We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #4 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Roseville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The only issues were the temperature in the room and the water pressure. The thermostat wasn't working properly and I couldn't get the temperature above 70, which is borderline uncomfortable for me. The water pressure was really low....way too low for my liking but I stayed for one night so that wasn't a huge drawback. Nonetheless, the location was great and the overall stay was excellent! I would definitely book with this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    120
    18
    13
    3
See reviews for
146
109
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business meeting. It was so convenient to everything. Meeting space was available right in the hotel, at least 10 restaurants with all different types of food were within walking distance, and it was just about 15 minutes from the train station. Try Johnny Rockets for burgers and Cafe Pizzaiolo for great Italian food. Busboys and Poets was good, but if you don't have more than an hour for lunch, skip it. The breakfast buffet had lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, and made-to-order omelettes for $12.95/pp. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and accommodating. The room was large and comfortable. My only complaint was that the mattress was too firm - I prefer a pillow-top.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were stranded in Washington overnnight, and United Airlines sent us to this hotel. What a great choice!! We were very stressed when we arrived but were immediately put at ease by the guy on reception. The waiting staff are so friendy, our bedromm room is spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast is to die for!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Shirlington HGI for 4 nights during the week of Thanksgiving. This hotel has so many pluses. Hilton Honors members are given free bottled water during their stay which can be kept cold in the hotel room mini-fridge. There is free parking available in a parking deck half a block away. The hotel shuttle will not only take you to the airport, no charge, but will also drive you to other destinations within 5 miles of the hotel. The hotel employees are friendly and helpful. There are numerous restaurants within 3 blocks of the hotel as well as a Harris-Teeter grocery store. My room was very clean and comfortable as well as quiet. Prices are variable so keep checking back to get a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBGray
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at the Garden Inn for 3 nights room 507. Checking in was nice and easy. Front desk staff was great each time I needed something or had a question. Polite and professional.

Parking located across street in parking garage for free on 4th floor. Never had problem with parking or walking to and from car. The location if hotel is very cute. Lots of little shops and plenty of restaurants and coffee shops to choose from if you don't want to eat at hotel. Their is a library, supermarket (Harris teeter), movies (indie type movies), and a whole slew of places to eat.

The hotel lays out fresh cookies, hot chocolate and cider in lobby. Has a small indoor swimming pool open from 10-10 on weekends and after 5 pm during week. Towels are provided in pool area. Business center has 3 desk tops with free printing and faxes. You can also hit print from your room laptop and print downstairs. Another perk is free shuttle. It will take you anywhere within a five mile radius and drops and picks up at metro stations going into DC landmarks. Also pick up drop off to airport.

Now the room itself was ok. Had a musty smell you smelled as soon as you opened door every time you came in room. Beds aren't really soft either. They are adjustable to go from firm to "soft" but didn't become soft really. Rooms have mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker which was nice. The water pressure was good also in the bathroom. The toiletries are from bath & body works also. Room service is reasonably priced...most expensive item was $20 for a steak.

Overall it was a good stay for the price and location. Would I stay there again? probably would give it another try for the price I paid with the hope the room would not have the same musty odor.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here after an evening flight into Reagan. The shuttle picked me up within about 10 minutes of my call and delivered me to the hotel with no problem. This little village area was very quiet on a Wednesday evening but I did get take-out at the restaurant next door - Busboys and Poets (which had an appealing menu) and picked up some muffins for breakfast from the grocer across the street. My room was very comfortable and secure. The fridge and micro made it a nice home away from home. The shuttle driver took me the the Pentagon City metro promptly at 7 am. Be sure to sign up with the front desk the night before if you want the shuttle - they evidently leave on the hour so you don't want to be late. Don't worry if you forget your bathing suit the pool is like an oversized bath tub - not sure why they even bothered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I just want to say me and my husband really enjoyed our stay here and Jessica the front desk agent was so very nice, polite and helpful. Everytime she spoke to us she greeted with a smile. The whole staff overall was just onpoint so whenever me and family travel to the DMV my stay will be with this hotel. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington
Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.