We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Campground for D.C. Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds
SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient Campground for D.C. Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed at this campground for 2-3 day visits in spring, summer and fall. The staff was friendly, sites reasonably maintained. There are few options for camping in the D.C.area, and we are glad to have this one to turn to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here while visiting the DC area. I visited in the late fall / early winter and it was so vacant that it was spooky. Also, it gets dark so quickly and there aren't many lights throughout the park. The park staff were very unfriendly. However, the value is good, especially to be 20 miles outside of DC. Definitely do not try to drive into DC from this park between the hours of 8am - 11am. I was stuck in traffic for almost 2 hours. Instead, take the VRE from Lorton, VA which is a few miles outside of the park. The cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers left alot to be desired. However, they were warm, which was a plus. As a woman, I didn't feel very safe by myself, as there weren't many lights and it didn't seem that the park staff patrolled the campgrounds very much. The foliage was beautiful and it is a nice park, I just wish that the staff had been friendlier and that it had felt safer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent two nights at the Pohick Bay campground this past weekend. The staff at check in was more then polite and made sure we knew where our site was since we were checking in after dark.

The sites was clean and kept. We had a full hookup site.

The park is close to DC and about a 20 minute drive to Mount Vernon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We took our kids (aged 5 and 2) on a camping weekend here and loved every minute of it. The camp sites are wooded, so much so that when it started to rain we hardly felt a drop. There is a very nice playground in the middle of the campground loop, and wooded walking trails down to the waterfront, where my kids had fun fishing and throwing rocks in the Potomac/Pohick Bay. The restrooms were very clean and bright. We had such a blast that the first words out of my daughter's mouth when we woke up was "When can we do this again?" We will be back!

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a campsite on the outer edge of the loop for a bit more of a secluded f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great campground. Very wooded and plenty of room and trees between neighbors. Very comfortable tent camping. Several sites backed to the large playground/area which I would think would be very nice if you have kids. Even had a washer/dryer (but didn't use it). Perfect location, it is quite but only about 30 min. to the Metro stop. Then another 30-40 min. into DC. Kate in the camp store was very helpful and know's her DC sights.

The water park that is next to the campground didn't look that spectacular. It had a few slides but that is about it. It was large and wet - which is part of the point of a water park.

Room Tip: Sites 32-38(?) or so - the back loop for tent camping. Around the playground for kid camping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We love this campground! We have a pop-up camper and love to kayak. Campsites here are spacious and wooded to allow some privacy. We usually get a site with electric and water nearby, but you definitely need to reserve in advance for hookups. Sites have picnic tables and fire rings. Bathrooms/showers are fine, nothing fancy (it is camping after all!) and usually pretty clean. The park is on the Potomac and you can walk trails through the woods to get to the water. There is a public boat launch area with a parking lot with a small fee to launch your boat. The location is an inlet/bay off the main part of the Potomac, with little boat traffic (except for the annoying person who lives nearby and water skis there). There are eagles and other birds and wildlife throughout the bay. The whole park is very natural and quiet - you would never know you are so close to a major metropolitan area. There is a pool/water park within the park that is great for kids - they charge a small day fee. When you get tired of nature, you can take the metro (about a 15-minute drive) into DC or anywhere in the area. It is also very close to Mount Vernon and worth driving there for a day trip. You can also walk the trail or drive to nearby Gunston-Hall Plantation for a tour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 6 days here in early June. There are only a few full hookup sites, more with water and electric, and still more dry camping. Reservation system is rudimentary, so when your call, be sure to keep records. Most staff seemed to be student volunteers. On the plus side, nice shady spots well spaced, among mature trees. Waterpark nearby for the kids. Boat access on the park. The Springfield-Franconia DC Metro system is 15 minutes away, and parking there is $4/day. Be sure to make a reservation if you want hookups.

Room Tip: this is an RV park, we stayed in a class A motorhome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

Also Known As:
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds Hotel
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds Hotel Arlington
Address: SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty lodging in Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds to your Saves list