We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "Rolling Thunder" hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Lake Wales, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our "Rolling Thunder" hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for Rolling Thunder 2012 in DC. We picked this hotel because it was close to where the motorcycle ride events were occuring. The hotel had a reserved section for mortocycle parking in the parking garage across the street, no charge. The hotel is in a village setting with many restaurants, shops and businesses within a few blocks. Our room was large, comfortable and well equipped with wi-fi and big screen tv. This is a first class hotel and it shows.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    158
    27
    15
    3
See reviews for
201
138
35
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel is relatively new and is located in a small "village" comprised by restaurants,beauty shops ,supermarket,cinema ,etc,. Rooms are very comfortable ( I have stayed at the suites also which are great !) and light-filled.Staff is very pleasant and attentive . It has a very tiny pool .

Room Tip: I prefer the suites since they are a good size ( the ones I have stayed have two separate rooms,the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I travel to the Washington area often and it is difficult to find a hotel that is relatively quiet and where parking is not an issue, or extremely expensive. I was familiar with the Shirlington area because I've lived there before, and I knew that I would have easy access to the freeway, airport, restaurants, a Harris Teeter grocery store and a walking/running trail. When I learned that the hotel had free parking, that was the icing on the cake.

My king sized room at the end of a hallway was large and relatively quiet (I faced the front of the hotel). I stayed during the Memorial Day weekend and the hotel was very busy, so it may be even more quiet at other times. I had a slight problem with the A/C, but other than that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Sparkly new clean hotel. Good sized rooms that are well appointed and well furnished. Better than your average Hilton garden inn. Service and breakfast was good. Location is great as it is located in the village at shirlington with a host of restaurants all around in a town center settings. Not just restaurants but a library, thwarted, cinema, supermarket, shops, running trail - it is all pleasant and convenient.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I'm a frequent government visitor to DC and have tried everything. From Crystal City, to National Harbor, Roslyn, Alexandria, downtown -- you name it. I finally went and just searched for "free parking" because I was tired of getting gouged for $30 a day for parking at most close in hotelsn and ran across this Hilton Garden in in Shirlington. This is going to be my DC hotel from now forward. Free parking in the garage next door, GREAT/free breakfast which includes omelets, french toast, pancakes and everything you can imagine, nice indoor pool, decent work out room, a supermarket right across the street, movie theater within a block, and probably 20-30 restaurants with a couple of minutes walk. Free shuttle to the metro. Super friendly staff, fast internet, clean rooms, guest laundry. It sort of sounds like I'm a spokesman for Hilton, but I'm not. Just happy I've finally found a hotel inside the beltway which seems to have it all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Travel often but rarely leave reviews, however our visit to this hotel was a great experience. The staff is exceptional and was very willing to assist with all requests with a special thank you to Musa at the front desk. The facility was very well maintained and the breakfast buffet was a step above most you find at other Hilton Garden Inns. The only drawback to this hotel is that the closet metro stop isn’t within walking distance. Fortunately the hotel provides a free shuttle that will take you back and forth as needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Shirlington for two weeks this spring while I was on a business trip. I had to book last minute, so this wasn't my first choice for hotel, it was just one of the only ones available at the time. However, I was pleasantly surprised! The staff were awesome and the area is quiet and friendly, with many delicious restaurants within walking distance and a grocery store literally across the street. Also, the hotel shuttle will drive you to or pick you up from ANYWHERE within a 5-mile radius of the hotel!!! This was the best for me, as it meant I didn't have to take the bus everyday to and from work. If you do want to take the bus, though, there are many stops right nearby. Shuttle drivers Kay and Pete were absolutely the best!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Arlington. Overall, it was clean, comfortable, and accomodating. And don't forget the never-ending supply of free cookies in the lobby!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington

Address: 4271 Campbell Ave, Arlington, VA 22206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Shirlington Virginia hotel is conveniently located just off I-395, minutes from The Pentagon, Washington, D.C. and only 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport. Situated in trendy Shirlington Village - one block from the US Patent and Trademark Office and within walking distance from Shirlington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.