We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad dining experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We actually did not stay at the hotel but from the lobby the hotel looked very nice. My comments have to do with The Great American Restaurant in the hotel. Very slow service and awful food. We were 7 in our group dining Saturday, June 1st, before going down the block to the theater. We chose this restaurant because of our prior positive experiences with the Hilton brand. We had many other restaurants in the Shirlington area from which to choose.

Only 2 of us was satisfied with our dinner & even that was with very mild enthusiasm. Those of us who had the dinner steak salad and asked that the steak be cooked medium rare could barely chew the overdone chunks on our plate. One friend who ordered a simple burger said it was like shoe leather and another friend who ordered a pork and beef ragout said a form of, "Eh." The restaurant personnel certainly weren't overworked or busy as we were the only diners in the restaurant at 5:00 PM.

To our server's credit, she offered different dishes or dessert to those of us who were displeased with our meals, but because the kitchen was so slow even though we allowed 2 hrs. for dinner, there was no time for making restitution. Unfortunately, although we were hoping the restaurant would be great since it is so convenient to our local theater, we will not be back.

The restaurant needs a restaurant manager on duty who cares about safeguarding the Hilton reputation. They also need a new chef and a revamping of a rather lackluster menu. We felt very bad for our server who tried to make this a pleasant experience.​

Room Tip: I have no opinion on the rooms since we were only there for dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    176
    34
    17
    4
See reviews for
228
164
44
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Overall this was a nice and clean hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they greeted me every time I walked pass the front desk whether I was leaving or returning. The only thing I do not like about this hotel is the parking. You have to park in a parking deck that is shared with residents in the area. Level 4 is designated to hotel guests however, it is not enough parking. If all of the space are full then you have to park on another level and run the risk of possibly being towed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm a frequest business traveler and probably spent 100 nights in a hotel yearly. Of those 100 nights, about 40 are spent at the Hilton Garden Inn in Shirlington. Coincidentally, I spend a total of 40 nights a year in the DC area...so it goes without saying that this is my go-to hotel.

Bottom line up front, this is my favorite overall hotel. The location is phenomenal, the hotel itself is very new, and most importantly the staff are just fantastic. When I check in, I'm greeted like I'm a returning friend. When I go downstairs and have breakfast, Tigi and company treat me like gold. (I don't know that I've ever seen Tigi NOT smiling. She is just awesome.) When I have encountered some minor issues (to be expected when on the road so often), they quickly address my concern and make it right.

I really can't say enough good things about this hotel. New fitness facility, super comfortable beds, friendly staff, excellent location, etc etc.

Kudos to all who make this property my favorite place to stay. It feels good to have a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Thanks to Ali Ashkiani, Night Manager, for always being attentive to customer service and treating guest as they are the only person in the world at that moment. He is why I continue to return to the Hilton Garden Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent Memorial Day weekend at this hotel. I was pleased with the hotel. Clean. Well appointed for this level of hotel. Yes, you pay for breakfast but this is not the typical lack luster hotel breakfast. This was actually a very good breakfast, omelets made to order, smoked salmon, pastries, and of course the staples such as bagels, scrambled eggs (properly done and not dry and overcooked). This is a GREAT location if you are visiting DC but want to stay across the Potomac in Arlington. A variety of good restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. Very safe. Very clean. Very up to date. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

**The location of this Hilton Garden Inn was awesome. The hotle itself was expected. The staff was NOT PRESENT, NOT EXCITED, NOT RESPONSIVE. The housekeepers were more concerned about interrupting us to clean the room so they could get off work early. Then they half cleaned the room. The bed was saggy and created old back/neck issures.When you work so hard to be loyal to a hotel brand, you at least expect the staff to do the same. Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We were here Memorial Day weekend and the hotel was in a perfect location, clean and staff was really nice.

Only drawbacks:
-bed was hard as a rock
-$12-$15 per person for breakfast (note, breakfast was pretty good)
-inability to print PowerPoint presentation

Would I revisit, more than likely yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#1 Business Hotel in Arlington
#2 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.