We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eventide Restaurant

Eventide Restaurant
3165 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-4420
703-276-3165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eventide Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #277 of 692 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hudson St.
Transit: Get off on the Clarendon Metro stop (Orange Line), walk up the escalator, turn left and walk about 50 yards up Wilson Blvd. We're on the right at 3165 Wilson.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

An evening out with dear friends, The location, an old Masonic building, and the decor is imaginative and theatrical. The seating is comfortable and given the location quite intimate. A lot of effort has gone into the design of the interior, with the theme reflected in the menus that were backed with metal. The food was beautifully prepared, even if the appetiser was unbelievably small. The entree was very good. Some of the reviews mention portion size. This is not a restaurant where you get your food served in a bucket nor will you find an "Elvis Killer Breakfast" on the menu. You pay more for less in terms of quantity but instead get seriously good and imaginatively prepared and tasty food. The wine (Dark Lady) was excellent. Our only issue was our over aggressive waiter who felt obliged to comment on how one of us liked our steak prepared, and tried to control our experience in an over assertive and intrusive manner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I visited for my birthday a few days ago and the experience was divine. Our server was friendly and attentive and very thoughtful while still giving us our space. The food was delicious though we primarily went for drinks and desserts but dabbled on some yummy mac and cheese. We ate on the top floor which is gorgeous and reminds you of a classic Virginia hotel from the old days-high ceilings, long floor length drapes, exposed brick, love it! The ambiance and service are the best features. My only complaint would be the lack of vegetarian options on the menu. This is definitely a place to celebrate a special occasion!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Pretty Unique Decor/Ambience; Good Menu; Pretty Good Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Finished up a gruelling (but productive!) business week and was anxious to kick back and enjoy a great meal.

And we got it!

We were 8 and seated comfortably in the Dining Room which is pretty unique (see the Website).

Round of cocktails, and a couple of bots of wine.

I did the Caesar Salad which was very good (though not the best ... I had that earlier this week!).

A nice pause between courses.

Difficult choice for the entree -- lots of wonderful choices BUT not an overloaded menu. Narrowed it to Fish (there's also Pasta and Meat). The salmon was very, very good. Others chose the same, one had Icelandic Cod and pronounced it excellent. Still another went for the shrimp pasta and gave it a double 'thumbs up'.

One of the group was vegan and they accommodated him very well.

Single malt for dessert. Excellent selection!

Not incredibly pricey. And service was pretty good ... biggest comment was the wait for someone to take our drink order.

Give it a go if you're in Arlington!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Oversalt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My expectations were way too high for this mediocre experience. Our group of 6 had big fun, but we could have been anywhere - Eventide brought nothing to the party. More than one person commented on the diminutive portions. 2 scallops and a half of a fingerling potato for an app; 2 shrimp for a 1/2-portion entree of the shrimp & grits. Stingy. The artichokes were salted to the point where that's all I could taste.

At the end of the meal, they simply stopped refilling the water glasses. Their unsubtle hint that "we're closing." On the way out, two of the three toilets in the ladies room were clogged. Just disgusting.

We'll be at Lyon Hall next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Love the Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This restaurant is our favorite special occasion place to go. The food is excellent as is the service. The chef puts together things you wouldn't think would go together and they really work. Everything is original with interesting twists. Example, on a hot summer evening I had an appetizer of crab and watermelon. I ordered it because it sounded interesting, but it was so good I want to lick the plate clean. The service is very good, attentive to your every need without being overbearing. The dining room is interesting - fancy restaurant in a warehouse kind of setting. The location is excellent because it's in Clarendon right across the street from the Metro.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eventide Restaurant also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Eventide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventide Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.