We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice for being so close to DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds
Save
You added Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds to your Saves list
SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty nice for being so close to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Overall a nice campground, though beware that about a third of the campsites are ridiculously small (no idea how you'd even fit a tent onto some of them). Also, some of the tiny sites are right on the edge of a semi-steep ravine, so having a toddler could be interesting (there will be almost no where to play, except on the edge of the ravine). In our opinion, the good sites are (roughly in order, starting with the best): 56, 35, 119, 37, 34, 36, 113, 112, 62, 8, 11, 7, 5, 58, 33. That's ranked based on size of the site, privacy, and view. It's not taking into account proximity to bathrooms, playgrounds or other amenities... We would rather walk to that stuff, and have a nice, big site, with a good view. :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontiac, mi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was perfect for myself, my 11 year old son, and my 8 year old niece. The water park close by (in the camp ground) was great for the day of our arrival. The restaurants near town were great for the kids to try some new food and familiar cuisine (spaghetti at the Italian place). The 30 minute drive to DC was good as well. For a little over 50.00 a night, what a great bargain! It has a fridge and AC, a fire pit, restrooms nearby, and clean showers. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Choose any cabin, there is a minimum stay required. Choose a cabin near the back side, closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We camp with family and friends every summer and this was a good pick for us.

The Positive:
Pohick is centrally located and accessible for folks in VA, MD and DC. The park is clean and we really enjoyed the waterpark. We stayed at the waterpark all day Saturday. At the campground, there is a large green area with a playground and lots of space for kids playing kickball and frisbee. We also enjoyed a wonderful nature walk down to the water.

The Negative: Although most of the sites are a good size and flat, a few on the outer ring are especially small and uneven. Our site was odd and we struggled to find a good level spot for out tent. The next time (and we will come back) we will look for a site on the inner ring next to the open green field.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed at this campground for 2-3 day visits in spring, summer and fall. The staff was friendly, sites reasonably maintained. There are few options for camping in the D.C.area, and we are glad to have this one to turn to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here while visiting the DC area. I visited in the late fall / early winter and it was so vacant that it was spooky. Also, it gets dark so quickly and there aren't many lights throughout the park. The park staff were very unfriendly. However, the value is good, especially to be 20 miles outside of DC. Definitely do not try to drive into DC from this park between the hours of 8am - 11am. I was stuck in traffic for almost 2 hours. Instead, take the VRE from Lorton, VA which is a few miles outside of the park. The cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers left alot to be desired. However, they were warm, which was a plus. As a woman, I didn't feel very safe by myself, as there weren't many lights and it didn't seem that the park staff patrolled the campgrounds very much. The foliage was beautiful and it is a nice park, I just wish that the staff had been friendlier and that it had felt safer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent two nights at the Pohick Bay campground this past weekend. The staff at check in was more then polite and made sure we knew where our site was since we were checking in after dark.

The sites was clean and kept. We had a full hookup site.

The park is close to DC and about a 20 minute drive to Mount Vernon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We took our kids (aged 5 and 2) on a camping weekend here and loved every minute of it. The camp sites are wooded, so much so that when it started to rain we hardly felt a drop. There is a very nice playground in the middle of the campground loop, and wooded walking trails down to the waterfront, where my kids had fun fishing and throwing rocks in the Potomac/Pohick Bay. The restrooms were very clean and bright. We had such a blast that the first words out of my daughter's mouth when we woke up was "When can we do this again?" We will be back!

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a campsite on the outer edge of the loop for a bit more of a secluded f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

Address: SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arlington
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.