We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and good location for area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #3 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very clean and good location for area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a new, very clean hotel. The rooms are very nice and well maintained. The bathrooms are extremely clean and I was very pleased with housekeeping. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were fresh. The front desk staff was very professional and polite. The free shuttle to National airport and Pentagon City Metro stop leaves the hotel at the top of every hour. Some drivers were very good, while others seemed not interested in helping and drove a bit too fast. There is a major bus transfer point just a block away and has a direct bus to The Pentagon. This was faster for me to get into DC using The Pentagon Metro stop than waiting until the top of the hour for the shuttle. The bus was $.75 and was less than 5 minutes to the Pentagon. There is a grocery store directly across from the hotel and is very nice and well stocked. This area has many, many restaurants and most have outdoor seating. At night, all the trees have lights and it is a very nice place to sit outside.
I felt very safe in this area. The breakfast was hot and cooked to order and was very good. I also enjoyed the outdoor area for a drink at night and there is a sports bar behind the hotel that also was very good and friendly. I did use the business center to print my boarding passes and had no problems. If I was in this area for business, I would definitely stay again, but if I am here on vacation for DC, I would find a closer location to a Metro stop.

Room Tip: The hallways are L shaped, so if you are away from the elevators, be prepared to walk a bit. Need ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    138
    19
    14
    3
See reviews for
170
119
34
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Service was fantastic, with lots of recommendations. The hotel was within walking distance of great restaurants, and the shuttle service to Pentagon City allowed us to take the Metro into DC. We took advantage of the free coffee and teas in the lobby each evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In the interest of full disclosure I should say that I have a long connection with the neighborhood of Shirlington, where this Garden Inn is located, and with the hotel itself in that they are both fairly close to my home and I have watched them both grow over the years.

With that interest acknowledged, I have to report that this hotel has become one of the best values in hotel visits that I have ever found. Recently a series of power outages in my condominium forced me to stay at the hotel for a weekend and I found the experience really quite good, particularly as it was taking place as a matter of necessity and not leisure.

The building is new, clean, and very well located, within walking distance to all of Shirlington's restaurants and shops and within a free shuttle ride to the Reagan National Airport or DC's metro system. I found the staff very friendly and efficient and the food in the restaurant good and affordable though not really necessary since Shirlington boasts other good places to eat at most two blocks away. The only possible downside is that the hotel is not huge so rooms tend to fill up quickly and reservations need to be made promptly as soon as dates are set.

An additional benefit is the Harris Teeter supermarket across the street. The hotel rooms have small refrigerators so that beverages purchased at the HT can be kept cold in your rooms until needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel was very clean; bathroom was spotless. Not afraid to bath grandchildren in the tub. The linen smelled fresh and clean with a hint of bleach. For me, this assured me that the linen was clean. Very comfortable beds. Great breakfast! Friendly wait staff. Great dining experience for me and my family. I was pleased.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I stay here often. Our daughter and grandson live about a mile away. We walk the bike path that is by the hotel to her house. Lovely walk. We also enjoy the many awesome restaurants that are in walking distance of the hotel. The shuttle service to/from the airport as well as to local addresses is awesome. The staff is always pleasant and the rooms are always clean. I highly recommend and will return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

First of all, I was highly upset that my food (room-service) came with hair in it and when I called to report it, the chef stated he would take off a "percentage." Who wants a percentage taken off when they can't eat the food that they ordered? This was highly unprofessional and I personally feel that race had something to do with it because I cannot imagine a rich white CEO with power and connections who reports having hair in his food being told by staff that a "percentage" will be taken off. That was gross and disgusting and I cannot ever recommend Shirlington Hilton Garden Inn to anyone that I consider a friend. Also, the hotel itself smelled bad and was of sub-par quality. You'd expect more for 250 a nite, but not at Hilton Garden Inn Shirlington. The only positive thing I can say about the hotel is that it has a shuttle to the metro and that it's located in a nice neighborhood with restaurants and bars. But regarding the quality of the room (the whole purpose of staying at the hotel is to have a nice room) it was sub par and over priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a favorite place for our company to book when employees are in town for training or other events. The location is wonderful because there are many restaurants and events in walking distance. The staff is awesome and it's like coming to a familiar place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#4 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.