spacious, but cozy, attractively decorated and comfortable. It looks out on the patio and has a large flat-screen TV, a fireplace and another sitting area are on the back side of the chimney. The business center is tucked away in an area of the lobby.

The hotel has a pool, a workout room (with cardio machines and small free weights), and a washer/drier room with plenty of machines.

Security is excellent. To begin with, Courthouse is a very safe and pleasant neighborhood. You need your room card to access your floor by elevator, and at night a security guard is in the lobby.

We have stayed at this Residence Inn twice and love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, with my wife. Wonderful clean hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are very spacious. Hotel is well lit. Location cant be beat. Very close to metro and plenty of excellent choices for restaurants. About a mile walk to Rossyln. Hotel breakfast very good with plenty of choices. Also food provided in evening is very good. Certainly would stay again. Very short ride to National Airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 days with my spouse, the location was perfect and he choice of restaurants around the hotel was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms are typical residence Inn product but the service lacked some professionalism. My Internet in the room did not work and when asked about it at the front desk, their answer was simply " we have some problems with the Internet in all your section of he floor". Overall a very average stay!!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife, our two granddaughters, and I spent seven nights here while visiting D.C. The Courthouse Metro stop is conveniently located one block out the back door, no street crossings required. A Whole Foods Market is only four blocks away. Two Starbucks are within walking distance. There are several close restaurants.

The breakfast here is wonderful with a lot of variety. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The Metro stop is the Orange Line which goes to many stops used for touring DC. Changing lines is also easy. Our granddaughters enjoyed our daily "commute". With one line change, you are only 15 minutes from a huge mall, Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. No line change required for the Smithsonian (Smithsonian stop) or the Capitol (Capitol South) or the Pavilion at the Old Post Office (Federal Triangle stop) or the White House (Federal Triangle stop). We bought all of us the one week unlimited rides Metro ticket for $47 each. We didn't have to worry about distance traveled or traveling during rush hour.

We never used our car the entire time we stayed here.

The hotel serves complimentary evening meals on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday which were good. The parking is beneath the hotel on the same elevators used for your room. We all loved the place. There was a life guard at the pool, another nice feature.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse for two nights in June 2012.

The hotel is located in a lively part of Arlington, with plenty of choices for restaurants in the area. Parking is available at the hotel parking for a reasonable fee, but I was able to find parking overnight for free a few streets away.

The room was a large studio with king-size bed. Layout and decoration is very much the Residence Inn standard, with a large kitchen area, microwave, fridge and sitting area. Very comfortable.
The bed was soft and fresh and the bathroom adequate.

Overall, it is a very positive experience. Noise level was acceptable, and it actually came from nosy hotel guest.
If you have a car, I highly recommend staying there, as parking is expensive in Washington, D.C. if you do not, metro line is next door, although you might find similar priced hotels in D.C.

I will return there on my next trip to Washington D.C.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard to get away from the street noise on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Arlington
#6 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.