We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LIVING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT LIVING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed there for a week long vacation and had a great time. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants and transportation into DC. Hotel was relatively new and in great condition. Very clean. Serve a very nice breakfast. Suite had plenty of room and beds were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    169
    32
    17
    4
See reviews for
221
159
42
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed here November 11-14.
Pros:Our room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were genuinely nice and the restaurant staff were extremely personable! We loved having the mini fridge and microwave in the room-especially with little ones! There were several restaurants within walking distance and a great grocery store a stone's throw from the hotel! The free parking was a great bonus for the DC area. We also took advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to the metro station and it was wonderful. The shuttle picked us up in front of the hotel, dropped us off at the metro station and when we returned to the station, we called the front desk and the shuttle was there to bring us back to the hotel within 15 minutes!
(Tiny) Con: The hotel's pool is minuscule and doesn't open until 5pm on weekdays so the kids missed out on a bit of pool time...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Spent one night there. Hotel very clean, great breakfast buffet and very friendly staff. BUT we had reserved one more night there and came back from our day out to find bed bugs. We always are in the habit of checking whatever hotel we stay in and that night before retiring into bed, we found approx seven small bugs on the sheet at the bottom of the bed. I immediately brought it to the attention of the desk attendant. The front desk person was extremely apologetic, stated that this was the first time this had ever happened, offered to change our room immediately and could not have been more accomodating. However, I decided that it was in our best interest to check out of the hotel at that point. We were not charged for that night and he stated that this would be taken care of. When we left there was a maintenance tech there who was checking rooms already. What I had to remember was that this was not a cleanliness issue as this is sweeping across our nation. However, I will not be traveling for some time thank goodness.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
closser, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thank you for your comments and concerns, we take your feedback very seriously. After your departure we had your rooms completely inspected by Ecolab Pest Control and they found no evidence of infestation of “bed bugs”.We are not suggesting that you didn’t find some bugs, but wanted to clarify that what you found was not “bed bugs".

Sincerely,

Carlos Abelende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Pros:
One block from wonderful resteruants and cute shopping
Free garage parking!!
Staff ok
Shuttle will take you to metro stop, easy access to public buses
Only a few miles from DC
Netrogena products in the bathrooms
Fridge and microwave in rooms
Quiet rooms
The busniess center had five computers and tons of shipping supplies (the hotel mails items for you)

Cons:
Small narrow pool
Shuttle is very limited

When we checked in the desk staff was less than friendly, but luckily for the remainder of our stay the staff was great! The shuttle ran in the morning once per hour and had very limited space.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed in at the Hilton Garden Inn in Shirlington while searching for housing for a new job. We stayed using points, so I have no idea about the general value of the room. However I can comment on our experience, and it was a good one! It looks like a brand new hotel in a little "village" that includes a grocery store, movie theatre, and tons of restaurants. Across the street is a nice walking path as well. Breakfast was good, although I'm not sure if we would have paid for it (got it free with vouchers). We also loved the free cookies in the evenings. The only downside is that the hotel is not in walking distance of the metro, although they do have a shuttle to take you to the metro if you would like. A metrobus stop is also close by. If you are driving, 395 is very close by and easy to get onto. We liked the hotel and the area it is in so much that we have decided to live close by!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

GREAT hotel...room, rate, staff, location, shuttle, food were all beyond our expectations. Hope our next hotel will be as fine as this one!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed here for two nights, and had a really nice stay, the hotel was very clean the beds were great with adjustable bed settings from hard to soft on either side which made it easy for us both to get a great nights sleep. The location is fantastic with a number of great places to eat within walking distance. Thanks to previous posts we found the little roof terrace and enjoyed a glass of wine at the end of the evening here. Would choose to stay here again if visiting DC without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#1 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.