We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel with a few flaws...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great new hotel with a few flaws...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel has many pros and a few cons.

Pros - great location 2 metro stops from downtown DC and all the sights. Located in a trendy area with many shops and restaurants. Rooms are spacious and wonderful. The hotel is brand-new.

Cons - breakfast area is a disaster. 30 - 40 minute wait times for meals. Orders arrive incorrect. Adjacent tables not cleaned. Staff overwhelmed on weekends with extra families/visitors. Should consider hiring more staff or revert to a buffet. We stayed here 2 separate times over July and the situation was the same. We finally stopped ordering a cooked breakfast in the morning to avoid the mess.

Shuttle service is definitely hit and miss. If van is full you have to wait 30 minutes or even 1 hour for the next ride. Taxi is $12.00 to metro station. Pickup back to the hotel are worse with some wait times close to 1 hour. Front desk needs to better coordinate with shuttle drivers as to location. On one return ride (5 minutes) back to the hotel we had to make a stop at Dulles Airport first!

Swimming pool. Do not stay here if you want to swim or have children who want to swim. This is more of a business/boutique hotel and the pool reflects it. It is more of a "Roman" bath with the smallest pool I have ever seen. They even hired a lifeguard one day and he sat there looking quite embarrassed as if he was watching someone in the bathtub.

We would definitely stay here again as the rooms are great and the staff are wonderful. The location is superb for visiting DC. They are a new hotel, and are trying hard to get the problems sorted out and were very willing to take our feedback in order to improve the situation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    158
    27
    15
    3
See reviews for
200
138
35
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I travel for business, so I am in and out of hotels all the time. Recently I attended a FEMA work group and stayed at the Garden Hilton Inn in Arlington/Shirlington. The hotel is brand-spanking new, and clean as a whistle -- my room was upgraded to a suite when it was found that no king size beds were available. Staff was courteous and bent over backwards to make my stay pleasant. Even the shuttle drivers were friendly and polite (I had one fellow who was my favorite, his wife was about to have a baby, and he was so excited about it). And talk about great restaurants and shopping, all within one or two blocks of the hotel. I was SO pleasantly surprised. In addition, the hotel is very convenient to the Metro and Pentagon/Crystal City shopping.

When I checked out, a mistake was made in my billing. When I finally discovered it more than a week later, Dan Moran, the Assistant General Manager, took a great deal of time and effort to be certain that everything was put to right expeditiously. I will stay in this hotel from now on on when traveling to D.C.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010 via mobile

Staying here now and went down for breakfast.. The food looked awesome but we couldn't even sit down to eat it. Literally, about the 50 or so deserted tables had not been cleared and there were plates of half eaten food, starting to smell. It was bizarre because none of the staff made any attempt to clear tables (they were still serving for another 1.5 hours). There were two or three other groups eating and all of these dirty tables... so weird, never seen anything like it. Front desk didn't seem to care. Pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Hotel is in a great area, lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Hotel and room were very clean. All the staff that we met were very polite and helpful. The shuttle to and from the Pentagon City metro was wonderful, especially since we were staying over 4th of July weekend. We have nothing bad so say and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The staff was friendly, courteous, and professional. The room was large and very clean. The hotel offers rides to the metro, so we never moved our car. The van was prompt and clean, too. The Shirlington area is wonderful, too. Plenty of places to eat and browse. Do not, however, eat at the nearby Italian Restaurant--very overpriced, waiters were arrogant.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I was booked into this hotel because the usual Hilton hotel was booked for my business trip. What a great thing! This hotel is located in a trendy and safe neighborhood "village" (Village of Shirlington) and is absolutely fabulous! Wonderful and helpful staff. Very, very clean. Comfortable beds and pillows. Large rooms with upgrades. There is a small rooftop terrace on the 6th floor that has outdoor furniture. Warm, fresh-baked cookies in the evening at the front desk. There is a complimentary shuttle van to/from metro station, Reagan airport and other major locations within 3 miles or less. Both van drivers were excellent and professional (Mr. "K", didn't get his last name was WONDERFUL!). The neighborhood is trendy and safe. Harriett Teeter grocery directly across the street, Johnny Rocket restaurant, movie theater, coffee shops, library. Many little shops, boutiques, and restaurants you can walk to easily within this village. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know visiting in or around DC.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

The staff did everything they could to make our stay the best it could be. The rooms were large and clean. The rooftop terrace, a hidden gem, was a nice escape. The free shuttle to the metro meant we did not have to move our car from the parking garage once. The full service grocery store across the street, the wonderful restaurants, theatres, and even a library were convenient. The whirlpool and workout facility was nice, but the pool was too small to be of any use. Fruit during the day and fresh-baked cookies at night were offered at the desk.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.