We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Woodbridge, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Prior to our visit, I read a negative review of the air conditioning system and called the hotel to check it out. Mr. Jeffrey Kimmey, the assistant manager, explained the sensor systems in the rooms and explained how to set it properly. The air conditioning system worked perfectly. The suite was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The entire staff was very friendly and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. I can understand your concern regarding the air condition system, especially since we are entering warmer months. I'm glad you were able to connect with Jeffrey, our Front Office Manager prior to your arrival and find out how to set the room temperature for your confort. In order to help the hotel reduce our carbon footprint, our in room energy systems are motion activiated. They can be a bit tricky to set if you don't understand the system. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back and see us again very soon. We enjoyed having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    67
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
91
50
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

The GM must be trained somewhere else, not holding Marriott standard.
- On duty manager plate: empty!!! Who cares?
- 4 out of 6 TV in fitness room either not working at all or not working properly, will upload photo to prove it.
- Everytime I report to front desk: "we will call engineer to fix it" - trusted them Everytime, and disappointed next time. For a bz traveler, this could be my only time to watch some news while workout. I am staying a whole week, will see anything happens?
- out of this wk, anyone see it fixed, post a line. So I can come back next trip.
- others still Marriotty.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I can understand your frustration regarding your stay. All of our staff cares a great deal about our guests and appreciate that you are willing to share your thoughts with us. I'm sorry you felt otherwise. Our manager on duty plates are on order and we found an interim solution until they arrive. I can also understand the need for business travelers to stay productive while on the road, by having access to news during their workout. After having our engineering team research the situation with the TVs, we discovered we actually needed to replace one TV and the cable for all of the TVs. These items were not able to be repaired and we have since ordered replacements. We would like the opportunity to speak to you further regarding your experience. Please feel free to contact the hotel at 703-312-2100, select "0" and ask to speak with with our general manager, front office manager or director of marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Near Courthouse Metro stop (on orange line) and close to great restaurants and shops up and down Clarendon Ave. We toured all of DC and never needed a rental car. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to DC area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse. I'm sorry we were not able to accommodate your additional nights while you were as our guest.

I also wanted to clarify some information. The hotel does have a pet fee of $100 per stay. Additionally, our hotel offer discounts based on length of stay. I would like the opportunity to discuss our rates with you and answer any additional questions you have. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly at 703-312-2100 and select option 3 for sales department. You can ask to speak with the speak with the Director of Marketing.

We hope we will have the opportunity to host you and your pet again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in the DC area:

- accepts pets for $150 per stay
- near metro
- in the middle of many restaurants and cinemas
- fully equipped kitchen
- beautiful draperies
- free breakfast

It is a great choice for an extended stay. The only inconvenience is the price for a 1-bedroom suite ($370) which is quite pricy and there is no discount for long stays.

Because of their success I could not book this time because they were full 1 month in advance!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I live in Arlington and when I have a lot of family in town and cannot host everyone, I always send them here. The hotel is very clean and the staff has always been extremely friendly (even during busy peak times such as the Marine Corps marathon and Cherry Blossom festival). The rooms are spacious as it is a Residence Inn. You have a small kitchenette and sitting area in the standard rooms.

The location is superb! You are steps from the metro stop at Court House and there is a great restaurant Fireworks (pizza and pasta, great beer selection) in the same building (you need to exit the hotel to enter, but it is literally ten steps). Also, across the street there is a fantastic independently-owned Lebanese restaurant named Me Jana. The owner is often hosting and is so welcoming! The food is outstanding, but the Fattoush salad is a don't miss item. Both restaurants have great outdoor seating during warmer months (all high quality furniture so you have a good experience unlike other restaurant outdoor patios that seem like an after-thought).

The hotel location is great for tourists as the Smithsonian stop with access to the
National Mall is on the orange line and walking distance to Arlington Cemetery and the Iwo Jima Memorial. Plus, the neighborhood is very walkable and offers many dining options if you don't want to go into the district. Nearby neighborhood of Clarendon (an easy 5 minute,flat walk) has a lot of great dining options as well.

There is a parking garage and I know there is a fee, but I can't remember the price. It wasn't outrageous by any means, but you are in a major metro area so it's not a bargain either. Overall, the price and quality of this hotel cannot be beat in Arlington. Also, breakfast is included and there was lots of good choices (healthy ones too).

Room Tip: The staff was so helpful that I imagine that if you called or booked directly through them they woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We appreciate you allowing us to provide your family with a "home away from home" during their visits to Arlington. Our location is convenient to many restaurants. Both Fireworks and Me Jana are very popular with our guests and our staff.

Thank your comments regarding our staff. Our team will do our best to accommodate any special requests from our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your family back to the Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here last week with my family (2 adults, 3 kids) and my parents. We had a two bedroom suite. Everything about this stay was great. The hotel itself seems pretty new and the rooms were very modern and clean. (stainless appliances, granite counters etc...)

When we were reading the reviews, almost everyone had commented on how good the breakfast was and it didn't disappoint. Plenty of food, and it was good. If I had to complain at all, it would be lack of seating but even so, we always found a place to sit. We paid the $14/day for parking which isn't unreasonable but I was too lazy to figure out and park at the municipal parking lot next door over the weekend. There's so much nearby I can't even begin to list places. Having a Starbucks literally next door was nice.

We ate at the Fireworks place which is connected to the restaurant and the food was excellent, as with most of the other places in the area there was plenty of outdoor seating. We also ate at Arlington Rooftop Bar and Grill which is a block away and sat outside on the top floor which was really nice. Very reasonable lunch prices there.

The metro is literally a 5 minute walk through the courthouse courtyard there and you don't even have to cross the street or anything. It's 6 stops to Federal Triangle which drops you off right behind the History museum.

My wife and I plan on coming back by ourselves to hit all the museum stuff that we missed the first time and we plan on staying here again. I've stayed at RI before and this so far has been the nicest one. If you are going to DC for a few days with family you just can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel . I'm glad your family enjoyed their stay with us. We are fortunate enough to be within walking distance of many great restaurants. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Modern, burgandy RI furnishings/decor. Clean, comfortable suite with all amenities expected from upscale RI. (Hoped for smidge more space in 1-bdrm.)

Standard, good quality, RI breakfast in spacious gatehouse. Good evening meals (Mon., Tue., Wed.).  (Always hope for *additional* healthy options; variety appreciated especially for long stays/repeat visits.)

Library/computers (2)/ printer in comfortable seated area. Rows of washers/dryers in laundry room. Smallish exercise room with modern equipment.

Convenient underground self-parking ($14); equally convenient Metro (Courthouse Station - orange line) approx. 5 minute walk to Clarendon Blvd.)

Nice water feature/fountain carved in courtyard. 

*Excellent* location for work/play. Plenty of places for after work/dinner stroll, as well as easy access to DC for touring.

This eco-friendly RI is the bee's knees.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIArlCourthouse, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse. Thank you for your comments, especially regarding our evening social. We are always experimenting with new menu options so all of our guests feel they are getting as much variety as they would at home. We appreicate your feeback and hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you for making The Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse your "home away from home during your stay in Arlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel Arlington
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse Hotel
Address: 1401 North Adams Street, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Arlington
#5 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.