We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Aberdeen, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent Hotel. One of the finest. Clean rooms, your confort is the hotel's priority, Excellent Breakfast bar and its made to order. People are very courteous and friendly. Very comfortable bed. ( prompt me to buy the same bed for my home. Very restful sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    158
    26
    15
    3
See reviews for
200
136
35
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was in town strictly for pleasure purposes. I stayed just one night -- Saturday night to Sunday morning. I booked through Expedia and was trying to stay under a certain price point and succeeded with that. The hotel is right in Shirlington Village so while getting there was a little twisty, it's nice to know that there was stuff to do right outside my door if I wanted. If I were staying longer I would have invested that town center a little more. My room was HUGE and had really high ceilings, which I liked. I also liked that parking was free and in the garage across the street. I thought that was the handiest part of all!

A few areas of improvement (really minor):

* I booked a room with a king-sized bed and it had to be the hardest, firmest bed I've ever slept on. I'm not mad and it certainly wasn't worth asking to change rooms over (I thought it was funny) but that bed had as much give as the floor!

* The hair dryer hung in a little satchel on a hook on the bathroom door. I just thought all the banging every time I bumped again the door was irritating and there must be a better place for the hair dryer.

* The vents for heat and AC aren't low to the ground but up kind of high near the ceiling. There was a cold snap when I was there and I noticed it took a long time for the room to warm. Also, from a practical standpoint, turning the thermostat up to the 80s to get the warm into the 70s seemed wasteful.

* Lastly, no one said when I checked in that there was a shuttle. I'm sure it's probably on the Hilton's website or something but no one said it when I arrived. I was leaving Saturday night for dinner and happened to see the driver cleaning the window of the shuttle. When I asked about it, he told me it went to the metro and the airport. That should probably be reiterated.

Otherwise, I'd stay there again. Clean, quiet, easy check-in, lots of new, contemporary furniture, good location. I'd stay there again and I'd recommend it to others too. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stay in this hotel few times a year when coming to the area but I have to say that every time I stay in this hotel I get more impressed by how consistent they have been in excellent service and hospitality for the last few years.
The area is beautiful. You have a Harris Teeter supermarket right across the streets and plenty of restaurants around the hotel. You can stay 4 days there, eat lunch and dinner and never eat in the same restaurant.
Everything within 1 1/2 block distance.
The shuttle service will take you to the train station and to the DCA airport (and from).
Breakfast in the hotel is perfect.
At night small and very friendly Bar and few TV's.
Rooms are big And very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA Furance, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great stay! Hotel was great, friendly staff. Clean large room. The location is perfect for the 3 block radius of shops, restaurants, bars & a brewery. It was bitter cold while we visited so the shuttle service was nice. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent hotel to stay while in the area. Numerous shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The only issue with the location of the hotel, is the hotel is not in close prximity to the VRE/Metro system, allowing easy access into Washington DC and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Free parking, free delicious cookies, friendly efficient staff, good food: what's not to love? The area around the hotel boasts great restaurants, an up-to-date movie theater, good shops and personal services (hair salons, etc.). A beautiful park across the road offers fine opportunities for walking--and for walking dogs. We like this hotel and rate it one of the best of the Hiltons for our needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at hotel for three nights. The hotel was very nice and the staff was friendly. 2 out of 3 treadmislls in the the fitness center did not work properly, but there were elliptical machines available that did work. The hotel is close to a variety of restaraunts. This was a huge plus because the dining in the hotel was over-priced. Overall, I was pretty well satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.